Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Seti Team
Seti Team Search the stars with Overclockers SETI Team! Is ET really out there? How do worm holes and black holes work? We can find out with your help.
Forum Jump

Computation Error???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-07, 01:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Computation Error???


I keep getting tons of computation errors in BOINC.



I am running my main system (in sig) with the core2 optimized client. Is this normal or do I have something messed up?

It finishes a few of them, but most run for 0 or 1 second before going on to the next one...

(I'm helping you guys with the race )

Thanks,
Thideras

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 01:35 PM   #2
LandShark
Super Shark Moderator

 
LandShark's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)

10 Year Badge
 
I would "guess" it's an overclocking issue. try to back down the clock speed a bit and see if it still doing that?

__________________
~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


Folding User Stats
How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

| F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

| My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |
LandShark is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 01:37 PM Thread Starter   #3
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LandShark View Post
I would "guess" it's an overclocking issue. try to back down the clock speed a bit and see if it still doing that?
Well, if it did it for every single one then I would suspect that, but why does it complete 2-5 out of the 20 that fail???

I just recently had to up my vcore because I was getting bsod's. I'll start orthos right now (over the internet) and see how it does once I get back. I'll keep you updated.

Thideras

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 02:00 PM Thread Starter   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
20 mins in so far (Small FFT's) and no problems. If it was a computation problem, it would fail right away, no?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 02:11 PM   #5
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Small FFTs do not test ram at all, everything fits in the cache. If it passes that, it's not likely to be a cpu issue. You can continue to run that for a while, but you'll have to run memtest86+ to complete stability testing. The Balanced setting in Prime 95 tests ram but not quite as much as memtest86+.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 02:13 PM Thread Starter   #6
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasR View Post
Small FFTs do not test ram at all, everything fits in the cache. If it passes that, it's not likely to be a cpu issue. You can continue to run that for a while, but you'll have to run memtest86+ to complete stability testing. The Balanced setting in Prime 95 tests ram but not quite as much as memtest86+.
LOL, funny you mention that. I ran memtest+86 for well over 12+ hrs, no error.

It did 49 complete passes with no issue.

I'll kill it and run blended.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 02:34 PM Thread Starter   #7
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
I'll kill it and run blended.
Aaaaaaaand.....

20 minutes and no issues. I don't think this is a stability issue.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 03:25 PM   #8
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Aaaaaaaand.....

20 minutes and no issues. I don't think this is a stability issue.
This is a set up issue, only. Your rig is fine. I had the same thing.

I've been so sleepless and stressed from all this fire stuff, I've completely forgotten what the *bleep* I did that fixed it.

Let me ponder it a bit. OK!

I had to delete the optimized SETI client, because I couldn't get it to change over to my new account name, maybe my fault, but it kept using my old account.

So I loaded SETI back up, but this time I just had the normal, un-optimized SETI client. It ran fine, but I found I really needed that optimized client!

When I re-loaded that optimized client, I forgot to put the "3 files", into the proper sub-directory, (put them in the main BOINC directory).

That's when I got zillions of "computation errors" after 1 second each of processing.

To fix it, IIRC, I retrieved the "3 files", and put them into the setiathome.berkley.edu, subdirectory, and deleted those same "3 files", from the BOINC directory.

So check your "3 files" location. I also adjusted several config and preferences at this time, but I don't believe they had anything to do with this error.

Last edited by Adak; 10-24-07 at 03:53 PM.
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 04:07 PM   #9
Roisen

 
Roisen's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Folding in Ames, IA

 
I'll bet a Q6850 that you're running vista

I had the same exact problem, and upgrading to this new client fixed everything. It is also apperantly ~5% faster than Chicken's 2.4 app.

Youll need the 2.4V client by Crunch3r, Lemme look for it...

Here: http://calbe.dw70.de/seti.html
Roisen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 05:51 PM   #10
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
I got my "computation error" units, while using WinXP Pro.
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 05:56 PM Thread Starter   #11
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roisen View Post
I'll bet a Q6850 that you're running vista

I had the same exact problem, and upgrading to this new client fixed everything. It is also apperantly ~5% faster than Chicken's 2.4 app.

Youll need the 2.4V client by Crunch3r, Lemme look for it...

Here: http://calbe.dw70.de/seti.html
Yes, I am running Vista. But I have the newest client (just got it this weekend).

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 06:32 PM   #12
Alexhk

 
Alexhk's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Well if you are using the vista compatible crunch3r app did you maybe download the 64bit app for a 32bit system?

Definitely your rig though, I checked some of those errored results (assuming you have the e6400 @ 3.4Ghz running Vista under the ocfolders user) and other people have completed some of them successfully.
Alexhk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 06:36 PM Thread Starter   #13
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexhk View Post
Well if you are using the vista compatible crunch3r app did you maybe download the 64bit app for a 32bit system?

Definitely your rig though, I checked some of those errored results (assuming you have the e6400 @ 3.4Ghz running Vista under the ocfolders user) and other people have completed some of them successfully.
I have the 32bit one

I know my computer is rock solid stable. I've already done stability tests for today

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 10:28 PM   #14
jmorgan
Member

 
jmorgan's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas

 
happend on my laptop right after I added the optimized client, did it for 30 or so and now is crunching fine let it go through them and get new work

__________________

E8400, Asus Formula, 2gb Ballistix 8500, 3870, 74gb raptor, 3x750gb WD750AAKS
Apogee GTX, MCR-320, MCP350 with Petra's top


Heat
jmorgan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 10:40 PM Thread Starter   #15
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorgan View Post
happend on my laptop right after I added the optimized client, did it for 30 or so and now is crunching fine let it go through them and get new work
Hehe, the reason I posted this is because it has been doing it since Saturday

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 10:49 PM   #16
eaglescouter
Frustrating Senior SETI Nut!

 
eaglescouter's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA- Not far from the Allen SETI array

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Hehe, the reason I posted this is because it has been doing it since Saturday
That would normally point to:
1. Wrong optimized client
2. Unstable overclock
3. Defective ram

I have had to reduce my overclock a bit to solve the problem you describe, and have had to rma defective ram to solve the problem before.

__________________
Mining LTC
#4 in the 20 Million SETI Club
Top 4 Producer for BOINC Seti Many GHz of Seti Crunching Power!
Number 18 Seti Classic Cruncher

Member of the Phase Cooled 6Ghz Club
[SG] Halo Custom Edition Clan Leader
eaglescouter is offline SETI Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-07, 10:52 PM Thread Starter   #17
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglescouter View Post
That would normally point to:
1. Wrong optimized client
2. Unstable overclock
3. Defective ram

I have had to reduce my overclock a bit to solve the problem you describe, and have had to rma defective ram to solve the problem before.
1. I think we have a winner.
2. I let it run orthos for a couple hours small fft's, didn't hit an issue.
3. 49 passes of Memtest +86 isn't enough? It ran for like....18 hours.

I think it is number one because it fails right away not 10-15 mins into it. If my cpu or ram was so unstable that it would fail within a second, then I wouldn't be able to run Windows or play any games as of now.

Can someone point me to the correct client, I have a Core2 running Vista 32bit since I guess I fail when it comes to reading

Thanks,
Thideras

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-07, 12:49 AM   #18
Tyranos
Member

 
Tyranos's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NM

10 Year Badge
 

__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K, Biostar TP67XE, EVGA GTX 570, 6gb Mushkin Radioactive, Corsair 850TX, Noctua NH-D14, Corsair 800D
Heatware
Tyranos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-07, 07:00 AM Thread Starter   #19
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyranos View Post
I'll try it and see what happens...

EDIT: Installed. I'll watch it throughout the day.

EDIT2: I just noticed that since I killed the program last time (for stability testing) that it has completed every WU that it has attempted....

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-07, 12:37 PM   #20
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
I had this problem recently and I couldn't fix it either until I completely removed BOINC (including the program folder), and did a fresh install. I think you may have used the wrong optimization

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Seti Team
Seti Team Search the stars with Overclockers SETI Team! Is ET really out there? How do worm holes and black holes work? We can find out with your help.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?