• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New computer bits, reassurance/suggestions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DanFraser

Well, I'm not really looking for suggestions. I'm a student, I'm virtually always skint apart from loan day, which just came. I can stretch to a budget of 380-400 pounds (UK here) and this is what I've got right now: (it's also in my sig, but meh)

Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.0GHz 2MB HT
2GB DDR2 667MHz
Asus P5LD2 SE R2.0
Innovision 8800GTS 320MB
oodles of disk space...
Crappy 700W PSU
Lian Li PC-65 case

The prescott is the most horrid part. This is the reason why I want to upgrade, it is seriously holding me back in games, and long compiles are just getting annoying now. The 8800 isn't even breaking a sweat on full settings because of the CPU... Anyway, unfortunately I can't find any information on whether my current board can actually support a Q6600. I know it can do the FSB and everything else, but I can't even find one other person who's tried it and found out. Otherwise I could save a bucket by not getting a new mobo in the selection I have chosen:

Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 "Energy Efficient SLACR 95W Edition" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail --- £168.01

MSI P31 Neo2-FR Intel P31 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard --- £52.86

OcUK 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C5 800MHz DDR2 Dual Channel Kit --- 2x £56.38

OCZ StealthXStream 600w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply --- £52.86

Thermalright Ultra-120A CPU Cooler (Socket AM2/LGA775) --- £25.84

So that's the list. I know it's not good ram, a good mobo, but that's my budget. Anyone think the overclock is going to be possible on the nice little Q6600? Any other suggestions, or if anyone can find out if my P5LD2-SE R2.0 can take a Q6600, I would love to find out!