• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I think I screwed up my RAID O setup

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jrank001

Hi all:

I hope this is the correct place for this thread.

Before me I am looking at a new system I just completed putting together. I’m a newbie here so please remember that.

I’m looking at my Abit IX38 Quad GT book and followed the directions on how to set up a RAID 0 configurations. Made the floppy, and inserted it when windows XP Pro 32 bit asked for it (F6).

Windows loaded the driver’s fine (I think); however I think I didn’t take regarding my RAID 0. My book tells me squat on any settings I should have made in the BIOS before any windows install.

On top of this it does not see my two WD drives when you go to my computer. I have four drives total. It just shows me drive C.

I looked all over the forum for previous threads on this but it’s hard to find any hand holding threads through the entire process with this board.

Can some tell me what I did wrong?

How can you tell if I set up RAID correctly when looking within windows or is there another way?

How do I start all over?

Should I start all over?

Thanks

In bios you need to set drives to raid, reboot, go to ctrl - i when booting, set up raid 0 on the drives you want, save, it will reboot, go to bios make sure boot hard drive is set to the raid drive you want, save reboot, load driver in xp (f6) then install windows.

Your RAID 0 array is seen by Windows as one volume, hence why it assigned the drive letter C: - which is the root volume. Your WD drives need to be partitioned and formatted, which can be done via the Computer Management console from within Windows... Start | Run | Type diskmgmt.msc, and click OK | Right click each of the HDD"s for a list of available options.