Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

3 Core Phenom is real

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-07, 03:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
3 Core Phenom is real


Wow, I was very skeptical of the rumors of a three core phenom CPU... but now it is apparently official! News
I'm very suprised, but also very excited. This is a whole new area of the market that Intel hasn't gotten into yet. AMD will not only have the only "native" quad core CPU's but now the only triple core CPU's as well. Now the only problem is I don't know what to get!

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 06:31 PM   #2
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
ummm...penryn? J/K

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 06:33 PM   #3
ancalime

 
ancalime's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007

 
You don't know what to get? 3 or 4?..hmm

Well I guess price will be a factor but I think with the low costs of quads now, buying a triple core wouldn't be worth it IMO.

__________________
Main Rig
CPU: AMD X2 4200+ @ 2.71 GHz (258 x 10.5) | Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
GPU: EVGA Geforce 7800 GT (SLI) 465/1101
HDD: Western Digital 80GB | RAM: 2GB Patriot DDR 400 2-3-3-5

C2D Rig
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.7GHz | Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro
GPU: EVGA GTX260
HDD: 2x Western Digital Raptor 150GB RAID 0 | RAM: 2GB Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 1T

Heat
ancalime is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 06:38 PM   #4
DragoXT
Member

 
DragoXT's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005

 
Well it doesnt really matter about the price, the fact that AMD has something that intel cannot match in the lower end chips, is a good thing for AMD. Till intel makes a native quad core the correct way like AMD, then they cannot answer a triple core cpu which will beat a dual core in multithreaded apps. This lets AMD capitalize on their quads that dont quite make it up to spec so they dont loose as much from a production stand point.

__________________
AMD Phenom 2 970BE.......................................AMD 3400+ Newcastle
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 v2.1...............................Abit KV-85
2x2gb Corsair Dominator @1600 8-8-8-24.......2x512mb OCZ DDR 400 Platinum rev 2 @400 2-2-2-5
Asus GTX460 1gb TOP.......................................Albatron Trinity 6800GT w/ NV Silencer 5 rev.3
WD Black 640gb............................................. ..Seagate 7200.7 SATA NCQ 160gb
Zalman CNPS10X Performa...............................ThermalTake Venus 12
Seasonic X650 Gold..........................................Ther malTake Pure Power 420
NZXT Guardian 921 RB.......................................Xblade
Asus VW224U 22" LCD......................................Samtron 17" CRT
DragoXT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 06:56 PM   #5
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
I'm not sure it's quite that simple, but I do hope AMD has a winner with the triple cores. We need the lower prices and innovation that two great CPU companies brings and AMD is clearly on the ropes right now.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 07:25 PM   #6
Molester
Member

 
Molester's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragoXT View Post
Well it doesnt really matter about the price, the fact that AMD has something that intel cannot match in the lower end chips, is a good thing for AMD. Till intel makes a native quad core the correct way like AMD, then they cannot answer a triple core cpu which will beat a dual core in multithreaded apps. This lets AMD capitalize on their quads that dont quite make it up to spec so they dont loose as much from a production stand point.
spot on
Molester is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 07:31 PM   #7
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
"By regulating the speed at which each core operates, AMD could conceivably sell a triple-core chip that has higher performance metrics than one of its own quad-core chips, said Insight 64 analyst Nathan Brookwood."

Well at first I thoughyt DUH triple core? Ridiculous... reading that... I still think triple core is ridiculous, but the ability to clock each core independently is aweseom and would be a real boon to the user.

Now what I think a triple core should be used for?

A regular old dual core CPU with an additional one core dedicated as a physics processor.
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 07:33 PM   #8
SeasonalEclipse
Member

 
SeasonalEclipse's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006

 
Wasnt there a study a year or two ago saying that tri core would be very inefficient compared to dual or quad?

__________________

The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210
SeasonalEclipse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 07:41 PM   #9
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
I'd prefer that the 3 core chips aren't 4 core rejects but that the extra core was disabled by design or a designed triple core. That would give me more confidence in the longevity and performance of said triple core.

I also think the price should reflect a price per core average at the very least. If the triple core was half of a quad, that would make it even more attractive for us and system builders.

It's all about the bang for the buck baby!

Not the brand names

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 08:10 PM   #10
Shell
Member

 
Shell's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CYYZ Pearson

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
Wasnt there a study a year or two ago saying that tri core would be very inefficient compared to dual or quad?
No... a core is a core, there are a number of applications that can make use of any odd number of cores. I can set affinity in MAYA to use only 3 cores without any problems, then I have a free core to keep working while rendering. The XBOX360 has a native Tri-Core CPU.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audioaficionado
I'd prefer that the 3 core chips aren't 4 core rejects but that the extra core was disabled by design or a designed triple core. That would give me more confidence in the longevity and performance of said triple core.
The 2Mb Core 2's have 1/2 of the L2 disabled and it does not suffer from such a thing. There's no such thing as a bad processor, just a processor with a dead component... they've been chopping components in video cards for years.

The triple and quad Core Phenom would simply cost more if they did that.

__________________
FX-6300@4.6GHz, 7850, 4x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 4x1TB
Shell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-14-07, 09:31 PM   #11
ShadowPho
Member

 
ShadowPho's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: I am in your stack, SUBbing your registers!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragoXT View Post
Well it doesnt really matter about the price, the fact that AMD has something that intel cannot match in the lower end chips, is a good thing for AMD.
But the price does matter. It is one of the most important thing that matters. It matters a lot. If the AMD's high end chips will equal Intel low end chips, then there is a disaster.

If a quad core is $180, then nobody is going to pay $170 for a triple core.

Thinking logically, ~$40 per core, so $140 for triple core would be reasonable. But then again, with the current price of sub $100 for GOOD dual cores it is not a viable option. The current Joe has no need for a third core. The enthusiast on the other hand will find uses for the fourth core.

It depends on how well they market it.

__________________
"Take only that which you can give"
Need Help? IM me! I want to help the OC community!

MainComputer:
E6400@2.69-4.0 gig RAM-8800GT
ASUS P5N-E SLI

ShadowPho is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-07, 12:15 AM Thread Starter   #12
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Xbox360 seems to work well on three cores. Why not PC's? Perhaps the missing core will mean additional Cache? At the very least better heat dissipation.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-07, 01:41 AM   #13
Careface

 
Careface's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand

 
Nice. Though I was hoping it was going to be a "true" triple-core, not just a defective or speedbinned quad core. But only time will tell I guess

__________________
One Team... One Universe... One Goal: The Truth...
{OC*SETI}

...Because we are not alone...


Careface is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-07, 05:54 AM   #14
knightwolf6543
Member

 
knightwolf6543's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Warren,MI, USA BABY!!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowPho View Post
But the price does matter. It is one of the most important thing that matters. It matters a lot. If the AMD's high end chips will equal Intel low end chips, then there is a disaster.

If a quad core is $180, then nobody is going to pay $170 for a triple core.

Thinking logically, ~$40 per core, so $140 for triple core would be reasonable. But then again, with the current price of sub $100 for GOOD dual cores it is not a viable option. The current Joe has no need for a third core. The enthusiast on the other hand will find uses for the fourth core.

It depends on how well they market it.
then again that $140 tri core could be a top end cpu whilst that quad core could be low/mid end. plus for company's like dell when they but their chips in bulk there would be a huge price difference

__________________
opteron 165 (ccbbe 0617) @ 2.73 Ghz (stock voltes )
2x 7900 GS SLI!!! (580/798)
Custom painted 3d Aroura Case
2x 512 PQI pc-3200 @ 218
DFI LP UT SLI-D
Future system
Phenom x4 black edition
AMD 790FX DFI mobo
cruical ballistix Tracer 4GB DDR-1066
2 x Ati HD3870 X2
AlabamaCajun is my hero
knightwolf6543 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-07, 10:27 AM   #15
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
A true tri-core with would have the benefit of lowering cost per unit with less silicon used. These will be quads with one core disabled for not being able to pass the tests. Some should have all the L3 cache available unless the cache has bad banks. This may also be the case with dual cores that are quads with 2 non-functioning cores. AMD will fully warranty the chips so it's not a bad deal for the cost savings. If you consider that lifespan for most of our rigs is under 3 years before we upgrade then I'm sure you will not have a problem *1. Where I see these really doing will is playing the current games that only support 2 cores where the 3rd core is idle for background OS stuff to stay off the two active cores. Media centers will also get use for record, playback and other tasks.

Read fast in low voice *1) Warranty void if de-lidded, over-volted, improper heatsink, physical damage, grilled on the barbe, beaten with a hammer, hooked up to a welding machine, car battary or house current.

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-15-07, 03:38 PM   #16
knightwolf6543
Member

 
knightwolf6543's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Warren,MI, USA BABY!!

 
plus this is good news for the quads as well, by geting money off of chips that would normaly be trashed or whatever they do with chips their not going to sell. they will be able to offer these chips at a very very low price , as well as driving down the price of quads, intel already said they were not offering any low priced quads.

__________________
opteron 165 (ccbbe 0617) @ 2.73 Ghz (stock voltes )
2x 7900 GS SLI!!! (580/798)
Custom painted 3d Aroura Case
2x 512 PQI pc-3200 @ 218
DFI LP UT SLI-D
Future system
Phenom x4 black edition
AMD 790FX DFI mobo
cruical ballistix Tracer 4GB DDR-1066
2 x Ati HD3870 X2
AlabamaCajun is my hero
knightwolf6543 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 02:07 PM   #17
AngelfireUk83
Member

 
AngelfireUk83's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England

 
Dam shame Sk939 was killed off early I still say they could of done good stuff with that socket maybe even a triple core for that. I am really happy with my set-up but gotta move with the times and upgrade for future use.

I hope AMD also captilise on this triple core feature but really good for business thats for sure and maybe pull AMD from the bottom a little. I am thinking of building another AMD rig and these triple cores if prices are good seem tempting DDR3 memory for 2GB has dropped madly one site selling OCZ for £40.

__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Board: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
CPU: INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1600mhz@1.60v)
Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD (FW 040H)
Storage 2: Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm HDD
GPU/Audio: HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card (OC: 920/1270)
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU
Optical: LG GH24NS90 24x DVD-RW
AngelfireUk83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 02:16 PM   #18
DaPoets

 
DaPoets's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buffalo NY

 
I think 3 core is a waste since most people w/ dual cores won't get it and the quad core of us kinda smirk at the puny 3 cores. The Q6600 is cheap too so why go 3 cores unless perhaps it's a really fast clock w/ a great potential of an overclock?

I'm looking toward the 16 core, not backwards toward a 3 core...

__________________
DaPoets
- Antec 1200 Case - XP64 - Intel Q6600 Core 2 Quad B3 Lapped @ 3.4ghz - ASUS x2 3870x2 -
- D975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 - (4x1GB) DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 - x4 HDD RAID 0 + 1 - Corsair 750TX 750w -
- Lapped Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Push Pull - CyberPower Intelligent LCD Series UPS CP1350AVRLCD 810 Watts -
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------
"What would Optimus Prime do?"
DaPoets is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 02:46 PM   #19
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaPoets View Post
I'm looking toward the 16 core, not backwards toward a 3 core...
We (other ofc members) resembler this remark . But, as I've said the tri-core will be great of low cost HTPC, pvrs and folding layers.

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-07, 01:36 AM   #20
OBLIVIONLORD
Member

 
OBLIVIONLORD's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragoXT View Post
Till intel makes a native quad core the correct way like AMD
I hope you aren't serious with this statement
OBLIVIONLORD is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?