Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

My new Q6600 Rig & Overclock

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-08, 02:16 AM Thread Starter   #1
SkyFire47
Registered

 
SkyFire47's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
My new Q6600 Rig & Overclock


howdy y'all,

got the new q6600 in sig and a few questions to all the quad users on the boards. am currently testing for stability and:

1. prime95'ed overnight at 3.0ghz (333fsb @ 1:1) using 1.2350 vcore and its stable
2. now priming overnight again at 3.2ghz (356fsb @ 1:1) using 1.2350 vcore and it's doing good so far.

my questions are:

-idle temps are 37/30/33/36
-load temps are 59/47/49/59

are these normal temps are a bad mounting job of the TRUE? is 10 a big difference on a quad core? should i remount? also, any idea what the top speeds are going for on air? what's the most common OC with this chip? i know vcore shouldn't be pushed past 1.5 and load temps should stay under 70 so i'm just curious as to what's a realistic max OC on this would be. appreciate any insight and thanks in advance.

__________________
(currently testing for stability)
Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
Dell U3011 30" Monitor
Corsair HX620
Antec900 Case
SkyFire47 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 02:20 AM   #2
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Most get to 3.6GHz on air, you're doing good so far.

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 08:42 AM   #3
ManOfKnight
Member

 
ManOfKnight's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Back in Iowa :( Come on Gators, Get up and Go!

10 Year Badge
 
Actually you didn't state the stepping of your Q6600. I am assuming since it is brand new it is a G0...if it is a G0 then you should be able to get around 3.4-3.6 on air...depending on your cooling solution. I am guessing you have a G0 by looking at your temps. If it is a B3 then you will have a tough time getting that high...your max will probably be around 3.2-3.4.

__________________
Laptop: XPS m1530 | T7700 2.2Ghz | 2048MB GSkill DDR2 | NVidia m8600GT 256MB DDR3 :D | 120GB 7200rpm
Project Caesar: Q9450 @ 3.4Ghz | Maximus Formula | 8192MB OCZ Reaper | eVGA GTX260 | XFX 8800GTS for F@H | 2780GB Total Sata
Project Jessks: e8400 @ 4.2Ghz | P5KE-WiFi/AP | 4096MB GSkill Red | ATi HD4850 (folding) | 74GB Raptor | 1.5TB Green WD
Project Fileserver: Phenom 9850 | Biostar 790GX | 2048MB GSkill | (4) 1.5TB Green WD
Computers are running 24/7 World Community Grid and Folding@Home for
My Mother, My Sister, Julie Stutzman, Gary Janssen, and Shelly Laborde
My Heatware 30-0
ManOfKnight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 08:48 AM Thread Starter   #4
SkyFire47
Registered

 
SkyFire47's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
>_< sorry about that guys. it is a G0 stepping. thanks for the input. anyone have any ideas on the temps though? at load, 2 cores stay right around 60 and the other to stay close to 50 so i'm doing ok. just wondering if this is normal and i have nothing to worry about or if i should remount and all cores should be around 50?

__________________
(currently testing for stability)
Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
Dell U3011 30" Monitor
Corsair HX620
Antec900 Case
SkyFire47 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 09:07 AM   #5
Fleron230
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2008

 
It's probably just because you need to lap it! I would (my temps differ by like 5*C) but I'm too lazy to spend a couple hours doing it I also got a G0
Fleron230 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 09:40 AM   #6
turd
Member

 
turd's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I have been running for months with a spread in the core temps as you can see by my pic. I believe that most do get some spread. Your spread does seem a little high so it may be worth a remount.

This is on water, at idle, with the rad fans throttled down silent. Heats on in the room and it is warm . So you seem to be doing OK with your temps.
Attached Images
 
turd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 10:27 AM   #7
Fleron230
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2008

 
Mines at 2448 G0 Stepping, I guess I should lap because at load it's 48/48/42/40, and I could shave quite a bit (Enzotech Ultra-X)
Fleron230 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 11:41 AM   #8
p e r p l e x
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2007

 
This is as tight as my spread will go, ive been fighting a losing battle
p e r p l e x is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 02:30 PM   #9
BoogieMan
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buffalo NY

 
I'm right about where you are Perplex, i can make 3.6, but vcore up to about 1.48-49 and temps a little hotter than I like. Instead I'm doing daily use at 3.2 no problems at all.
BoogieMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-08, 10:20 PM   #10
xj0hnx
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyFire47 View Post
>_< sorry about that guys. it is a G0 stepping. thanks for the input. anyone have any ideas on the temps though? at load, 2 cores stay right around 60 and the other to stay close to 50 so i'm doing ok. just wondering if this is normal and i have nothing to worry about or if i should remount and all cores should be around 50?
My temps at idle are about 34/34/32/31, under load however, they are 56/56/46/45. When I first installed my TRUE there was about a 15 diff between them, and it was more like 65/65/50/49. The first time I spread the TP and then put on the HSF, when I reseated I used the line across the middle method. One thing I noticed when I reseated it is that the pegs on the back plate that sit in the motherboard, one of them doesn't sit all the way in, no matter how I tighten it down.
xj0hnx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-08, 12:06 AM Thread Starter   #11
SkyFire47
Registered

 
SkyFire47's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xj0hnx View Post
My temps at idle are about 34/34/32/31, under load however, they are 56/56/46/45. When I first installed my TRUE there was about a 15 diff between them, and it was more like 65/65/50/49. The first time I spread the TP and then put on the HSF, when I reseated I used the line across the middle method. One thing I noticed when I reseated it is that the pegs on the back plate that sit in the motherboard, one of them doesn't sit all the way in, no matter how I tighten it down.
thanks. i actually used the line across method as instructed in one of the stickies up top. i guess there's not too much to worry about as long as temps stay good.

UPDATE - 3.2ghz @ 1:1 w/ 1.2350 vcore is stable. gonna try for 3.4 next. any ideas what vcores are common for 3.4ghz and 3.6ghz?

__________________
(currently testing for stability)
Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
Dell U3011 30" Monitor
Corsair HX620
Antec900 Case
SkyFire47 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?