Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

intel Thermal Analysis tool?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-08, 02:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
uberwoot
Member

 
uberwoot's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007

 
intel Thermal Analysis tool?


how reliable is this? Im useing it on my E4500 and my temps seem really good...allmost to good.

idle the cores are 25-29 with a oc to 3.4ghz and water cooled. When i up the volts and oc it to 3.7 the temps go up so is this tool pretty accruate?

__________________
i7 930@4.2ghz 1.24v, Asus Sabertooth X58,12gigs Cosair Dominator DDR3 1600, GTX 470. 2 X OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOP 120gb Raid 0, 3 OCZ Agility 3 120gb.

Heat http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=51749
uberwoot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-08, 07:04 PM   #2
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
try out coretemp

http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

and report back the temps it gives in comparison to the temps TAT is giving... My e6600 and e4300 both recorde temps almost the same on TAT and coretemp. but the E4500 is a different stepping then the e4300 with a different tjunction temp 100*C vs 85*C, if i had to bet id say the temp readings in TAT are right about 15*C off of what coretemp says

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-05-08, 07:13 PM Thread Starter   #3
uberwoot
Member

 
uberwoot's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007

 
35c coretemp 28c tat

__________________
i7 930@4.2ghz 1.24v, Asus Sabertooth X58,12gigs Cosair Dominator DDR3 1600, GTX 470. 2 X OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOP 120gb Raid 0, 3 OCZ Agility 3 120gb.

Heat http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=51749
uberwoot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-08, 12:54 AM   #4
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
ya TAT aint reading right... just use coretemp.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-08, 01:09 AM   #5
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
ya TAT aint reading right... just use coretemp.
Actually, no. They are both right.

They are reading from different parts on the processor. Which would give you different temps.

That aside, I would use the CoreTemp temps just because they are higher

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-08, 09:14 PM Thread Starter   #6
uberwoot
Member

 
uberwoot's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007

 
My water block dosent even really warm to the touch. My water in the lines still feels pretty cool. Not like when i had my 3ghz X2 overclocked and the block felt warm and the watter was pretty warm. So i think the temps reported by core temp are off some. Bios reports temps close to those in the TAT.


also who made TAT? intell or a 3rd party?

__________________
i7 930@4.2ghz 1.24v, Asus Sabertooth X58,12gigs Cosair Dominator DDR3 1600, GTX 470. 2 X OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOP 120gb Raid 0, 3 OCZ Agility 3 120gb.

Heat http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=51749
uberwoot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-08, 09:16 PM   #7
ancalime

 
ancalime's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007

 
How bout running Prime95 and compare the load temperatures?

__________________
Main Rig
CPU: AMD X2 4200+ @ 2.71 GHz (258 x 10.5) | Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
GPU: EVGA Geforce 7800 GT (SLI) 465/1101
HDD: Western Digital 80GB | RAM: 2GB Patriot DDR 400 2-3-3-5

C2D Rig
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.7GHz | Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro
GPU: EVGA GTX260
HDD: 2x Western Digital Raptor 150GB RAID 0 | RAM: 2GB Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 1T

Heat
ancalime is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-08, 09:17 PM   #8
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by uberwoot View Post
also who made TAT? intell or a 3rd party?
Intel.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-08, 09:22 PM Thread Starter   #9
uberwoot
Member

 
uberwoot's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007

 
Load temps are off the same amont as the idle temps.


bios reports temps closer to the TAT temps. "like i trust the bios temps" So at 40c for a few hours shouldent my waterblock feel around 90-100 deg and not like 70-80deg? same with my water in my line.

__________________
i7 930@4.2ghz 1.24v, Asus Sabertooth X58,12gigs Cosair Dominator DDR3 1600, GTX 470. 2 X OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOP 120gb Raid 0, 3 OCZ Agility 3 120gb.

Heat http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=51749
uberwoot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-08, 03:58 AM   #10
Stilletto
Member

 
Stilletto's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Yulee, FL

 
I have noticed that with newer stepping CPU's, Intel's TAT is totally off. It is dead on with the Bseries stepping, but G0 or m0 or any other, not even close....always reads about 15C too low. They simply need to update the program.

__________________
XEON W3520 4.0ghz and climbing....So are temps..
e8600@4.42GHZ@1.36 Dual Prime95 Stable
e8500@4.02GHZ@1.36 Dual Prime95 Stable
6GB OCZ 1600Mhz DDR3
GSKILL 128GB Falcon/3 1TB WD Black RAID 5
Samsung 215TW/2343BWX
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Swiftech MCP655-B, Swiftech Apogee GT
2x XFX GTX275 SLI
Stilletto is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-08, 08:39 PM Thread Starter   #11
uberwoot
Member

 
uberwoot's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007

 
even at stock clocks core temps temps are about the same. i reseated my waterblock and still the same so i think that program is off.

water block feels cool, water feels cool, system is stable and im not uber oc'd so all must be good.

__________________
i7 930@4.2ghz 1.24v, Asus Sabertooth X58,12gigs Cosair Dominator DDR3 1600, GTX 470. 2 X OCZ Vertex 3 Max IOP 120gb Raid 0, 3 OCZ Agility 3 120gb.

Heat http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=51749
uberwoot is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?