Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Another 8800GT post woohoo - Dimensions?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-07, 03:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Another 8800GT post woohoo - Dimensions?


When anyone gets their hands on one of these, would you mind measuring the card's length? I got a MicroATX with a drive cage to worry about.. Hopefully it fits or my eSATA bracket is gonna be getting a workout..

Thanks

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-07, 04:15 PM   #2
EagleClaw
Member

 
EagleClaw's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WI

 
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong but I believe it's 9", sorry can't find where I read that.
EagleClaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-07, 04:33 PM   #3
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
9" is correct

__________________
#1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2 Ubuntu 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
Last Steam App Update..."Allow App to Magically start itself and login by itself" is on list of permissions!
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-07, 04:36 PM   #4
cronozer0
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA

 
same size as 8800gts except for the obvious slot difference
cronozer0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-07, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #5
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Sweet, that'll clear.. Barely..

Thanks.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-30-07, 05:21 PM   #6
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
its a one slot colution so its all good.
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-07, 06:08 PM Thread Starter   #7
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
I'm more concerned about the length of the card - as in, is it going to hit my hard drive cage or not? Don't care at all about 1/2 slots.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-07, 08:40 PM   #8
EagleClaw
Member

 
EagleClaw's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WI

 
I can confirm 100% it IS 9" long, I did measure mine yesterday. (the card that is)
EagleClaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-07, 08:46 PM   #9
GoldenTiger
Member

 
GoldenTiger's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleClaw View Post
I can confirm 100% it IS 9" long, I did measure mine yesterday. (the card that is)
You... !!!!!!.. !!! .. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!shiftoneoneshiftplusonesh iftoneone11!!1111

*RUNS into the bushes and hides!!!!!*

GoldenTiger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 01:44 PM   #10
wumple
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
Is it exactly 9"? I have a Shuttle and I've got about an 1/8th of an inch past 9"...then it would bump into a knob on my mobo.
wumple is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 01:46 PM   #11
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wumple View Post
Is it exactly 9"? I have a Shuttle and I've got about an 1/8th of an inch past 9"...then it would bump into a knob on my mobo.
to the forums!!

Remember that you also have to plug in a power connector. Check out some pictures of the video card and see if it will have an issue

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 01:46 PM   #12
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenTiger View Post
You... !!!!!!.. !!! .. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!shiftoneoneshiftplusonesh iftoneone11!!1111

*RUNS into the bushes and hides!!!!!*


__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 01:49 PM   #13
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
to the forums!!

Remember that you also have to plug in a power connector. Check out some pictures of the video card and see if it will have an issue
Gotta make room for that you know.

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 01:54 PM   #14
wumple
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
to the forums!!

Remember that you also have to plug in a power connector. Check out some pictures of the video card and see if it will have an issue
The power connector wont be an issue since its on the top of the card...I'm just worried about the lower corner bumping into a something (not sure what its called) on the mobo.
wumple is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 02:01 PM   #15
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wumple View Post
The power connector wont be an issue since its on the top of the card...I'm just worried about the lower corner bumping into a something (not sure what its called) on the mobo.
The PCB.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 03:40 PM   #16
Clockwork_Apple
Member

 
Clockwork_Apple's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
The PCB.
How would the graphics card hit into the motherboards PCB? It sit's above it once slotted in

He must mean some sort of component, capacitors or SATA ports etc.

__________________
E4400 3100Mhz 1.35v // MSI G33M-FI // 4GB D9GMH
EVGA 8800GT // Modded mATX MicroFly // Corsair HX520W PSU
Dell E172FP 17" // Logitech MX1000 // Saitek Eclipse KB
Apogee GT // Maze 4 // Laing D5 // Swiftech MCR320-QP

<3 SFF!
Clockwork_Apple is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-07, 09:24 PM   #17
wumple
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
This is what it looks like. The end of the ruler is 9".



Those maroon knobby-sort of things are what I'm talking about.
wumple is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-07, 11:52 AM   #18
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
The brown things in the pic are capacitors if thats what your refering too.

BTW what cards in there currently?

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-07, 08:25 PM   #19
wumple
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
That's a 7800 gt in there right now. I know an 8800 gts will fit in my case so if the 8800 gt is the same size it should fit.
wumple is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-07, 11:09 AM Thread Starter   #20
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
That photo is.. Well, it doesn't help much :-) You would need to remove your current card and run the ruler in through the same slot it rests in to see for sure, or at least through an adjacent slot.. I did a little measuring myself, and it's not good news.

My current card is just long enough that it blocks the first RAM slot's retaining clips. The new one is going to block all 4. Not a huge dealbreaker, but annoying because I do swap memory around pretty often, and now to change even 1 stick the video card is gonna have to come out.

Oh well, it'll be worth it.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?