Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

OCing a 780i

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread

Old 02-11-08, 11:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
murdok5

OCing a 780i

so finally bought a new comp, and will be assembling this week. Old PC is a IC7-G with a P4 extreme (yeah the 478pin one!)

Anyways, OCing on that board was very easy. everything was in teh bios, only thing to OC with software was teh Vid card. Is everythign still like that?

Basically I see these software programs that comp with the mobo, i see nTune, etc and im wondering if they just let you do the same as setting things in bios. I hate having extra "one-time" apps installed on my machine.

Also, im new to nVidia chipsets, so OCing this will be different from an intel chipset by alot im guessing.

If there are softwares that "add" functionality what are they? Ill have an EVGA 780i and a 8800GTS G92.

thanks

Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 02-12-08, 05:11 AM   #2
maxfly

if your a ocer you shouldnt have any problems with the 780i.it may take a few days to get used to the extra settings but once you do youll be off and running.your anticipation is correct.the options are of a much wider range than your old rig(easily tweaked memory timings,voltage options etc).