• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Q6700 to 3ghz need help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nitro

Registered
So let me start out by giving my system specs. The cpu finally arrived today and this comp will be built tomorrow

Antec Nine Hundred Gamer Case
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
Asus Silent Knight CPU cooler
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-T1 N680i SLI
Patriot Extreme 4 gigs DDR2 4-4-4-12
OCZ GameXtreme 700watt Power Supply
EVGA Geforce 8800 GT KO
2x WD 160g 16mb cache sata 3.0gb
Windows Vista Ultimate

Ok guys, basically the reason im building a new computer is because there is so many new games coming out that i cant run. Im wondering how much effort it would take to O/C the CPU to 3.0ghz and possiably upping the FSB. Im new to O/C and not sure if and how much I can do it while having it stable and without effecting cpu life drastically. That and not sure how well it can be O/C while being air cooled. The cpu fan is rated pretty good, right with the Zalman 9700.

1. How easy is it to O/C the cpu? How should i do it?
2. Will my cpu fan be able to keep up with it?
3. How do i tell when its stable?
4. Is it worth it to o/c the FSB? How much?
5. How much performance gain should i see from 2.6ghz to 3.0ghz

So let me start out by giving my system specs. The cpu finally arrived today and this comp will be built tomorrow

Antec Nine Hundred Gamer Case
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
Asus Silent Knight CPU cooler
EVGA 122-CK-NF68-T1 N680i SLI
Patriot Extreme 4 gigs DDR2 4-4-4-12
OCZ GameXtreme 700watt Power Supply
EVGA Geforce 8800 GT KO
2x WD 160g 16mb cache sata 3.0gb
Windows Vista Ultimate