Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

little confused about this... and wondering if it would help....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-08, 06:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
Bluefalcon13

 
Bluefalcon13's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

 
little confused about this... and wondering if it would help....


Well, my MB has alot of wierd options, that have never been described in OCing guides, and im gonna flip through it, and list the ones which im confused about, and what it helps to achieve. This is for an Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe board... so those of you with lots of experiance with these, please lemme know if any of these are useful and what not. Gonna really ramp my Brisbane 4000+ up this weekend, and wanna know if yall know some special tricks with some of these settings to really get a GREAT OC!

Advanced Voltage Control
CPU Vcore Offset Voltage - does this mean that the default of 1.35 would really be 200mV higher?
DDR2 Termination Voltage - ???
CPU to NB Voltage / NB to SB - Whats default, and whats generally 'too high'?
NB Core/PCI-E voltage - default, 'max safe'?
SB Core/PCI-E voltage - default, 'max safe'?

Others
NB <-> SB freq - should this be 'cloned' from my CPU <-> NB freq(ie, 268x4) for best performance/stability, or should I lock it down at 1000mhz(200x5) reguardless what my CPU <-> NB freq is?


Well... I think thats about it... thought there was some kinda RAM offset, but I couldnt even find it in the book, something about RAM clock offsets.... OH, I see it... AI Clock Skew... wtf is this? Is it only relevent to those who use both banks of DIMMs?

Thanks in advance for your help

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.8ghz, Corsair H80 cooler
Asus M5A97 Vanilla
2x4gig G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3-1866 @ DDR3-1600
eVGA GTX670 2gb
Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 8.1 Pro)
Antec Three Hundred Case
Antec TruePower New 750W Power Supply

Dell Precision M4500- i5-540m, 8GB DDR3, 128GB Samsung 470 SSD, 240GB Crucial M500 mSATA SSD, BD-ROM/DVD-RW, Quadro FX 880m 1GB

Heatware
Bluefalcon13 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-08, 06:34 PM   #2
GruffiGummi
Member

 
GruffiGummi's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004

 
i think all of the advantage voltage controls are for if the voltage goes up too much from what you have set it, it would cause a reboot to avoid damage.

i could be wrong though

__________________
Case: Modded Antec 300
cpu: Intel i7 920 d0@ 3.8 ghz (200 x 19) ... 1.25v
mobo: Intel DX58SO Smackover
ram: 6 GB Mushkin Redline ... 800mhz ... 1.66v ... 6-7-6-18
gpu: ATI Sapphire Radeon 6950
storage: 80gb Intel X25-M G2 SSD | 250GB Seagate Barracuda
psu: Corsair 520HX 520W PSU
cooling: cpu-Corsair H50 LCLC w/ 2x Xigmatek 120mm | case-2x Xigmatek 120mm, 1x Xigmatek 140mm | Scythe Kaze Master Fan Controller
GruffiGummi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-08, 06:48 PM Thread Starter   #3
Bluefalcon13

 
Bluefalcon13's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GruffiGummi View Post
i think all of the advantage voltage controls are for if the voltage goes up too much from what you have set it, it would cause a reboot to avoid damage.

i could be wrong though
i donno if this is what its refering to... seems to be different, cause all the safety stuff is in the "POWER MANAGEMENT--> Advanced options"

all this stuff is in the normal advanced menus (like RAID, USB, RAM dividers, CPU clock freq, ect ect....)


TELLS ME YOUR SECRETS! :P

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.8ghz, Corsair H80 cooler
Asus M5A97 Vanilla
2x4gig G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3-1866 @ DDR3-1600
eVGA GTX670 2gb
Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 8.1 Pro)
Antec Three Hundred Case
Antec TruePower New 750W Power Supply

Dell Precision M4500- i5-540m, 8GB DDR3, 128GB Samsung 470 SSD, 240GB Crucial M500 mSATA SSD, BD-ROM/DVD-RW, Quadro FX 880m 1GB

Heatware
Bluefalcon13 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-04-08, 08:01 PM   #4
Zerix01

 
Zerix01's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
Others
NB <-> SB freq - should this be 'cloned' from my CPU <-> NB freq(ie, 268x4) for best performance/stability, or should I lock it down at 1000mhz(200x5) reguardless what my CPU <-> NB freq is?
I say if you want stability then keep those settings at the default. Any over clocking you do on the CPU side should not effect the chipset. Also overclocking the HT bus generally has no improvement in speed on a single socket system when kept above 800MHz, so even if the chipset could handle any over clock you would see no improvement in speed from the peripherals connected to the north bridge and south bridge when over clocking them.

And like I said stability should not be an issue with the NB <-> CPU HT bus being over clocked but the NB <-> SB staying at default speed.

__________________
Deepthought 2.0:
AMD FX 8320 4.4GHz Water Cooled
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
8GB Patriot DDR3 2000MHz (clocked@2133Mhz)
2x Gigabyte 550 Ti 1GB Water Cooled
2x64GB Crucial m4's in RAID 0 + 3x500GB Hitachi HDD's in RAID 5
Fedora 16 64-bit KDE Spin


Folding User Stats
Zerix01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?