• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Seem to hit a wall

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shadowpr

Registered
First my pc:
MB: Asus P5K
CPU: E6750
Ram: 2x2gb DDR2 1000 G.Skillz
Heatsink: Thermalright Ultima-90

I had my pc overclocked to 3.4ghz with a vcore of 1.37. The fsb was at 425. I tried to push the fsb to 450 and it would load windows, but I can't pass Orthos. I have my vcore up to 1.4625 now and still only get a few minutes into Orthos before it fails.

Some things I have tried along with raising the vcore is: enabled voltage dampener, disabled cpu spread sepctrum, disabled pcie spread spectrum.

I have my ram at stock timings and voltage, but lowered the spead to be in 1:1 with the fsb.

Any suggestions to help me get over this apparent wall?

This is my first attempt at overclocking, so please excuse me if I missed something obvious.

Not yet.

Would it be better to lower the multi and then just raise the fsb?

Is that what I should set it to in bios, or do I need to add to that to compensate for vdroop?

I have the plain ole regular P5K.

Going to go up the voltage now, and see how that goes.

there is a pencil vdropp mod for the plain P5K. have you also locked the PCIE at 101? what are your other voltages set to? what about load temps you see at a stable oc? do you have any active cooling on the NB?

Bloop is on the right, i just want to know what you have or have done.

I have the cpu voltage set to 1.4875 right now. The fsb at 450 with a multiple of 8. I'm running orthos small fft's test, priority 1 for almost an hour so far, and it's all good.

I have PCIE set to 100.

My ram voltage set to 2.0 as recommended by g.skillz.