• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Setting up an FTP server on OS X Leopard

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Eoffler

Registered
Hello everyone,
I am new to the whole FTP file sharing over the internet scene. I was looking for about 2 hours about a practical solution to set up an FTP server on my OS X Leopard box (Client version, not Server). I am in a dorm and it would be a practical way of sharing files without all the hassle of going around knocking on doors and such.

Rumpus FTP server is a little pricey for my taste, and I have seen on lifehacker and such that it might be possible to set up an FTP server that can be added to/downloaded from from the internet using OS X's built in tools.

Any help setting me on the right track to setting up an FTP on OS X would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Wait- you mentioned that you want to set up an FTP server, but you mentioned "Client version, not Server"? I'm a bit confused by your question.

Assuming you're looking to host an FTP server on your system, I'd recommend Vsftpd. Free, fairly easy to setup, and secure provided you disable anonymous logins. I use it on my *nix installs.

Edit: You may need to find a ported version for OSX.

For an ftp client FileZilla isn't bad despite the stupid name.

Last edited:
Hey grumperfish,

You seem to know your stuff about *nix systems, would you mind explaining how one would install your solution on OS X?

^^^
Uhh that's why I posted the ported link.

(AKA I have no idea how to make it work in OSX). :beer:

Edit: Unless your post was intended as sarcasm... then yeah my post was pretty dumb in retrospect.

Last edited:
I got it working and all, but that is a really good app for an ftp server.

as for my comment, I was referring to OS X Client Version, and OS X Server version.

^^^