Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Finally upgrading to dual core

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-07, 02:58 PM Thread Starter   #1
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
Finally upgrading to dual core


Hi everyone, after a ton of research and coming up with a little more money I have made the choice to upgrade to AMD. AMD is a more economical decision and I have experience overclocking these things (mobile barton days). Since I am on an extreme budget, I will be reusing my emachines microATX case and maybe the 250w psu if I absolutely have to.

These are my choices so far:
Motherboard: BIOSTAR TForce TF7025-M2 $69.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138074

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ Brisbane $69.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103774

RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 $65.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098


This comes pretty close to my $255 budget ($212.30 shipped) and I would have to get a 20-24pin power adapter. I won't be overclocking until I can get a better heatsink and fan. I am also undecided if I will be reusing my FX5200 (will have to see how these onboard graphics do in comparison). I will be getting a new graphics card after the new ones come out so that I can catch a good deal on them. I really don't want to reuse the emachines PSU and was wondering if anyone knew if this system will run on 250 watts or if there is a cheap ($20-30) PSU that will tie me over for a while.


Open to suggestions, I will be ordering hardware tonight.

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:13 PM   #2
djrussell
Member

 
djrussell's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: everett, wa

 
here are two psu's for 30ish from trusted brands. they probably won't hold up if loaded with a power hungry graphics card. they're decent quality in your price range though and you won't need a 20->24 pin adapter.

FSP 300W

sparkle 350W

the onboard graphics will probably perform about as well as your fx5200. onboard uses your ram though so it might be better to use the fx.

__________________
x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
GB ga-m61p-s3
2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
rosewill stallion 500w
raidmax sagitta case
powercolor HD3870 PCS
djrussell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:18 PM   #3
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Is that fx5200 PCI or AGP?

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:27 PM   #4
jiggamanjb

Member

 
jiggamanjb's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MI, USA

 
grab this ram for $60. It is some of the best right now.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146565

For your PSU, this is $40, but should handle many of the newer video cards now. That way you won't have to upgrade you PSU too.
Please, PLease, don't reuse that emachines PSU!!!!

I think your onboard will beat out your 5200 since it is only PCI based.

__________________
MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
(2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower
jiggamanjb is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:29 PM   #5
djrussell
Member

 
djrussell's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: everett, wa

 
missing a psu link there jiggamanjb.

__________________
x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
GB ga-m61p-s3
2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
rosewill stallion 500w
raidmax sagitta case
powercolor HD3870 PCS
djrussell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:30 PM Thread Starter   #6
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
The FX5200 is PCI, I wouldn't even think about using it in that setup if it were AGP as there is no slot for it.

As far as the Ballistix go, I'm trying to get the build on the cheap and don't have the extra $100 bucks to spend while waiting for the MIR

Oh, and I forgot to add that with a new PSU: I need something that will fit in an mATX case (worst case scenario I could put it on top I guess)

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:38 PM   #7
djrussell
Member

 
djrussell's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: everett, wa

 
in the ballistix's defense, there's only a $37 difference (including shipping) between them and the gskill before rebate. i figured you didn't want to wait on rebates though so didn't suggest them.

__________________
x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
GB ga-m61p-s3
2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
rosewill stallion 500w
raidmax sagitta case
powercolor HD3870 PCS
djrussell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:42 PM Thread Starter   #8
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
I know that the ballistix are kickass and would get them if I could find my other parts with those for 255 shipped which I highly doubt will happen

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 03:54 PM   #9
djrussell
Member

 
djrussell's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: everett, wa

 
i'm probably going to commit a mortal sin right here....

the mobo, cpu, and ballistix shipped to 13202 are $245.80 before $48 worth of rebates. if you want to take a gamble and reuse the emachines psu () for a few months till you get rebate money back, you can buy a better one later. there's even still $9.20 left in your budget for the adapter cable.

totally a gamble that's up to you.

__________________
x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
GB ga-m61p-s3
2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
rosewill stallion 500w
raidmax sagitta case
powercolor HD3870 PCS
djrussell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 04:03 PM   #10
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
I can't see a 250w working out very well. Maybe sell anything you can of your current rig and use that for a decent power supply. Here's a couple decent ones for around $50

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817256019

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703010

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 04:13 PM Thread Starter   #11
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
Well, if I tried the old PSU... worst case scenario I would have to RMA everything or?

I am thinking of maybe getting some cheaper stuff and throw in a PSU/PCI-E graphics card, I mainly just play HL2 and Farcry. I may try out Doom3. Would I need a dual core and 2gb memory for those games? They are playable on my current system but barely

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 04:19 PM Thread Starter   #12
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
hehe, maybe I will be a PITA and ask for you guys to help me build a dx9 gaming rig (cpu,mobo,ram,psu,case,vga) for 255 bucks shipped lol

i have a dvd burner and a hard drive or two to put in the box

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 04:27 PM   #13
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackersabbath View Post
hehe, maybe I will be a PITA and ask for you guys to help me build a dx9 gaming rig (cpu,mobo,ram,psu,case,vga) for 255 bucks shipped lol

i have a dvd burner and a hard drive or two to put in the box
Now there's a nice challenge!



(wish I lived in the USA and knew the market, I am totally up for the challenge!)
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 04:32 PM   #14
djrussell
Member

 
djrussell's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: everett, wa

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackersabbath View Post
hehe, maybe I will be a PITA and ask for you guys to help me build a dx9 gaming rig (cpu,mobo,ram,psu,case,vga) for 255 bucks shipped lol
i really can't see that happening for less than $350. it'd barely be worth it anyway.

__________________
x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
GB ga-m61p-s3
2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
rosewill stallion 500w
raidmax sagitta case
powercolor HD3870 PCS
djrussell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 06:10 PM   #15
stafa
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2007

 
Here is a crazy idea. If you are seriously under a budget, why not buy some gently used hardware? You could source a pretty nice rig for your money from ebay. Obviously the trade-off is you have to trust people/vendors on there.. but it is a viable option. It also might get you into a better case, more reliable PSU, and even get you some bundled software. Here is ONE small example, it took me 15 seconds to locate this: http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Dell-Inspiro...QQcmdZViewItem
stafa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 07:05 PM Thread Starter   #16
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
I am going to get mobo, cpu and ram from my original post along with the thermaltake 430w psu. They all are good quality and fit into my budget nicely. Let's just hope that the psu fits into my emachines case.

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-16-07, 10:11 PM   #17
jiggamanjb

Member

 
jiggamanjb's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MI, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrussell View Post
missing a psu link there jiggamanjb.
linked
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371006

that thermaltake should be fine though.

__________________
MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
(2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower
jiggamanjb is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-07, 02:04 PM Thread Starter   #18
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
The new system is on the way from the egg. Hopefully all goes well and I can see how far I can push the cpu =)

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-07, 06:26 PM Thread Starter   #19
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
Can anyone tell me if I can OC with the 430W PSU? I'm thinking I should be able to but I don't wanna mess up my system

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-17-07, 06:51 PM   #20
jiggamanjb

Member

 
jiggamanjb's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MI, USA

 
Should be no problem. Just keep an eye on the rails, but I'm sure OCing without a video card you won't be stressing the PSU much.

__________________
MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
(2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower
jiggamanjb is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?