Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Ballistix RMA... Makes me wonder....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-08, 10:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
M Diddy
Member

 
M Diddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reading, PA

 
Ballistix RMA... Makes me wonder....


Long story short, I had to RMA one set of my PC6400 Ballistix due to them starting to go downhill. I purcahsed the 2 2x1GB sets from the Egg about 2 months ago and all 4 came with the "new" heatspreaders with no clamps on the top (they're simply stuck on the side of the chips).

I got my RMA'd set yesterday and the kit Crucial sent me has the "old" type heatspreaders (the one's that clamp on top of the chip). Not sure what the difference is here with the RAM but speeds are the same and they seem to be performing just fine. Any reason for me to be worried? Also, I'm wondering if anyone has any idea just what the difference is and why Crucial did the heatspreader change. Thanks!

__________________
CPU:Intel i7-4770k (De-lidded) 4.2 Ghz - 1.185 Vcore
HSF:LAPPED Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme + Shrouded Scythe S-Flex SFF21F
RAM:2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix PC12800
Mobo:Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
HD's:256GB Intel 530 SSD + 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 RAID 1
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X
Sound:Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Logitech Z-5300e 280W 5.1
Power:Corsair HX620 Modular
Case & Monitor:CoolerMaster 690 | 26" Doublesight DS-263N H-IPS and 20" Dell 2007wfp S-IPS
Heat
M Diddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-07-08, 11:06 PM   #2
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy View Post
Long story short, I had to RMA one set of my PC6400 Ballistix due to them starting to go downhill. I purcahsed the 2 2x1GB sets from the Egg about 2 months ago and all 4 came with the "new" heatspreaders with no clamps on the top (they're simply stuck on the side of the chips).

I got my RMA'd set yesterday and the kit Crucial sent me has the "old" type heatspreaders (the one's that clamp on top of the chip). Not sure what the difference is here with the RAM but speeds are the same and they seem to be performing just fine. Any reason for me to be worried? Also, I'm wondering if anyone has any idea just what the difference is and why Crucial did the heatspreader change. Thanks!
I just got my ram back tuesday. Looks identicle to the ram I had before (so probably the "old" ballistix.) I'm not anticipating any problems. I really think that the problem, in both our cases, was simply that the ram had not been properly tested. That's the only thing that explains it.

And I'm not talking about "memtest" or a quick run through superPI 1M... but the kind of tests they're supposed to do in the factory.

As far as the heatspreader... that's probably just an attempt to save money.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-07-08, 11:23 PM Thread Starter   #3
M Diddy
Member

 
M Diddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reading, PA

 
One weird thing I noticed though is that the number on the "new" spreader is 16D05 while the "old" spreaders I just got has 16D03. Not sure what that has to do with anything.

Personally, I think I'd rather have the "old" spreader as it actually feels much more solid to me.

__________________
CPU:Intel i7-4770k (De-lidded) 4.2 Ghz - 1.185 Vcore
HSF:LAPPED Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme + Shrouded Scythe S-Flex SFF21F
RAM:2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix PC12800
Mobo:Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
HD's:256GB Intel 530 SSD + 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 RAID 1
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X
Sound:Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Logitech Z-5300e 280W 5.1
Power:Corsair HX620 Modular
Case & Monitor:CoolerMaster 690 | 26" Doublesight DS-263N H-IPS and 20" Dell 2007wfp S-IPS
Heat
M Diddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 05:30 AM   #4
Reefa_Madness
DRAM Guru Senior

 
Reefa_Madness's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Johns, FL

10 Year Badge
 
According to some of the posts and reviews that I've seen, the new style heatspreaders are "glued" to the chips (obvious, right?), so the TIM used with these "clipless" must also have adhesive qualities. I have seen comments made that this new style seems to make better contact along the entire PCB, as opposed to the old "clip" style where there were cases of the heatsink not touching the chips in some places.

Since the old style spreaders were held in place by the clips, and not glued, one could conclude then that if nothing else, a change in the actual TIM used came along with the new style heat spreaders. Whether this was done as an improvement to the thermals of the product, or as a cost savings is open to debate.

What I would like to note is that in another current thread by one of our members, Eldonko, Mushkin appears to have returned to the use of clips in their latest Redline product.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=545514

Any significance to this?

It will be interesting to see if Mushkin returns to this approach across their entire product line and whether or not Crucial also returns to using clips.

I personally like the use of clips because I simply don't like my spreaders glued on.

__________________
In memory of Gracie, my sweet, sweet wife and mother of my children. Darling, we will miss you dearly. May you rest in peace (born to this world on March 30, 1976; went to her Heavenly Father on Good Friday, April 22, 2011).

http://animoto.com/play/E0wFhd6tN0nA...ent=challenger


Heat
Reefa_Madness is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 07:05 AM   #5
th3
Member

 
th3's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007

 
Old type BallistiX HS was also glued, and strong glue i might add.

First hand experience:
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=525915
th3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 07:17 AM   #6
Reefa_Madness
DRAM Guru Senior

 
Reefa_Madness's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Johns, FL

10 Year Badge
 
While I realize that the old style stuff was sticky...the spreaders could be removed, if done carefully. Many spreaders have been pulled off Ballistix and your own linked pics show that some of the ICs did not get pulled off, indicating that there wasn't a bond between them and the TIM.

I'm not quite convinced that the old stuff was an "adhesive", as much as just very sticky, once it had been subjected to heat.

Then again, I may be wrong on this and am only expressing an opinion, as I've not compared the two.

__________________
In memory of Gracie, my sweet, sweet wife and mother of my children. Darling, we will miss you dearly. May you rest in peace (born to this world on March 30, 1976; went to her Heavenly Father on Good Friday, April 22, 2011).

http://animoto.com/play/E0wFhd6tN0nA...ent=challenger


Heat
Reefa_Madness is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 08:57 AM   #7
Yellowbeard XMS
Official Corsair Tech Support

 
Yellowbeard XMS's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004

 
IMO, adhesive is superior. In general, and not just from Crucial, the sinks pulling away from the ICs is bad.
Yellowbeard XMS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 10:55 AM   #8
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard XMS View Post
IMO, adhesive is superior. In general, and not just from Crucial, the sinks pulling away from the ICs is bad.
Could've been what killed the ram of the op and myself. I did note that the stick that died had one hot portion in the middle. Could be the heat spreader wasn't making contact.

Again: I blame Crucial's quality control.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 12:06 PM   #9
Eldonko
Revolutionary Mule

 
Eldonko's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta

 
I like the clips myself, just seems like it would hold better than adhesive alone.

__________________
Motherboard Reviewer at Hardware Canucks
Team OCX Bench Team
Always lurking the motherboard section
Eldonko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 12:50 PM   #10
Yellowbeard XMS
Official Corsair Tech Support

 
Yellowbeard XMS's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I like the clips myself, just seems like it would hold better than adhesive alone.
Depending on the spreader design and quality (ie-how straight or true the spreader is, etc) you may be right. My point was that I would greatly prefer an adhesive over TIM tape.
Yellowbeard XMS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 08:38 PM   #11
UnrealAlex
Member



Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California

 
How long did the RMA process take for you guys? Looks like I'm going to have to RMA mine. Gonna run some more tests but everything points to memory crapping out (BSODs, memtest errors, windows problems)

__________________
#1: C2D e6750@3.4, 1.41v with Ultima-90; GA-P35-DS3R; Crucial Ballistix 2GB; eVGA 8800GT 711/1750/975; Corsair HX520; X-Fi XtremeGamer; CM 690.

#2: i5 2500k, Hyper212+, GA-Z68XP-UD3P, 8GB Corsair Vengeance, Corsair TX750M PSU, Gigabyte 6950 1Gb.
UnrealAlex is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 08:43 PM   #12
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnrealAlex View Post
How long did the RMA process take for you guys? Looks like I'm going to have to RMA mine. Gonna run some more tests but everything points to memory crapping out (BSODs, memtest errors, windows problems)
Another winner! The RMA was actually pretty fast. I sent it on a Friday, got confirmation it was received that Tuesday, got it back the following tuesday.

The guy on the phone said it would be 10 days and it was about that.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 09:12 PM Thread Starter   #13
M Diddy
Member

 
M Diddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reading, PA

 
I actually paid for the Cross-ship option and got mine in 5 days.

__________________
CPU:Intel i7-4770k (De-lidded) 4.2 Ghz - 1.185 Vcore
HSF:LAPPED Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme + Shrouded Scythe S-Flex SFF21F
RAM:2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix PC12800
Mobo:Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
HD's:256GB Intel 530 SSD + 2 x 1TB Seagate 7200.12 RAID 1
GPU:Sapphire R9 280X
Sound:Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Logitech Z-5300e 280W 5.1
Power:Corsair HX620 Modular
Case & Monitor:CoolerMaster 690 | 26" Doublesight DS-263N H-IPS and 20" Dell 2007wfp S-IPS
Heat
M Diddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-08-08, 10:23 PM   #14
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy View Post
I actually paid for the Cross-ship option and got mine in 5 days.
Yeah. It wasn't really worth it they sent it so fast. I had forgotten I had RAM coming in the mail and next thing you know there's a UPS sticker on my door.

They wanted me to pay the full price of the ram ($99) to do a cross-ship. THAT... is a horrible policy.

Maxtor, EVGA, anybody else would either have you pay $3-12 to cross ship or they would ship it for free. It's kind of absurd to be expected to pay the full price for a product. I can understand them asking for a credit card number, then if you don't send the product they charge you the full price. But to charge you before you even HAVE the damned product?

That's the worst cross-shipment policy I've seen in the industry.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-09-08, 09:41 AM   #15
Pntgrd

 
Pntgrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I had a set of my Tracers go bad also. Like most bad ones they were purchased last August. The RMA process took less than 10 days and I did not do the cross-ship. I figured I could make do with 2 gig for a while. I had the old spreaders and the replacements have the new style. Only thing I have found different is I have had to bump my MCH voltage up one notch to get it stable again. Woke up yesterday Am to the POST screen and a reboot got a BSOD. This AM I bumped the voltage and ran the Vista Memory program and then 5 passes of Memtest and all seems back to normal. I run my 4 sticks @ 2.1. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

[edit]
I posted too soon. I kept having little glitches on and off. Thought it might be an Nvidia beta driver so played with those some. Tonight I started getting BSOD again first saying a problem with "winFsf.sys". The next BSOD said something about memory management. I ran Vista's diagnostic again and it errored almost immediately. Took out the 2 new sticks and no errors. Put the new sticks in the slots the old ones were in and BAM. I stopped the counter at about 80,000 errors and it was still climbing. Back to 2 gig and solid as a rock. So much for Crucials QC.

__________________
Motherboard ------- Asus Rampage Extreme
CPU ---------------- QX9650
Memory -------------Crucial Ballistix
Harddrives --------- 300g Velociraptor, WD6400AAKSx2 Matrix Raid, 74g Raptor, 7200.10 500g
Graphics Card ----- Sapphire HD4870 CF
Soundcard ----------X-Fi Platinum
Case --------------- HSPC Top-Deck
PowerSupply ------- Corsair TX750
Cooling -------------Watercooled

Last edited by Pntgrd; 02-11-08 at 09:43 PM. Reason: UPDATE
Pntgrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?