Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

PSU decision

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-08, 12:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
c64
Registered

 
c64's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 19446

 
PSU decision


I'm trying to decide between 3 PSU's.I've already figured out what size I'll need, but I'm having a hard time deciding.These are the 3.

Corsair TX750W

Thermaltake Toughpower 850

PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad

Thanks for any help

Last edited by c64; 02-11-08 at 02:36 PM.
c64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 01:07 PM   #2
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
All three are good units. Pick the cheapest one. Based on regulation at full capacity, I'd rate them as:-

TT 850
PCP 750Q
Ultra X3

But, here I'm splitting hairs. All three are good quality units.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Words of wisdom from krag:
"Love & trust are 2 completely different things. Trust is earned, love on the other hand should be given without measure."
My hwbot profile
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 01:16 PM   #3
IKIKUINTHENUTZ
Member

 
IKIKUINTHENUTZ's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
often times you can get the PCP 750w for only $160 shipped on sale on various websites, imo from that list you provided i think it's the best Value/Quality ratio

__________________
Heatware
IKIKUINTHENUTZ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 01:32 PM Thread Starter   #4
c64
Registered

 
c64's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 19446

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IKIKUINTHENUTZ View Post
often times you can get the PCP 750w for only $160 shipped on sale on various websites, imo from that list you provided i think it's the best Value/Quality ratio

PCP was the one I was leaning towards because of quality.

I know 750 or 850 might be overkill. what could I run this setup with some head room?

My rig
ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Zalman CNPS9700
Radeon HD 3870
mushkin 2GB (996533)
2 74gb raptors
4 sataII HDD
coolermaster cosmos 1000
X-Fi Xtreme Audio
c64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 01:49 PM   #5
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
For that rig, in theory, you can get by with a good 550W-600W PSU like the Corsair VX550, HX620, Silencer 600W, Evostream 600W, Toughpower 750W etc. The simultaneous spin-up draw of those HDD's have to be accounted for in all your calculations (say a worst case of 2A on the 12V and 1A on the 5V).

http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/.../hddpower.html

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Words of wisdom from krag:
"Love & trust are 2 completely different things. Trust is earned, love on the other hand should be given without measure."
My hwbot profile
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 02:16 PM Thread Starter   #6
c64
Registered

 
c64's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 19446

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade View Post
For that rig, in theory, you can get by with a good 550W-600W PSU like the Corsair VX550, HX620, Silencer 600W, Evostream 600W, Toughpower 750W etc. The simultaneous spin-up draw of those HDD's have to be accounted for in all your calculations (say a worst case of 2A on the 12V and 1A on the 5V).

http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/.../hddpower.html
I've been using OCZ 620 for almost 2 years,do you think I can get by with this?
c64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 03:13 PM   #7
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Yes, but your ability to overclock may be hampered a bit. The OCZ unit does not like to be cross-loaded. Try it before you spend any money on something else.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Words of wisdom from krag:
"Love & trust are 2 completely different things. Trust is earned, love on the other hand should be given without measure."
My hwbot profile
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 03:35 PM Thread Starter   #8
c64
Registered

 
c64's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 19446

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade View Post
Yes, but your ability to overclock may be hampered a bit. The OCZ unit does not like to be cross-loaded. Try it before you spend any money on something else.
Thanks for the info.core2duo 6600 has been OC for a year now with no changes and stable.

Core Speed 3411.7 MHz
core voltage 1.560v
temp 29c
c64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?