Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

New Card: Asus EN8800GT 1GB

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-08, 01:27 PM Thread Starter   #1
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Asus EN8800GT 1GB I got duped!!!


Just grabbed it;

http://www.tbreak.com/reviews/article.php?id=578

Is a good deal? Paid $300

Last edited by Saihossoku; 02-14-08 at 04:43 PM.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 01:33 PM   #2
Kunaak
Member

 
Kunaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Juneau Alaska

 
its a standard price.
these have been on and off newegg for about a month now. always around $300.
a few times I almost bought one, but never could convince myself to.
I already have a GTX, but been itching to playing with something different.

in a great deal of games you will find that 1 gig of memory doesnt help all that much, except in games where you have very high resolutions and high AA/AF.
so a card like this, is really best suited to high end monitors.

but at the same time, a card with high amounts of memory is usually easier to resell later, so I tend to like them just for that reason alone.

__________________
when you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear.
Kunaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 03:37 PM   #3
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
not dissing your purchased, but i doubt there will be much of a performance increase with this card of the 512mb version.

__________________
ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 04:43 PM Thread Starter   #4
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Yeah, I think I got duped. I'm going to exchange this tomorrow. What is the best card I should get for that price? I can add an extra $80 or so. It must be better than the card listed in my sig. Thanks.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 04:51 PM   #5
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
8800gts 512mb, for the same price you could get that, add another $80 and you could get yourself a 3870x2

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 04:56 PM Thread Starter   #6
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drinkyoghurt View Post
8800gts 512mb, for the same price you could get that, add another $80 and you could get yourself a 3870x2
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...03&modelmenu=2

That one?? I need something that would be a nice jump from the one in my sig.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 05:22 PM   #7
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
yes that one, but your cpu will still be a very big bottleneck for even the 8800GT 512mb, let alone the 8800GTS 512mb.

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 05:30 PM Thread Starter   #8
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drinkyoghurt View Post
yes that one, but your cpu will still be a very big bottleneck for even the 8800GT 512mb, let alone the 8800GTS 512mb.
Please explain? Also, I noticed that it's not DX10.1 compatible!?!?!?

Well the website says it is, however all the reviews I saw said it wasn't?? Odd.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 05:32 PM   #9
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saihossoku View Post
Please explain? Also, I noticed that it's not DX10.1 compatible!?!?!?
It's DX10.1 compadible and not even going to touch that AMD CPU bottleneck question =D

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 07:18 PM   #10
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
ya save your money... theres no use in gettin a bomb ass gfx card if your cpu even an x2 clocked at 3.31ghz is gonna bottleneck it.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 07:30 PM Thread Starter   #11
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
ya save your money... theres no use in gettin a bomb ass gfx card if your cpu even an x2 clocked at 3.31ghz is gonna bottleneck it.
You know it's really funny, I've been running the 8800GTS 640MB for a year now and have NEVER seen a "bottleneck" problem, yeah sure some games are CPU intensive, but A LOT of games are GPU intensive like F.E.A.R.. I'm getting the best CPU there is when AMD makes one! lol But I want to get a card that's better than mine that I have now, to hold me over until 8900's come out.

Also, I have already grabbed the 8800GT 1GB, so the $$ is spent, just gonna exchange, hence the questioning. :P Anyhoo, here's the website http://www.filtechcomputer.com/, this is where I buy my parts, on their GPU page what would be the best purchase? Need to know ASAP. Thanks.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 09:07 PM Thread Starter   #12
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
~BUMP~ Sorry to be annoying, but I need an answer by tomorrow morning.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 09:11 PM   #13
Gregz
Member

 
Gregz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dawsonville, GA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saihossoku View Post
You know it's really funny, I've been running the 8800GTS 640MB for a year now and have NEVER seen a "bottleneck" problem, yeah sure some games are CPU intensive, but A LOT of games are GPU intensive like F.E.A.R.. I'm getting the best CPU there is when AMD makes one! lol But I want to get a card that's better than mine that I have now, to hold me over until 8900's come out.

Also, I have already grabbed the 8800GT 1GB, so the $$ is spent, just gonna exchange, hence the questioning. :P Anyhoo, here's the website http://www.filtechcomputer.com/, this is where I buy my parts, on their GPU page what would be the best purchase? Need to know ASAP. Thanks.
If you're running games on the monitor in your sig (1920 x 1080) you might want to rethink exchanging that card...unless it's for a 3870x2.

Many of the 'fps charts' are based on standard resolutions. When you get up to higher resolutions like 1920X1080, especially when using AA, then factors like more memory and multi-GPU (or SLI/crossfire) become significant.

I'd suggest doing your homework. Or, if he has time and you want to cut straight to it, send ViperJohn a PM and refer him to this thread. He'll be able to answer this question easily off the top of his head...including that dubious 'CPU bottleneck' supposition up there.

Last edited by Gregz; 02-14-08 at 09:23 PM.
Gregz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 09:24 PM Thread Starter   #14
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregz View Post
If you're running games on the monitor in your sig (1920 x 1080) you might want to rethink exchanging that card...unless it's for a 3870x2.

Many of the 'fps' reviews and GPU charts are based on standard resolutions. When you get up to higher resolutions like 1920X1080, especially when using AA, then factors like more memory and multi-GPU (or SLI/crossfire) become significant.

I'd suggest doing your homework. Or, if he has time and you want to cut straight to it, send ViperJohn a PM and refer him to this thread. He'll be able to answer this question easily off the top of his head...including that dubious 'CPU bottleneck' supposition up there.
Thanks for the response, I'll do that. So even though the clock speed stock is 600MHz with the GT I grabbed today and the clock on the GTS is 650MHz or 7something if I got the XFX XXX version they have, it's better to keep the 1GB one I bought? Thanks again.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 09:35 PM   #15
Gregz
Member

 
Gregz's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dawsonville, GA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saihossoku View Post
Thanks for the response, I'll do that. So even though the clock speed stock is 600MHz with the GT I grabbed today and the clock on the GTS is 650MHz or 7something if I got the XFX XXX version they have, it's better to keep the 1GB one I bought? Thanks again.
I don't know, but your situation is complicated because you're running at a high resolution. It's hard to find accurate benchmarks and reviews at high rez because those resolutions aren't quite mainstream yet.

So, if I were you I'd:

1) PM Viperjohn and ask him if he could read and respond to this thread.
2) google around for reviews and comparisons of your card vs. other cards at high rez (1920X1200 or 1920X1080).
3) run the benchmarks yourself with the card you have, and then try to find high rez benches of the card you plan to buy (running the same app at the same rez I.e. F.E.A.R. etc.) To do this, open the console in the game and enter the 'show fps' command for that game, I don't know what it is you'll have to google that. Some games have benchmark programs built in, which would be more accurate. I don't know which games have them and which don't, I believe crysis has one.

Last edited by Gregz; 02-14-08 at 09:45 PM.
Gregz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-14-08, 10:26 PM Thread Starter   #16
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregz View Post
I don't know, but your situation is complicated because you're running at a high resolution. It's hard to find accurate benchmarks and reviews at high rez because those resolutions aren't quite mainstream yet.

So, if I were you I'd:

1) PM Viperjohn and ask him if he could read and respond to this thread.
2) google around for reviews and comparisons of your card vs. other cards at high rez (1920X1200 or 1920X1080).
3) run the benchmarks yourself with the card you have, and then try to find high rez benches of the card you plan to buy (running the same app at the same rez I.e. F.E.A.R. etc.) To do this, open the console in the game and enter the 'show fps' command for that game, I don't know what it is you'll have to google that. Some games have benchmark programs built in, which would be more accurate. I don't know which games have them and which don't, I believe crysis has one.
1.) Done
2.) Done, you're right about the higher Resolutions, I do run my games MINIMUM 1140 x 900, but almost always run them at 1920 x 1080.
3.) Don't want to remove it from the package. Either way, I'm keeping this one, or buying the GTS version, I'd grab the ATi, but I can only through another 80 bucks at this. Anyone else care to give an opinion? The more the merrier please.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-08, 09:33 AM   #17
Jas
Member

 
Jas's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kenosha, WI.

 
Higher Res, More RAM is better in general. I could be wrong but I belive that the 8800GT doesn't receive much benefit as much form the 1 gb of RAM.

If you can afford it, I would go with the 3870x2. It's the top card out there right now. Then look at upgrading your CPU.

__________________
My Rig: <-- LINKY
TT Armor Case ::: E6400-L2 Conroe Currently @ 3.6Ghz ::: MSI P6N SLI ::: 2 X 2gb G.Skill PI Black DDR2 6400
EVGA 8800GT @761/1950/1003 1.1v ::: OCZ GameXStream 700 watt PSU
Cooling: Swiftech Apogee GT (CPU) and Danger Den Maze 4 (GPU), MCW30 (NB), D4 (Pump), Dual Rads (BIX, '77 Bonny Core)
Vista Home Premium 64Bit
Oni is a bot!
Jas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-08, 09:35 AM   #18
PhysX
Member

 
PhysX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary

 
eithger way you will be limited by the cpu.

__________________
ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200
PhysX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-08, 09:39 AM   #19
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
Not at 1920x1080... as the resolution becomes higher games become more GPU itensive.

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-08, 11:56 AM Thread Starter   #20
Saihossoku
Member

 
Saihossoku's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: My Northbridge, Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesXP View Post
Not at 1920x1080... as the resolution becomes higher games become more GPU itensive.
Exactly! Finally someone said that. lol I ended up getting the Radeon 3870x2 1GB http://www.insidehw.com/Reviews/Grap...70X2-1-GB.html For $340CAD, so basicly I exchanged the GT 1GB ($300), paid the $40 difference and got that one. Is that good? lol I hope so. It benches higher than 2 GTX's SLi'd so it had better be a good pickup. Also, did I overpay?

The stock CPU speed of mine is actually 900MHz, different than the one in the link.
Saihossoku is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?