Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

ATI Tool doesn't detect my card?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-07, 09:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
WiglyWorm
Member



Join Date: Oct 2007

 
ATI Tool doesn't detect my card?


Everyone seems to say that ATItool should just be "start up and go", but it doesn't seem to detect much if anything about my card (8800gt), and when I click on one of the "find max" buttons, it gives me this error:



Core and mem frequency show as 0.00 and adjusting the sliders doesn't do much.

any help?
WiglyWorm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-07, 01:15 PM   #2
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
DO NOT USE FIND MAX!

Most people just use ATI Tool to stress test their card. The "scan for artifacts" button is great for this purpose. Don't pay attention to anything else in ATI Tool. Use RivaTuner to OC the card.

If you're still getting issues there may be other things to consider. I think VISTA has problems w/ ATI Tool, but I use XP for all my testing, and just use VISTA to play a few DX10 titles.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-07, 01:20 PM   #3
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
DO NOT USE FIND MAX!

Most people just use ATI Tool to stress test their card. The "scan for artifacts" button is great for this purpose. Don't pay attention to anything else in ATI Tool. Use RivaTuner to OC the card.

If you're still getting issues there may be other things to consider. I think VISTA has problems w/ ATI Tool, but I use XP for all my testing, and just use VISTA to play a few DX10 titles.
I'm curious as to why? With my 7900GS, the ati tool's auto find did a perfect match with the highest settings it could handle...

Ati Tool works with vista if you have the latest version.

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-07, 01:40 PM   #4
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
I've read that the software doesn't properly detect the artifacts right (might only apply to 8 series), and can keep increasing clocks well beyond where it needs to go...possibly damaging the card. I guess if you sit there and watch it you'll be fine b/c you can stop it when you see artifacts, but I've just read it's bad, and am willing to trust other's reports on this issue, and not test it myself.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-07, 01:53 PM Thread Starter   #5
WiglyWorm
Member



Join Date: Oct 2007

 
Might I have to boot in to vista pressing f8 to allow uncertified drivers?

Hearing that there's an issue is enough to keep me away until someone can confirm that there's not. I'll start using ntune again. How long should I go without artifacts at any given clock in order to confirm that it's stable?

I had RAM at 1000MHz for a long time never seeing any issues, but then a couple times I got some graphical slow down and BSODs pointing to video card RAM, so I guess it wasn't entirely stable.
WiglyWorm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-12-07, 02:06 PM   #6
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
No, not nTune...use RivaTuner for basically everything you do to modify the clocks/fan speed, and then just use ATI Tool's "scan for artifacts" button to test for stability. If you can't get ATI Tool to work in VISTA (and that's all you have to work with) then try the f8 trick. I press F8 almost every time I start VISTA (PITA). If it still doesn't work, then you'll have to use 3DMark or actual game use to test for stability.

I like to go for 15-20 min of ATI Tool artifact scanner w/ no artifacts. I'm usually there or very close to max clocks at that point. Sometimes I have to drop one of the sliders another notch if a game causes a problem.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?