Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

2180 woes

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-07, 09:52 AM Thread Starter   #1
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
2180 woes


Well I just got all the hardware yesterday and set everything up. But when I try to OC past 260 fsb x10 mult I hit a wall It seems to get past that point I need to up my vcore a good amount. My goal is to get as far past the 3 ghz mark as possible but to even get to 3 ghz stable the vcore is as ~1.43 which is

I do not want to run this chip that hot. And looking all over the forums people with these chips are hitting 3.2 ghz with only around mid 1.3x vcore. I even took out a stick of ram so im only running one to cut down on the probs and I still hit this wall. Am I missing something? Do I have to start upping mobo voltage to get past 260 fsb(1333fsb board). What do I have to do here? Or is it time for RMA since today is within my 7 days for newegg :/

Allendale 2180 MO step
Abit IP 35-E
Ballistix DDR 800
Crorsair vx 550

__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 11:46 AM   #2
sk1llz
Member

 
sk1llz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

 
I personally don't think 1.43 is that much. I'm running at 1.4375 atm with my e2140 at 3.2Ghz. Have tried up to 1.5v and it doesn't change my temperature that much at all, about 5C more at load.

What happens if you lower the multiplier down to 8 and increase the fsb?

__________________
Zotac GTX 560Ti 448 Cores @ 910Mhz//1820Mhz/4100Mhz (72 LOAD)
Core i5 3570K @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.3v (at the moment, aiming for 5Ghz+ on air) Noctua NH-U12P (87 LOAD)
Asus Maximus 4 Extreme - BIOS 3208
12GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL9 (2x4GB + 2x2GB Corsair Vengeance)
Corsair Force 3 60GB + 4TB | Corsair TX750
3DMark Vantage: P24785 <---> 3DMark11: P6459
System @ 136W IDLE, 391W LOAD!
sk1llz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 12:04 PM   #3
ryanmartini
Member

 
ryanmartini's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: douglasville ga

 
hell crank up the vitamin v on that baby.

__________________
Intel C2Q Q6600 2.4 @ 3ghz stock voltage / Stock Cooling
Corsair XMS DDR2 800 2x1gb
Gigabyte P35 DS3-L
HIS Radeon HD3870 864/1300
WD Raptor 36gb [OS/Bench]
2 x Hitachi 250 [The Black Hole of Data]

~Warming Up 11-0-0~ heatware.

Nothing is worse than doing something your excellent at, but hate doing. ~me~
ryanmartini is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 12:09 PM Thread Starter   #4
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
havn't really tried for a higher fsb with lower mult. was trying to keep the mult high from what i understand higher fsb=more heat. ill have to play with it a little more when i get home though. at that 1.43v it hits 55c load which is pushing it from what i understand. just dont get how everybody and their mother can hit 3-3.2 on these chips with mid 1.3ish vcore

__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 01:17 PM   #5
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
I have one of those 2180's and it needs a bit of v-power to get the FSB up, mine is running at 3.2 with 1.45 volts

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 02:31 PM Thread Starter   #6
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
so the 2140, 2160>2180 for oc

__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 04:36 PM   #7
sk1llz
Member

 
sk1llz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

 
If you try higher fsb on lower mult, then you can easily see if you reach any fsb-wall (not a big risk), but just to be sure that's not a problem to reach higher fsb than you have now.

I got 65C load as it is now.

__________________
Zotac GTX 560Ti 448 Cores @ 910Mhz//1820Mhz/4100Mhz (72 LOAD)
Core i5 3570K @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.3v (at the moment, aiming for 5Ghz+ on air) Noctua NH-U12P (87 LOAD)
Asus Maximus 4 Extreme - BIOS 3208
12GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL9 (2x4GB + 2x2GB Corsair Vengeance)
Corsair Force 3 60GB + 4TB | Corsair TX750
3DMark Vantage: P24785 <---> 3DMark11: P6459
System @ 136W IDLE, 391W LOAD!
sk1llz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 05:07 PM Thread Starter   #8
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
yeah the reason i say 55c is high for me because i can only imagine what that will rise to in the summer months my aim is to keep and stick to ~60c. the as5 is still settling too so a few degrees is gonna be shaved off over time :/

__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 05:39 PM   #9
sk1llz
Member

 
sk1llz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

 
Yeah i know what you mean!
I don't have to care about that thou, because i'm getting a vapochill for my system this week!

Anyways, have you tested higher fsb on lower mult to see if that isn't a problem?

__________________
Zotac GTX 560Ti 448 Cores @ 910Mhz//1820Mhz/4100Mhz (72 LOAD)
Core i5 3570K @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.3v (at the moment, aiming for 5Ghz+ on air) Noctua NH-U12P (87 LOAD)
Asus Maximus 4 Extreme - BIOS 3208
12GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL9 (2x4GB + 2x2GB Corsair Vengeance)
Corsair Force 3 60GB + 4TB | Corsair TX750
3DMark Vantage: P24785 <---> 3DMark11: P6459
System @ 136W IDLE, 391W LOAD!
sk1llz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 09:12 PM Thread Starter   #10
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
yeah it took 1.5vcore to boot 370 didnt even test stability. ive just come to the conclusion i got a power hungry chip im just gonna run the 1.43 vcore and try and stay stay stable above 3 ghz and call it a sad face rig

currently workin on prime stable :/

__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 09:37 PM   #11
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
this is the secound E21xx cpu that i've heard of that won't do past 2.6ghz w/o major increases in voltage.

For reference, my L2 e2140 does 3ghz with 1.3375voltz (in bios) on a gigabyte P35-S3L running 2 x 1gig OCZ system elite memory at ddr900 @ 5-5-5-15 stock volts.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 10:08 PM Thread Starter   #12
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
thanks for rubbin it in!!! slajdfla :P

yeah i know the rules of OC....RULE #1 All chips are not created equal

i guess at least my chip is only half defunk and not all the way lolol

__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 10:53 PM   #13
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glockjs View Post
yeah it took 1.5vcore to boot 370 didnt even test stability. ive just come to the conclusion i got a power hungry chip im just gonna run the 1.43 vcore and try and stay stay stable above 3 ghz and call it a sad face rig

currently workin on prime stable :/
So what you have to put a bit more voltage than others, the end goal is what counts here...good luck

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-07, 11:44 PM Thread Starter   #14
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
So what you have to put a bit more voltage than others, the end goal is what counts here...good luck
THANKS!!!

i guess there is one good thing about a low fsb though....tight timings ^ ^


__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-07, 04:16 AM Thread Starter   #15
glockjs
Member

 
glockjs's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
is it because its a conroe? wtf do i have a conroe??? im so f'n confused right now i just noticed this


__________________
3570k - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming - 2x4 G.Skill 2400 - MSI GTX 660 OC SLI - Corsair TX750 - SK Hynix 128GB/SG 2TB - Zalman Z9 - Hyper 212+ - Win8 - Logi G110/G9X

A10-5800k - ASROCK A85X 4-M - 2x8 Geil Veloce 1866 - Sapphire 7750 LP - Corsair CX430 - OCZ Agility 3 90GB/WD Green 2TB - Silverstone ML03B - Arctic Alpine 64 Plus - Win8 Pro
glockjs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-07, 09:04 AM   #16
blackersabbath
Member

 
blackersabbath's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwich, NY

 
I think CPU-Z reads all the E21xx as Conroe's. I'm not sure. All are supposed to be Allendale's I guess.

__________________
MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Case: Arc Midi
Monitor: 32" LCD TV
OS: Windows 7
blackersabbath is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?