• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what's the optimal Mhz for my E6420?? pics inside**

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nero1943

Registered
i'm looking at my CPU-Z current it's at stock 160x.xMhz sometimes it jumps to 213x.xMhz. Why is is this? I o/c to 400mhz x 8 mutiplier before and it was runnig 3.21 fine. My current temp is roughly low 20s during normal operation.

cpu2.jpg
cpu3.jpg
cpu.jpg
fan003.jpg

also, someone mentioned about setting the ram to 1:1 ratio. Which will be easier to o/c the CPU. sorry i am pretty new to this o/c thing. I don't see any setting in the bios on the RAM. Just the 800mhz ~ 13xxmhz?

also, someone mentioned about setting the ram to 1:1 ratio. Which will be easier to o/c the CPU. sorry i am pretty new to this o/c thing. I don't see any setting in the bios on the RAM. Just the 800mhz ~ 13xxmhz?

If you are at 400mhz FSB you'll want the DDR2 800 setting. That'll be a 1:1 ratio. (EDIT: On the P5B series it is the slowest option. At 266mhz FSB it'll be DDR2 533)

As to why the clock speed changes you'll need to disable the power saving features on your mobo. On the ASUS P5B series it is called C1E and speedstep. If you disable those two you should be fine. I turn them back on once I find my max stable but turn them off while I am working towards it.

As far as the best OC you can hope for...

If you can hit 450mhz FSB (that would be DDR2 900 which is a mild ram OC, but not always attainable depending on your chips) that'll give you 3.6ghz. Depending on your cooling you should be able to get your CPU that high.

Reference this thread for some optimal settings on the P5B series mobos:

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=496802