Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

E2160 Overclock?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-07, 04:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
knight_of_knee

 
knight_of_knee's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Springfield, Missouri

 
E2160 Overclock?


Alright I've gotten my E2160 to 3.0GHz but whenever I load up Core Temp v0.95.4 it says it's frequency is 501x6 and whenever I load up CPUZ 1.42 it says the frequency is 333x6. What I actually set in the bios is 333x9 and so I'm just confused over everything. Whenever I go to my computer it says that it's running at 3.0GHz and whenever I run Orthos it says that it's 3.0GHz but I don't know why CPUZ and Core Temp are saying that it's using the 6x multiplyer.

Edit: Well now core temp reads it correctly and CPUZ just goes everywhere, it said it was running at 20GHz when I was running ORTHOS...I wish it was lol.

__________________
Main: Q6600@3.0=334x9 1.300v, TRUE120, Abit IP35-Pro, 2x2gb G.Skill Pi DDR2 800, EVGA 8800gt 700/1010, PCP&C Silencer 610w, 3.15TB, 2x22" Acer AL2223W, Ubuntu 7.10 & XP Pro SP3
ASUS EEE PC: Celeron-M@900, 1gb DDR2, GMA900, 4GB SSD, 8GB SDHC, 7", Windows XP SP3

[Heatware]

Last edited by knight_of_knee; 11-28-07 at 05:05 PM.
knight_of_knee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-07, 05:05 PM   #2
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
See this thread. It's not your CPU specifically, but it addresses what you're asking about.

EDIT: Ah forget about it...I'll just explain. It appears you have C1E & EIST enabled in the BIOS. At idle, they drop the voltage & multiplier (respectively) to save power. Put the system under load and you'll see the correct reading. Or you could disable them in BIOS.

EDIT2: Just saw that you edited. CPUz should NOT be reading 20GHz! Have you previously dropped the multiplier without disabling C1E & EIST?

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-07, 05:13 PM   #3
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
if the cpu is idle then cpuz will show 6x, if you disabled EIST then you may need to reset it in bios. ie selecting it in bios and boot to windows then shutdown and disable it agian. coretemp has never read oced speeds correctly with multis being changed. in this case coretemp may not be reading the 2xxx correctly.

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-07, 05:17 PM   #4
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
I am only able to get correct readings from cpu-z, orthos and coretemp have always been wrong when changing the multiplier.

I have disabled EIST (speedstep) and that was the best way for me to get a correct reading.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-07, 05:22 PM   #5
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
As an addition to my previous post, I asked if you had manually lowered the multi because funky things can happen if you do that with C1E & EIST turned on. Do not ever drop the multi with them enabled unless you feel like reflashing your BIOS. Made that mistake once...will never do it again!

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-07, 05:32 PM Thread Starter   #6
knight_of_knee

 
knight_of_knee's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Springfield, Missouri

 
No I haven't lowered the multi yet, but I'll turn both C1E & EIST off right now cause they don't sound like things that I like lol.

Edit: Alright, thanks a lot that fixed that. I'm sorry to be asking a question that has become rather repetitive I probably should have used the search feature lol. But again thanks a lot for your help.

__________________
Main: Q6600@3.0=334x9 1.300v, TRUE120, Abit IP35-Pro, 2x2gb G.Skill Pi DDR2 800, EVGA 8800gt 700/1010, PCP&C Silencer 610w, 3.15TB, 2x22" Acer AL2223W, Ubuntu 7.10 & XP Pro SP3
ASUS EEE PC: Celeron-M@900, 1gb DDR2, GMA900, 4GB SSD, 8GB SDHC, 7", Windows XP SP3

[Heatware]

Last edited by knight_of_knee; 11-28-07 at 05:45 PM.
knight_of_knee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-28-07, 05:55 PM   #7
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
No, don't apologize; the sticky is definitely not clear in the subject line. If I get time, I'll formulate one in an attempt to get my very own sticky. Glad you got it straightened out.

Since you fold like I do, you want them disabled anyway. They serve no purpose b/c your CPU is under load 24/7. By extension, since they were disabled anyway, I dropped my default 10x multi to 9x in order to take advantage of the 1333MHz strap, plus it lets me run my RAM @ 400MHz (instead of either 375 or 450 w/ 300FSB and the ratios I have to choose from) so I can keep Vdimm down.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?