Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

8800gt on a 250W PSU!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-07, 09:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
8800gt on a 250W PSU!


welp..iv randomly decided this morning i want an 8800gt after i bought my 24" monitor the other day...hehe iv got a shuttle with a 250W psu, i used to run a 7900gt NP with or without the pci-e connector (i do have one) ~ so ill be going out within the next hour to see if i can make some magic happen

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 10:20 AM   #2
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
/shakes head....


__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 10:24 AM   #3
Immortal_Hero
Member

 
Immortal_Hero's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Wow this should get good.

__________________
][mmortal ]-[ero
Heatware
Immortal_Hero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 10:45 AM   #4
theblt
Member

 
theblt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
What do you guys mean?? This should work. As long as he doesn't plan on bringing power to the CPU, RAM, MOBO, or drives, I don't see any reason why a 250W PSU couldn't power an 8800GT.
theblt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 10:48 AM   #5
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Um... YEAAAAAH!!! Good luck with that.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 10:49 AM   #6
simba1621
Member



Join Date: Aug 2007

 
i think he might mean that the 250watt psu would just power the gpu alone. ...i hope he means that :/
simba1621 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 11:54 AM Thread Starter   #7
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
haha NOPE
250w for e6600 + 2gb ram + 2x400gb hd + dvd-rw and the 8800GT ^^

and lookie lookie, im up and running muahahah
for anyone that doesnt know, shuttle psu's are VERY under-rated or VERY efficient..they can do amazing things
btw my psu doesnt even have the 6 pin built in..im using a splitter for a 4 pin, and then a 6 pin to 2x 4 pin
thats how my 7900gt ran perfectly stable for months


__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 11:56 AM   #8
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Game it. I want to see how long it lasts

Better yet, when you game it, take a temp reading on the air leaving the PSU, that has me more curious than anything hahaha

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 11:59 AM   #9
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Im willing to bet it wont make it through one 3dmark06 bench

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:07 PM Thread Starter   #10
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
Just installed drivers, still alive lol
about to run 3dmark03 (just for you JoT )
followed by 06

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:23 PM   #11
Immortal_Hero
Member

 
Immortal_Hero's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
I bet it will be fine .

__________________
][mmortal ]-[ero
Heatware
Immortal_Hero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:27 PM   #12
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
guessing cpu will use 105W, another 100-200 for the gfx card, not counting in the 2 hdd's and stuff,

I want to see 8800gt fireworks.

but seriously dude, you have the money to buy a 24" monitor and a 8800gt, why not spend a little on the psu too?

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:28 PM   #13
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
How far can you OC the card?

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:37 PM   #14
ghost_recon88
Senior Jedi Master
Premium Member #9


 
ghost_recon88's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan

 
Its not like you can put any PSU you want in a Shuttle And I'm willing to bet it works.

__________________
The will to live will always outweigh the ability to die
ghost_recon88 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:37 PM Thread Starter   #15
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 

~ why should i buy a better psu ~ this one is plenty powerfull
not to mention ya..its a shuttle lol, i dont want a full size rig
btw this is on a clogged install of vista..ill be doing a fresh one later today too, so i'd imagine that'd boost the points a little

NEXT UP ~ 06

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:45 PM   #16
WildMonkey
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
LOL your case is tight, it looks like a toaster from the Jetsons.

__________________
Q6600
P5K Premium
8GB G.Skill DDR800
EVGA 8800GT
WildMonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:48 PM   #17
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
lol i want to see the 06 before and after pictures, before your psu was toast, after your psu was toast..

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:48 PM   #18
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
I want to see 3dmark06 not 03 :P

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 12:51 PM Thread Starter   #19
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGR View Post
I want to see 3dmark06 not 03 :P
85% dl'd ~ btw while i was running 03 the psu didnt heat up

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-07, 01:11 PM   #20
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
It should run it without much hassle.

I mean what type of power consumption did the 7900 take? The 8800GT isn't that much of a power sucker at what 110W maybe? The E6600 if the board supports it won't be taking much power either at maybe 70-75W maybe less if he can under volt it.

HDD's sure it takes some, motherboard for those PC's are ment to run lean in the power department as well.

Totally possible. If not mistaken I've seen someone run a 8800GTX as well as a 2900XT in shuttle case with not that large of a PSU as well.

Nice going D94

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?