Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

5Mb/s STR!!!! HELP!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-08, 04:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
5Mb/s STR!!!! HELP!!!


I think this tells the story really:



Iv tried changing the data cable, power cable and socket to no avail.
Im running the latest chipset drivers.
Iv done a few windows on boot check disks and they take absolutely ages. like one took 5 hours to get to 86% which is when i lost patience and restarted to post this.
EDIT: - BTW this hdds running in my "secondary" rig...specs are in me sig.
Please help.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

Last edited by Sam__; 02-11-08 at 04:41 PM.
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 04:40 PM   #2
SpoilerFX
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2008

 
Wow. What machine are you running that on? Speeds look like you are running via USB 1.1.

CPU utilization looks pretty bad too. Can you give a bit more detail regarding your setup?

**Woops, just read the second part of your post. How many hard drives do you have running on that machine? Can you try moving that drive to your gaming rig and see what you get?

Last edited by SpoilerFX; 02-11-08 at 04:42 PM. Reason: Added another line.
SpoilerFX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 04:42 PM Thread Starter   #3
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoilerFX View Post
Wow. What machine are you running that on? Speeds look like you are running via USB 1.1.

CPU utilization looks pretty bad too. Can you give a bit more detail regarding your setup?
edited in that its running in my secondary rig of which specs are in me sig.

its running on SATA and i was doing nothing while benching it so all that cpu is the HDDs doing.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 04:43 PM   #4
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
Sounds to me like the drive is in PIO mode. Check the Primary IDE controller in the Device manager. It will most likely say it is running in PIO mode. If so, uninstall it and restart the computer. Also, check for Disk errors in the Event Viewer.

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 04:46 PM Thread Starter   #5
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bchur83 View Post
Sounds to me like the drive is in PIO mode. Check the Primary IDE controller in the Device manager. It will most likely say it is running in PIO mode. If so, uninstall it and restart the computer. Also, check for Disk errors in the Event Viewer.
all are set to DMA if available but one says its running in PIO....how do i make it run in DMA? could i just disable PIO on it in the BIOS?

Ill try uninstalling driver.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 04:59 PM Thread Starter   #6
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Problem solved in under half an hour - I love this forum, its saved me so many times...thanks a lot guys.

just uninstalled the drivers let it sort itself out n restarted a few times n its done

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 05:00 PM   #7
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah, just uninstall, then reboot, and it should switch to DMA. If it doesnt, try to disable PIO in the bios. If that still fails, the drive could be going bad. Usually they will only revert to PIO if it is getting read/write errors. Does your event log show any disk errors?

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 05:04 PM Thread Starter   #8
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bchur83 View Post
Yeah, just uninstall, then reboot, and it should switch to DMA. If it doesnt, try to disable PIO in the bios. If that still fails, the drive could be going bad. Usually they will only revert to PIO if it is getting read/write errors. Does your event log show any disk errors?
there are quite a few disk errors in the event log. I think they came while it was running in PIO mode....

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 05:13 PM   #9
dekruyter
Registered



Join Date: May 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam__ View Post
there are quite a few disk errors in the event log. I think they came while it was running in PIO mode....
Reformat (low level), and reinstall windows
dekruyter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 05:39 PM Thread Starter   #10
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dekruyter View Post
Reformat (low level), and reinstall windows
dammit....luckily windows isnt on this drive....but now i need to find sumwhere to backup all the 200Gbs worth of stuff on it lol...that should be fun.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-11-08, 05:53 PM   #11
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
If you continue to get Disk errors after changing to DMA, the drive is on its way out. backup the data and RMA it (if still in warranty).

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-08, 03:40 AM Thread Starter   #12
Sam__
Member

 
Sam__'s Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bchur83 View Post
If you continue to get Disk errors after changing to DMA, the drive is on its way out. backup the data and RMA it (if still in warranty).
ok...Ill watch out for them.

__________________
"Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
- Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943
Sam__ is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?