• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need a new router. Wireless?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OC101

In the last a few days, I am randomly losing internet and the speed sucked when it worked. Finally I found out it was the old wired router, because everything went back to normal when I skipped the router directly connect to the modem. The router is about seven years old.

I guess I need a new router.

I am a total noob when come to wireless since I have never ever used it. I have following questions

1. Besides a wireless router, what else do I need? I guess PCI wireless adapters? Then again, I am a noob on wireless lolz.

2. I play FPS games a lot, so I need the lowest ping possible. And I download lots of stuff. Does wireless router have any problem with those?

3. will these cheap routers do the job?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122016

or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16833166018

If not, any recommendation?

Last edited:
If you already have the wires down i STRONGLY reccomend you stick to a wired router.
Its much faster and reliable.

Plus you wont have to buy wireless NIC's for each PC you plan to connnect to your network.

You will get a better ping over a wire also.

Ya If the wires are there and they dont bother you, definitely stick with wired.

If you must go wireless, the popular one seems to be the linskys WRT54GL.

As for cards? I dont know...

If you already have the wires down i STRONGLY reccomend you stick to a wired router.
Its much faster and reliable.

Plus you wont have to buy wireless NIC's for each PC you plan to connnect to your network.

You will get a better ping over a wire also.

And you won't get hacked by some kid a few houses down.