• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My first OC - some questions too

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gripp

okay, so, maybe not completely my "first" OC as i've played around wth the ASUS OC utility and once bumped my system in at 8x400 with everything set to auto just to see if it would boot - it did, but i didn't leave it on very long...

so, okay then, this is my first time running an OC fully manually and testing stability.
now, the good stuff
my system is:
ASUS Maximus Formula SE w/ 0802 bios rev
Q6600 G0
EVGA 8800GTX
2x1GB Ballistix
corsiar HX520 PSU
2x 250GB perp HDD in raid 0
1x 250GB backup

it is air cooled - 4-120mm running front bottom to back top with one 90mm at the very top center of the case blowing down into the case (i'm leary about this choice... i was thinking it would introduce some turbulance and help distribute the air a bit more through my case... but that may have been over thinking things a little..)
the CPU has a monster tuniq tower 120 and all other cooling is stock (the waterloop has nothing on it)

i was able to get 9x334 (3.0Ghz) to run stable on al initial voltages - which seem a bit low to me (1.16Vcore?) and got absolutely no errors from prime95
but then i push it up to 9x367 (3.3Ghz) and stock wouldn't even run (as expected) but i had to push Vcore all the way up to 1.25 (shows as 1.22 on Probe) before i could get stable
even at that i've only run prime for about an hour and now F@H about an hour and a half, and ran several bench marks while pushing my graphics card
i guess i'm happy with 3.3GHz, and i dont think i go much further given that my load temp is about 63 when the room temp gets to its max...

but, so my question is is it normal to have to up the juice by such a large percentage for such a small gain?