Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Macbook, Boot Camp, Vista

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-08, 04:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
Anjow
Member

 
Anjow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UKbiquitous

 
Macbook, Boot Camp, Vista


I'm getting a Macbook shortly, the cheapest one with an 80GB hard disc.

I think I'm going to want to put Vista on it and I was wondering what the hard disc requirements would be for it? How large a partition would it need? Given the existing hard disc isn't massive would it be worth just using XP to cut down on space required?

I do want to be using Vista for my own reasons, so I'd like to if that's practical. Anyway, where do I stand?

__________________
A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer
Anjow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 04:12 PM   #2
benbaked
Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member

 
benbaked's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WA

 
According to Microsoft's recommended requirements page for Vista a 40 Gig HD is recommended for Vista Home Premium/Business/Ultimate with 15 gigs available; Home Basic requirements are lower. OS X Leopard needs between 10-15 gigs for a default install, so I'd say a 50/50 split partitioning scheme would be ideal for you. That way you can try out OS X and Vista and see which OS you'd prefer for full-time usage.

__________________
HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

StaTek is my hero.

R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout
benbaked is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 04:17 PM Thread Starter   #3
Anjow
Member

 
Anjow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UKbiquitous

 
Thanks for the info. Based on that I think I will just use XP. I use Vista on one of my other machines at present and whilst I like it, I don't think it's worth curtailing my HFS+ space by that amount - I'd have gone for it if you'd said 20GB was workable. I think I'd be using OS X primarily, this was just going to be for secondary usage.

__________________
A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer
Anjow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 04:36 PM   #4
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
I just got a macbook a few months ago. I wanted to try OS X before I put XP on it and I am liking it enough where I do not think I am going to put XP on it. The only thing I really miss is Roboform. I am using 1password and it works it is just no where near as easy or as nice as Roboform.

I suggest trying OS X for a week or two before you install Vista. Unless you need Vista for something that you can't do in OS X.

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-08, 04:51 PM Thread Starter   #5
Anjow
Member

 
Anjow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UKbiquitous

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendan View Post
I suggest trying OS X for a week or two before you install Vista. Unless you need Vista for something that you can't do in OS X.
One of the reasons I'm getting one is for OS X. I would not be installing Windows to replace it, only so I'd have it there if I needed it.

__________________
A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer
Anjow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-08, 03:01 AM   #6
asusradeon
Member

 
asusradeon's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1

 
Can you not run windows in a parrellel desktop ? save the need to reboot if you need windows ?

__________________
Intel C2D T6400 2.0Ghz -- Dell Studio 1555 -- 4048MB -- Windows 7 Pro
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ -- Asus V3-M2V890 -- 2GB Kingston -- Windows 7 Pro
Intel C2D T5870 2.0GHZ -- Vostro 1510 -- 2048MB -- Windows XP SP2

ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI !


asusradeon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-08, 08:32 AM   #7
Blackstar
Member

 
Blackstar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anjow View Post
Thanks for the info. Based on that I think I will just use XP. I use Vista on one of my other machines at present and whilst I like it, I don't think it's worth curtailing my HFS+ space by that amount - I'd have gone for it if you'd said 20GB was workable. I think I'd be using OS X primarily, this was just going to be for secondary usage.
You can get a 10.4 (Tiger) install to 1.9 GB (or less) when you take out all the unnecessary stuff. The pre-install when you buy it has everything included which you may not need at all.

Not sure how much you can trim 10.5 (Leopard) yet, but I would venture to guess it would be pretty close. 4-6 GB max.

If you use the install discs that come with it and do a custom install of the OS you can save a lot of room. Applications like Youpi optimizer and Macaroni can take out localized language files from all your applications as well, saving even more space, and speeding up application response times.

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id...oupi-optimizer

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/9633/macaroni

That should be more than enough room for XP or Vista if you wanted to give it a spin.

- Blackstar

__________________
-= No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always gotten there first, and is waiting for it. =-

:: You are not your system specs.
:: You are not your uptime stats, your script file, or your oversized desktop screencap.
:: You are not your broadband connection.
:: You are not your sexy avatar.
:: You are not your post count.

"This is UNSC AI Serial Number CTN0452-9. I am a monument to all your sins."
Blackstar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-08, 08:45 AM   #8
grimm003
Member

 
grimm003's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SIU

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackstar View Post
You can get a 10.4 (Tiger) install to 1.9 GB (or less) when you take out all the unnecessary stuff. The pre-install when you buy it has everything included which you may not need at all.

Not sure how much you can trim 10.5 (Leopard) yet, but I would venture to
guess it would be pretty close. 4-6 GB max.

If you use the install discs that come with it and do a custom install of the OS you can save a lot of room. Applications like Youpi optimizer and Macaroni can take out localized language files from all your applications as well, saving even more space, and speeding up application response times.

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id...oupi-optimizer

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/9633/macaroni

That should be more than enough room for XP or Vista if you wanted to give it a spin.

- Blackstar
But what about any kind of files you want? I guess you could format the windows partition as FAT and use it as storage, but I don't think the OP was looking to cramp up his OS X like that. That seems like it will take away a lot of useful features of OS X.

I just got my Macbook a week or two ago, and I put XP on a bootcamp partition, mostly just for office and some other programs for school. I gave it 20GB and it's plenty. I would check out VMware fusion and parallels, they let you boot your bootcamp partition from inside OS X. Fusion even lets you minimize the window running windows, and open up the windows applications like they were on OS X. I really like it, but you do need to wait for windows to boot before using the applications from it.

One more tip - it seems there is a bug with bootcamp; if your windows partition is formatted as FAT, then the OS selection screen when booting won't be able to see it, and you will need to select the next OS to boot into before shutting down. But the flipside is that OS X can only read/write from FAT, not HTFS. Good luck

__________________
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe
CPU E8400
RAM Mushkin DDR2-1000 2x2GB
Video Sapphire HD4870 512MB
Case Lian-Li A-7010
Res MCR320-QP
CPU Block GTZ
Video Block MCW60-R2
Pump MCP355

There are 10 kinds of people in the world.
Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
grimm003 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-08, 12:45 PM   #9
Cheator
Member

 
Cheator's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada

 
Just an FYI, I think the licensing MS has setup needs for you to use Ultimate or business in order to let the MAC run it. I don't believe this has changed since it's release.

As for space though, I'd give a good 10 gig to it, and some play room for files needed.

__________________
Optimus (Main): Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB G.Skill PC8000, ATI 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TrueControl II
Teletraan I (htpc): Asus M2N-E, X2 4400+, 2 GB DDR2, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 1.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w
Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 4200+ X2, 2GB DDR2, ATI 2900xt, Seasonic 500w
Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, Nvidia 8600m GT, 250gb hdd
Gears: Asus Eee PC 701, 1 GB DDR, Win XP

My Heatware!
"Duct tape is like The Force. It has a light side, a dark side and it holds the universe together." - Malpine Walis
Cheator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-28-08, 07:53 PM Thread Starter   #10
Anjow
Member

 
Anjow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UKbiquitous

 
I've got the Macbook and I must say I'm really happy with OS X so far. I think I will wait a while and see if I run into anything that requires me to have Windows installed before I think about installing it. 80GB isn't much when I've got around 1TB for each of my other machines, I don't think it will go very far.

__________________
A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer
Anjow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-08, 08:21 AM   #11
Blackstar
Member

 
Blackstar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimm003 View Post
But what about any kind of files you want? I guess you could format the windows partition as FAT and use it as storage, but I don't think the OP was looking to cramp up his OS X like that. That seems like it will take away a lot of useful features of OS X.
...such as? How does partitioning another part of your Hard Drive 'cramp' OS X? Especially if he removes the unnecessary OS X files I suggest, that only increases the available space he has for both. Unless you are that rare user that needs 6 GB of printer drivers and 43 different languages for every application.


- Blackstar

__________________
-= No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always gotten there first, and is waiting for it. =-

:: You are not your system specs.
:: You are not your uptime stats, your script file, or your oversized desktop screencap.
:: You are not your broadband connection.
:: You are not your sexy avatar.
:: You are not your post count.

"This is UNSC AI Serial Number CTN0452-9. I am a monument to all your sins."

Last edited by Blackstar; 02-02-08 at 12:43 AM.
Blackstar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-08, 11:47 PM   #12
Lord_Zoltan
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada, EH?

 
Before my macbook came (over a year and a half ago) i thought i would need parallels or bootcamp. Never once have i booted windows since I got it. I love osx way to much, to the point where i never want to go back to windows.

May i ask WHY you want to put vista over xp? If it is just secondary and just to get the job done you wont need anything more than xp, and you can do xp with some spare room @ 6gigs.
Lord_Zoltan is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?