• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help With New Build Newbie Can't OC GA-P35-DS3R and E4500

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rajivsab

Hi, I am trying to overclock my new E4500 and ran into a snag. I started playing with the BIOS at first and when I couldn't post successfully, tried Gigabyte's ETC software in XP and got my system to post at 3.66 gHz. Can't remember but I think I bumped the CPU voltage to 1.3v and 11x333 and Turbo setting. ETC started causing problems like system freezing so I uninstalled it and doing everything in BIOS now. Shut down last night, to come back to a stock 2.2 ghz and can't seem to get any combination to work to overclock even a little! Now I can't post at 11x220 with stock voltage. Is the OCZ memory causing the instability? This is a new install of XP. Everything is new (cpu, mobo, memory). Please help me oc this system. I was so happy with 3.66 and now I am stuck on 2.2 - can some one please get me up beyond 3? I'd love to be able to change the bios and to hear my system clicking off then on then off again and again with no results. HELP! I know the Ctrl+F1 trick but not sure about all the settings to change. I am a newbie so excuse the long post and lingo!

Since you didn't mention it specifically as having done it, I'll ask the obvious...did you clear your CMOS prior to changing the settings back to 11x220?

Thanks for your help, Reefa_Madness: I did not clear the CMOS prior to changing the settings. Should I be clearing CMOS after every failure to overclock - I define failure as the system turning on and off instead of going straight to xp like a soft boot? How do I clear the CMOS? I thought that was automatic.

Rajiv...

What system memory multiplier are you using?