• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

s-video and "yellow" cable

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

enhanced

im new to this whole world of HTPC's and any type of high quality video playback in general. any/all TVs i have ever messed with have been with basic cable and used a basic black coax cable. other than that, hooking up my old N64 via the 3 rca cables (red, white and yellow) i've never touched anything else.

so my buddy went to walmart awhile back and bought a 42" plasma HDTV. i start thinkin.... "i have a decent computer with a decent video card, i wanna see how it will look on his TV" so i take my system over and try to hook it up, but it looks like crap! like everything is blurry and pixelated (sp?). i tried playing with different resolutions but nothing helped. i eventually gave up and went home.

my system is a 4800+ X2 @ 2.750Ghz, 2GB ram and a X1900GT

question 1) why did it look so bad?
question 2) the way i hooked the computer up was via s-video. the video card came with a splitter which had 2 svideo cables and 2 yellow cables on it. i assumed that this was to hook up 2 TVs to the same card, just like having 2 DVI ports. each TV having an s-video cable and yellow cable. my buddy said no, only use s-video. so we tried that, but the picture was in black and white. whats the yellow cable for? i still think its something to do with video... the way we got it to work in color was using another adaptor that came with the card. it plugged into the "double s-video" port on the card and split into 3 rca type connectors. we hooked those up to the tv. it worked in color but the picture was really bad.

so whats the yellow cable for? whats the best was to hook a TV up like this, for best quality?