• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can't Seem to OC my Q6600

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hajimesaito

Registered
Hi guys!

Im new to overclocking and kind of ran into a bind, experimented for the past week now, and nothing seems to work properly or right.

I've read the Newbie Guid on how to overclock Quad Q6600 Sticky, but cant seem to get it right.

I followed the newbie sticky on OC Q6600 to the dot, but still can't seem to get it to overclock. Since im using a Gigabyte motherboard compared to the ASUS Bios of the sticky, some settings were different. But i still read the manual and followed it through exactly.

BIOS Settings Summary:

CPU Enhanced Halt(C1E) : Disabled(changed from Enabled)
CPU EIST Function : Disabled(changed from Enabled)
Virtualization Technology : Disabled(changed from Enabled)

CPU Clock Ratio : 9x(default)
CPU Frequency : 3.0Ghz (9x333)
CPU Host Clock Control : Enabled(changed from disabled)
CPU Host Frequency(Mhz) : 333(entered in the FSB i wanted)
PCI Express Frequency(Mhz) : 100(changed from auto)
C.I.A. 2 : Disabled(default)
System Memory Multiplier(SPD) : 2.00A(changed from auto)
Memory Frequency(Mhz) : 1066 / 667(greyed out so can't change this)
DRAM Timing Selectable(SPD) : Manual(changed from Auto)

Timings:

CAS Latency Time : 5(changed from Auto)
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5(changed from Auto)
DRAM RAS# Precharge : 5(changed from Auto)
Precharge delay(tRAS) : 15(changed from Auto)

Sub-Timings:

Did not touch/change anything in here!

Clock Diving & Skew Control:

CPU/PCIEX Clock Driving Control: 800mV(default)
CPU Clock Skew Control: Normal(default)
(G)MCH Clock Skew Control: Normal(default)

System Voltage:

System Voltage Control: Manual(default)
DDR2 OverVoltage Control: Normal(default)
PCI-E OverVoltage Control: Normal(default)