Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

E6570 @ 1.65vcore (air)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-08, 03:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
E6570 @ 1.65vcore (air)


Ok so I lap my CPU and heatsink, remount and now...



It's kind of hard to see, but I was at 1.65vcore, other voltages at stock. Ran small FTT torture in prime for ~15 minutes, never going above 68C. (Idling at 26-27C atm)

Can that temperature readout be correct? On air? My heatsink is nothing special either, just a 9500 zalman. I'm using coretemp 0.96.1

What other programs have reliable temp readouts for the CPU that I can crosscheck with?

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 03:52 PM Thread Starter   #2
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
bump, thoughts anyone?

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 03:57 PM   #3
Kai_Force
Member

 
Kai_Force's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007

 
Coretemp has never lied to me...try Intel Thermal Analysis Tool (TAT). Gives you accurate temps as well.

__________________
_____________________________________________
E6600@3.375Ghz 1.35V 375x9 Zalman9700
Evga 680i SLI Mobo
4G G Skill DDR2 Ram 5-5-5-15@1100Mhz 2.1V
Evga 8800GTX 768M 50c/65c
Antec 1200 Case
3 Seagate 1TB -Raid 5- Areca 1210 Raid card
2x Dell 2407WFP
ABS Tagan BZ 700 Watt
Z-5500 + Xfi XtremeGamer
Kai_Force is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 04:13 PM   #4
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 04:17 PM Thread Starter   #5
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..
Aye I know, but the vcore scaling on my cpu is very weird.

1.40 -> 3.4ghz

1.50 -> 3.6ghz

1.60 -> Was nearing complete stability on 3.8ghz

Everyone I see on these forums runs vcores MUCH MUCH lower on air.

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 04:29 PM   #6
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiggity View Post
It's kind of hard to see, but I was at 1.65vcore, other voltages at stock. Ran small FTT torture in prime for ~15 minutes, never going above 68C. (Idling at 26-27C atm)

Can that temperature readout be correct? On air? My heatsink is nothing special either, just a 9500 zalman. I'm using coretemp 0.96.1
I bet you can get stable w/ a lot less vcore if you tweak some other voltage settings. Once you get above 420 you usually have to do something. Try dropping your multi, and see what happens when you give the NB and FSB more juice. With your multi dropped you can get your CPU OC out of the equation, and just see what you have to do to get the FSB stable at 450 or higher. Then raise your multi back up, and see how much vcore it takes to keep the CPU happy at those speeds.

Also, it looks like your giving your RAM 1.8v. What is the voltage spec on your RAM? A lot of current enthusiast DDR2-800 requires anything from 2.1-2.2v, so get your RAM the spec voltage before you do anything else. Show us the 'memory' tab of CPU-Z, so we can see your divider settings as well.

Your temps are pretty good for as much vcore as you are pumping in.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 04:32 PM Thread Starter   #7
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
I bet you can get stable w/ a lot less vcore if you tweak some other voltage settings. Once you get above 420 you usually have to do something. Try dropping your multi, and see what happens when you give the NB and FSB more juice. With your multi dropped you can get your CPU OC out of the equation, and just see what you have to do to get the FSB stable at 450 or higher. Then raise your multi back up, and see how much vcore it takes to keep the CPU happy at those speeds.

Also, it looks like your giving your RAM 1.8v. What is the voltage spec on your RAM? A lot of current enthusiast DDR2-800 requires anything from 2.1-2.2v, so get your RAM the spec voltage before you do anything else. Show us the 'memory' tab of CPU-Z, so we can see your divider settings as well.

Your temps are pretty good for as much vcore as you are pumping in.
My ram is terribad, not even rated to go above 2.0 and i get error spam going above 1.8V on this ram. It's horrible and I know its holding me back. But thats another issue. I run it at 1:1 5-5-5-15 2T, and it can barely keep up with DDR2 900 speed with my 450FSB.

Sooooo.....Ram suggestions? =D

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 04:52 PM   #8
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
4gig ddr2-1000 $114
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231145

2gig kits
$69=ddr2-1000
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231152
$109=ddr2-1066
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145033

people may not agree with my choice of ram listings. i am suggesting non micron based ram. till we ram that doesnt die at stock speed/voltage, ie like 2.2v or lower.. i still think it has something to do for when they started making ddr3 ic's.

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 06:11 PM   #9
Finny
Member

 
Finny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiggity View Post
Aye I know, but the vcore scaling on my cpu is very weird.

1.40 -> 3.4ghz

1.50 -> 3.6ghz

1.60 -> Was nearing complete stability on 3.8ghz

Everyone I see on these forums runs vcores MUCH MUCH lower on air.
Thats just about right where I am. 1.5v at 3.6 stable.

__________________
92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this.

CPU......................i7 920 @ 4.16 with 1.46v
GPU......................GTX260 core 216 at 700-1180
RAM.....................6GB micron (cellshock)
Sound...................Auzentech X-Plosion w/LVM4562OPAMPS
MOBO...................Biostar T-power x58
Case....................INCOMING!
PSU......................Antec 850
HEAT
Finny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 06:14 PM   #10
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..
I can see it fine on my 22"...it says 67c and 66c.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-08, 09:47 PM   #11
RockerGuy
Member



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto

 
HOPE u dont fry anything there Homer.

__________________
Asus P5K |458x8
Intel E6750 | 2.66-->3.66Ghz @ 1.48v (OCZ Vanquisher @ 50*C) | 3.68GHz stable
Sapphire ATI 2600xt (RAM 700MHz-->710 | GPU 800MHz-->820)
Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1066 | 916Mhz @ 4-4-3-12 (fried, they suck)
Antec Sonata III 500w (enuff power??)


Old: P III 933==>1050MHz | Asus 9550 | 512MB RAMs | FSB 150MHz :)
RockerGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 02:37 AM   #12
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
Those temp readings are correct. The E6750 is a gem of a chip. I can go to 1.75V without breaking 69C on my U90.(I am not insinuating you try this, I just did it for temperature research.)

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 02:56 AM   #13
terran2k
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
I wonder how much electromigration occurs with so much voltage, Im hesistant to run that much in my 90nm core.

__________________
Workstation - Windows 7 x64
AMD 1055T
Server - ESXi 5.0
INTEL E5-2603
terran2k is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 02:58 AM   #14
OC nub
Member

 
OC nub's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007

 
e6750


I would think that chip will be dead in a short time with 1.65v. Thats insanely hi IMO.

I have an e6750 and run it at 450x8 with 1.40v and hit 48 to 54c max at full load in orthos.. It will do 3.8 but had to up it to 1.5v and wasn't worth it to me for an extra 200 mhz. Maybe for benchmarks but not 24/7.
OC nub is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 03:50 AM   #15
Roisen

 
Roisen's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Folding in Ames, IA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
coretemp and TAT will give the same temps since they are both reading from the same place.. if the pic wasnt resized we could actaully see the temps... im on a 42in tv and cant see your temps in coretemp..
I'm on a 20 inch LCD and I can read them 67 and 66.

Your temps do not seem right. My friend had 1.53V with the Zalman 9500 and AS5 on an E6450, and he was hitting 70C.
Roisen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 12:33 PM Thread Starter   #16
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by terran2k View Post
I wonder how much electromigration occurs with so much voltage, Im hesistant to run that much in my 90nm core.
Yeah I'm torn if running it at 1.50V 24/7 is smart to do, the temps are fine but running that much voltage on it all the time is iffy.

I use speedstep and C1E though, so unless I'm gaming the voltage is lower with the lower multi.

We'll see though, if it burns out in a year I'll know not to volt that high =D

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?