Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Awesome Q6600, high temps, what should I do?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-07, 02:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
GFORCE100
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Awesome Q6600, high temps, what should I do?


Hi all,

So here's the story, same Abit IP35 PRO motherboard, same 16B1 BIOS, same Zalman 9700NT cooler but 2 different Q6600's, both G0 steppings, different Vcores, same 3.6GHz frequency (9x400).

Q6600 #1. actual load Vcore 1.41V
Under Prime95 25.5 Core Temp 0.95.4 reports load temps as 70/70/71/71

Q6600 #2. actual load Vcore 1.33V
Under Prime95 25.5 Core Temp 0.95.4 reports load temps as 74/74/69/69

Now my questions:

Question #1 Why are the temps so high on Q6600 #2 if its running on such a low Vcore at 3.6GHz? I've reseated the 9700NT with three different patstes (AS5, Artic Ceramique and Zalman STG-1). Temps remain higher than with Q6600 #1.

Question #2 What would you guys do knowing the 9700NT can cool better and Q6600 #1 is proof of that (i.e. higher Vcore but same temps hence an indicator that something is wrong with Q6600 #2)?

Are you all going to jump in the same direction by saying lap Q6600 #2?

I put a business card on Q6600 #2 IHS and it seems flat to me, very slightly covex with the sides lower than the middle (minor light shows through at the sides).

It's a 1.2500 VID CPU btw but it seems to be very stable when overclocked. I know I can get temps down to around 60C with the 9700NT with this low Vcore.

Thanks,
GFORCE100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-07, 02:20 PM   #2
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
All CPU's are different. That's pretty much it.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-07, 02:55 PM   #3
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
It could be that #2 just has a poorer contact between the core and IHS than #1.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-07, 03:23 PM Thread Starter   #4
GFORCE100
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Here's a screenshot of the latest temps on Q6600 #2 at 1.33V load @ 3.6GHz.
Attached Images
 
GFORCE100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-07, 05:13 PM   #5
dipspit

 
dipspit's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Steel City

 
I'd have to reiterate that not all cpus are created equally. You have to keep in mind the tiny measurements involved and how even the slightest variance could effect the contact points. Also, the imperfections in the first chip may have better contact with the zalman than the second chip. Instead of lapping the chips, try lapping the cooler and re-test.
dipspit is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-07, 06:32 PM   #6
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Another thing to consider is that the temps are all estimations, calculated by software. By no means are the readings perfect.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-07, 07:05 PM   #7
bing
Low Profile Senior

 
bing's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indonesia

 
Not sure if your mobo can do under voltage, click my sig on "Intel UVOC" to verify if the HSF is working as expected.

bing is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 12:49 AM   #8
xilix
Member

 
xilix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MA

 
The only thing I can tell ya is that if you have a G0, those are safe temps, and that if you want lower temps, you're probably gonna have to go with a better cooler.

__________________
Case -- LIAN LI Lancool PC-K58W
PSU --- Coolermaster V1000
Mobo - ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
HD ---- 250GB+320GB+1TB+1.5TB WD's, 64GBx64GB Crucial M4 SSD's
CPU --- Intel Core i5-2500K MCW6000 @4.8Ghz
RAM --- 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
GFX --- EVGA GTX460 SC 1GB/256bit + MSI Windforce GTX460 1GB/256bit in SLI
Dislpay 42" Samsung 1080p LCD -- 24" LG 1080p LCD
xilix is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 04:18 AM Thread Starter   #9
GFORCE100
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Well the Zalman 9700NT is just about as flat as they come, and nickel plated too.

It's either poor contact between cores and IHS, or poor contact between Zalman 9700NT and IHS.

I need to find a razor blade to attest just how flat the IHS is.

Sadly the IP35 PRO doesn't allow undervolting, the lowest it will go is whatever the VID is, so in this case 1.2500.

So far it's a case of amazing low Vcore CPU, I mean how many G0's to 3.6GHz at 1.33V actual? but poor temps.
GFORCE100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 04:37 AM   #10
graysky
Member



Join Date: May 2007

 
Two major factors come to mind for me:

1) how flat are the surfaces (i.e. lap them). My thread on lapping my q6600 and my thread on lapping my u-120 ex
2) vocres that high will produce heat levels exponentially higher since heat is a function of the square of voltage.

Please have a look at my overclocking sticky. Do a keyword search for "missing intel" to read about that formula and then, scroll to the bottom and read my section on thermal management.

...what are your temps @ 9x333 and what vcore are you using for 9x333?
graysky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 09:33 AM Thread Starter   #11
GFORCE100
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by graysky View Post
Two major factors come to mind for me:

1) how flat are the surfaces (i.e. lap them).
2) what are your temps @ 9x333 and what vcore are you using for 9x333?
1) Using a razor blade, Q6600 #2 surface is flat I would say with some uneveness here or there but rather micro than macro, nothing some thermal paste couldn't fill easily (~0.3mm). The 9700NT surface is almost 100% ideal, at most gaps around ~0.1mm.

2) At 9x333 I set the lowest voltage possible in the BIOS, which is the VID of the CPU, Q6600 #2. I set it to 1.2500V. Under Prime95 25.5 Small FFT same as before, the actual load Vcore is 1.18V and my temps, according to Core Temp 0.95.4 are 55/55/51/51. The PWM CPU fan doesn't spin 100% due to the fact the CPU temp isn't that high, according to Abit's uGuru it's only 41C. PWM temp is also very cool at 46C (these under Prime95 25.5).

The 9700NT feels cool, there is a steady breeze through it from the 110nm fan.
GFORCE100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 10:10 AM   #12
majinwar
Member

 
majinwar's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Sorry, I'm not trying to jack this thread, I just have a question that is probably a dumb one, but I'm going to ask it anyways since I've never built a computer from scratch myself, but soon will!

The green board around the intel chips, do you remove the cpu from it before putting it into your mobo? Or does it stay attached even when you put it into the mobo?

__________________
CPU: Intel E8400 @ 4.0Ghz
Cooling: Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme
MB: Asus Maximus Formula
GPU: ATI Sapphire 4870 1GB
PSU: Corsair HX750W
RAM: 2x1 Gb OCZ DDR2 PC8500 1066Mhz
HD: OCZ Vertex 60Gb SSD
Case: Slightly Modified Antec 900
majinwar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 12:05 PM   #13
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by majinwar View Post
The green board around the intel chips, do you remove the cpu from it before putting it into your mobo? Or does it stay attached even when you put it into the mobo?
You mean the PCB (printed circuit board) around the core itself? You certainly want to leave that attached.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 12:18 PM   #14
tuyen
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX View Post
Another thing to consider is that the temps are all estimations, calculated by software. By no means are the readings perfect.
The temperature readings are not estimations, nor are they calculations.
They are read directly from the thermal sensors built into each CPU. They're accurate to within a fraction of a degree.
tuyen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 12:31 PM   #15
graysky
Member



Join Date: May 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFORCE100 View Post
2) At 9x333 I set the lowest voltage possible in the BIOS, which is the VID of the CPU, Q6600 #2. I set it to 1.2500V. Under Prime95 25.5 Small FFT same as before, the actual load Vcore is 1.18V and my temps, according to Core Temp 0.95.4 are 55/55/51/51. The PWM CPU fan doesn't spin 100% due to the fact the CPU temp isn't that high, according to Abit's uGuru it's only 41C. PWM temp is also very cool at 46C (these under Prime95 25.5).
9x333 @ 1.25 (1.18 measured) is too hot... you might wanna either lap them or upgrade to a ultra-120 ex IMO
graysky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 12:43 PM   #16
tuyen
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GFORCE100 View Post
Question #1 Why are the temps so high on Q6600 #2 if its running on such a low Vcore at 3.6GHz?
Those temps are normal, given your parameters.
You're pushing your CPU at 1200 MHz over the rated spec...and you're using a less-than-ideal cooler.

My Q6600 runs at 3000 MHz right now (333 x 9) at 1.264 V with DDR2 running at 1112 MHz.
Under full load with Prime95, I get temps of 67, 66 , 63, and 61 for the cores, using a Zalman 7000 (all copper) which I took from my old Socket 478 system.
Under typical loads while playing games, the hottest core never goes above 44-46 degrees. I know I can get those temps about 10-15 degrees lower with a new Thermalright 120 Extreme...but for now I'm using the Zalman.

So given the fact that you're running 600 MHz over me, I would say your temps are well within the expected range for that heat sink. And also keep in mind that each CPU is different as far as how much it'll overclock and how hot it'll get.

Don't waste your time with lapping unless you have noticeable (and severe) curvature on the heatsink...and don't even think about lapping your CPU unless you're willing to forego the warranty.

If you're using Arctic Silver 5 (and you've applied it properly to the CPU), then you're running at near-optimum conditions. You could spend a few dollars on something like Masscoll Shin-Etsu X23 which typically gets you 4-5 degrees cooler than AS5, and is currently rated as the best thermal compound on the market.

If you want the absolute lowest temperatures on air cooling, you should pair up the X23 with a Thermalright 120 Extreme. That's the best possible solution currently available for air.
tuyen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 12:45 PM   #17
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuyen View Post
The temperature readings are not estimations, nor are they calculations.
They are read directly from the thermal sensors built into each CPU. They're accurate to within a fraction of a degree.
Yes the sensors are accurate, but they are interpreted by software, which isn't perfect. Use Coretemp and TAT on the same machine, they apparently read from the same sensor. On some machines, the readings are quite close, on others (like mine), they are about 3-4c apart from each other.

There is NO software reading that is 100% accurate.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 01:03 PM   #18
tuyen
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX View Post
Yes the sensors are accurate, but they are interpreted by software, which isn't perfect. Use Coretemp and TAT on the same machine, they apparently read from the same sensor. On some machines, the readings are quite close, on others (like mine), they are about 3-4c apart from each other.

There is NO software reading that is 100% accurate.
TAT hasn't been updated in nearly two years.
It doesn't even support quad CPUs.
It can't even properly identify a quad (it shows my Q6600 as being a Pentium M).
Bottom line - it's old and outdated, and therefore unreliable.

Coretemp is what you should be using for the most reliable and accurate readings from each CPU's core.
tuyen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 01:06 PM Thread Starter   #19
GFORCE100
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuyen View Post
If you want the absolute lowest temperatures on air cooling, you should pair up the X23 with a Thermalright 120 Extreme. That's the best possible solution currently available for air.
Well the only thing I was thinking, considering I already have the Zalman fan bracket installed, and hence don't need to take the motherboard out for this, would be a Zalman Reserator XT watercooling kit. I'm not however sure how good these are with quads, no real reviews of the thing out there sadly. It would make a lovely match to my Zalman GT1000 case, also in titanium.

I already had a IFX-14 and wasn't impressed by it, and that's 120 EX performance albiet larger and more cumbersome to handle.

If the Zalman 9700NT clip was stronger, I'm sure I could shave some more points off as it's not pushing down overly hard.
GFORCE100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-07, 01:17 PM   #20
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuyen View Post
TAT hasn't been updated in nearly two years.
It doesn't even support quad CPUs.
It can't even properly identify a quad (it shows my Q6600 as being a Pentium M).
Bottom line - it's old and outdated, and therefore unreliable.

Coretemp is what you should be using for the most reliable and accurate readings from each CPU's core.
Guess what, it reads my original e6300 purchased right at launch as a Pentium M as well.

Bottom line is, I stand by what I said. There is no perfect software reading, and your assertion that Coretemp is accurate to within a fraction of a degree is wrong. It is a nice indicator, but for truely accurate temps, you need a setup like this: http://overclockers.com/articles1312/

He uses that setup to test heatsinks as seen here: http://overclockers.com/articles373/p4sum.asp

There is a reason why he hasn't updated his test setup with a C2D+Coretemp. It isn't as accurate.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?