Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Well this isnt a suprise

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-08, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
tunnel
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle

 
Well this isnt a suprise


I bought a new PSU Corsair HX620W to power my new 8800GTX. But now i want another 8800GTX but don't want to buy another new PSU.

Do you think a Corsair HX620W would handle 2 x 8800GTX in Sli?

__________________
Gaming Rig
| E6600 @ 3.21Ghz | eVGA 680i-SLi | 2 ASUS 8800GTX SLi | 2 x WD 250GB RAID 0 | 4GB Corsair - TWINXMS 800Mhz |

Media Server
| D-Link DNS 323 | 2 x WD 1TB RAID 1 |
tunnel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 12:17 PM   #2
Dawgdoc
Member

 
Dawgdoc's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
I LOVE Corsair PSUs. I have and love the HX620.

But that being said, no it wont

Firstly, it only has 2 X 6pin PCIe cables. You need 2 per card. Yes you can get a molex to PCIe adaptor, but the simple fact that you are only given 2 as the max option from Corsair tells me something

Also, it depends on how much you are going to OC your CPU, what CPU you currently have, how much you are going to OC your GPUs, and how many extras you have added into the system (how many hard drives, fans, etc...). If you have 1 HD its a maybe (?) but if you are running a 4 drive RAID or something its a definite no go.

Try using the Corsair PSU estimating guide HERE

When I ran the configurator with C2Q, 2 X 8800 GTX, OC cpu, OC gpu, and 2 hard drives it said 750W corsair PSU FWIW....

Good luck!

__________________
Ross: "Never miss an opportunity to beat on someone else's hardware using their LN2"
Dawgdoc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 12:36 PM Thread Starter   #3
tunnel
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle

 
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU OC'ed to 3.2Ghz
Not going to OC GPU
3 x Fans
1 Serial ATA HDD
1 PATA HDD

Hard Drives are not in RAID configuration.

So you reckon mine would run it?

__________________
Gaming Rig
| E6600 @ 3.21Ghz | eVGA 680i-SLi | 2 ASUS 8800GTX SLi | 2 x WD 250GB RAID 0 | 4GB Corsair - TWINXMS 800Mhz |

Media Server
| D-Link DNS 323 | 2 x WD 1TB RAID 1 |
tunnel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 12:41 PM   #4
Dawgdoc
Member

 
Dawgdoc's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunnel View Post
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU OC'ed to 3.2Ghz
Not going to OC GPU
3 x Fans
1 Serial ATA HDD
1 PATA HDD

Hard Drives are not in RAID configuration.

So you reckon mine would run it?
Nope.

Check the configurator but I really dont think so.

I think that the 2 X 8800 GTXs alone will overwhelm that PSU as much as I love it....

Just my opinion though.

__________________
Ross: "Never miss an opportunity to beat on someone else's hardware using their LN2"
Dawgdoc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 03:44 PM   #5
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
It'll work just fine. Even a 520 would be enough. People have a tendency to suggest way bigger PSUs than are needed. Go to extreme.outervision.com and use the power supply calculator. Plug in your system info, and it'll tell you the power you need. IIRC, a quad core with 2 GTX's and a bunch of drives and fans draws something like 386 watts 100% loaded.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 06:37 PM   #6
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
SELL GTX BUY GT OR GTS

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 06:39 PM   #7
rpwinters
Member

 
rpwinters's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hanover, Md.

 
Your best bet is to check over in the "Case and Power Supply" section. There are smoe very knowledgeable people there (Oklahomawolf and Johnnyguru)

__________________
#1: X2 6400+ BE, Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3, 4 GB Corsair TWINX-6400C5, Ultima-90 W/ 92mm Panaflo M-1A, XfX 8800 GTS 512, HT Omega Striker 7.1, Corsair 620HX, CM-690, Dell 2209WA

#2: XP-M 2400 45W (12X200 @ 1.85V), Shuttle AN35N-Ultra, 2 Gb PQI Turbo, SI-97A W/ 92mm Delta Tri-Blade LS, XfX 6800GT AGP, Creative Audigy2 Value, Fortron 530W, Antec Super Lanboy,Samsung 226BW

HEAT
rpwinters is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 07:45 PM   #8
billb
Member

 
billb's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
From: http://www.jonnyguru.com//forums/showthread.php?t=3137

8800 GTS 640MB x 2 SLI bridge on build 2
Total: 656W DC.
Total +12V2: 13.7A
Total +12V1: 33.4A


8800 GTX 768MB x 2 SLI bridge on build 1
Total: 527W DC.
Total +12V2: 7.2A
Total +12V1: 30.2A


8800 GTX 768MB x 2 SLI bridge on build 2
Total: 715W DC.
Total +12V2: 14.3A
Total +12V1: 41.1A

__________________
AMD FX6300, ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0, Samsung 840 Pro, Seagate 1 TB, Asus GTS450, Samsung N915 (two), PCP&C 1kw
billb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-08, 07:47 PM   #9
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
It'll work just fine. Even a 520 would be enough. People have a tendency to suggest way bigger PSUs than are needed. Go to extreme.outervision.com and use the power supply calculator. Plug in your system info, and it'll tell you the power you need. IIRC, a quad core with 2 GTX's and a bunch of drives and fans draws something like 386 watts 100% loaded.
That's assuming no efficiency loss which is guarenteed on any PSU and it doesn't give you much overhead.

Better to be safe than sorry.

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-08, 04:45 PM   #10
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Build 1 is an Intel quad. Build 2 is a pair of FX-72's and doesn't apply to his situation. 527 watts. The HX620 would have around 100 watts headroom (at LEAST) in that system. It'll be fine.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-08, 10:42 PM   #11
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
I run 2 x 3870X2's with my HX620 with 7 x 120 mm fans, 3 HDD, waterpump etc without any problems

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-08, 03:45 PM Thread Starter   #12
tunnel
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
I run 2 x 3870X2's with my HX620 with 7 x 120 mm fans, 3 HDD, waterpump etc without any problems
I hope your right bud. My second 8800GTX comes tomorrow.

__________________
Gaming Rig
| E6600 @ 3.21Ghz | eVGA 680i-SLi | 2 ASUS 8800GTX SLi | 2 x WD 250GB RAID 0 | 4GB Corsair - TWINXMS 800Mhz |

Media Server
| D-Link DNS 323 | 2 x WD 1TB RAID 1 |
tunnel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-08, 04:21 PM   #13
Dawgdoc
Member

 
Dawgdoc's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunnel View Post
I hope your right bud. My second 8800GTX comes tomorrow.
Im sure he is right since this isnt speculative information and its a rig that he is currently running.

Plus he sent me some 3M TIM tape, so in my mind he cant ever be wrong now!


__________________
Ross: "Never miss an opportunity to beat on someone else's hardware using their LN2"
Dawgdoc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-08, 04:31 PM   #14
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgdoc View Post
Im sure he is right since this isnt speculative information and its a rig that he is currently running.

Plus he sent me some 3M TIM tape, so in my mind he cant ever be wrong now!

Thanks for the vote of confidence man

Quote:
Originally Posted by tunnel View Post
I hope your right bud. My second 8800GTX comes tomorrow.
Unless you get a GTX for $250 or less...why on earth would you buy another with the GTS/GT 512 out there?

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-08, 05:58 PM   #15
Dawgdoc
Member

 
Dawgdoc's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
Unless you get a GTX for $250 or less...why on earth would you buy another with the GTS/GT 512 out there?
I couldnt agree more but hey.....dif strokes for dif folks.

I guess he allready had the 1st GTX and really really really wanted to get an SLI setup. Although I personally would have sold the first GTX since they are still holding value SOMEWHAT acceptably, and then bought 2X GTS 512s or wait for the new 9800 GTX which should be released pretty soon too.

__________________
Ross: "Never miss an opportunity to beat on someone else's hardware using their LN2"
Dawgdoc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-08, 03:03 AM Thread Starter   #16
tunnel
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brolloks View Post
Thanks for the vote of confidence man



Unless you get a GTX for $250 or less...why on earth would you buy another with the GTS/GT 512 out there?
2 x 8800GTX in SLi Vs 2 x 8800GTS in SLi.

Hmmm i think i know which one id rather have if i could afford both options.

__________________
Gaming Rig
| E6600 @ 3.21Ghz | eVGA 680i-SLi | 2 ASUS 8800GTX SLi | 2 x WD 250GB RAID 0 | 4GB Corsair - TWINXMS 800Mhz |

Media Server
| D-Link DNS 323 | 2 x WD 1TB RAID 1 |
tunnel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-08, 07:39 AM   #17
ChinStrap

 
ChinStrap's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunnel View Post
2 x 8800GTX in SLi Vs 2 x 8800GTS in SLi.

Hmmm i think i know which one id rather have if i could afford both options.
IMO

8800GTX SLi > 8800GTS SLI (640mb)
8800GTS SLI (512mb) > 8800GTX SLI

the only reason i say this, is overclocking potential. *most* GTX SLi maxes out on the core side around 650MHz on air. while the g92 chips can run a much faster core frequency on AIR cooling. my g92 GTS SLi can run 24/7 @ 800core/1150mem. and i can bench it all the way up to 826MHz core - NO GTX can run 800 core w/o a vmod.

__________________
Working on a re-build.

** A few of us Benchmark. You Should join us **
ChinStrap is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-08, 07:52 AM   #18
TheCheat
Member

 
TheCheat's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Marquette, MI

 
Okay, just a quick question to the OP:

What monitor are you running this SLI setup on?

__________________
Corsair 600T - i5 2500 - Asus Maximus V Gene - 8GB Ram - EVGA 560 Ti 448cores - 240GB Mushkin SSD - 1 TB WD HD - Seasonic X750 GOLD - Blu-ray - Dell 2407FPW + Dell U2412M
Dell XPS 16 - i7 720 - 8GB Ram - AMD 5730 1GB - WD 500GB HD - Blu-ray
TheCheat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-08, 09:25 AM   #19
aaronjb
Member



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lobsterland

 
A 620W Corsair can handle that setup (and a bit more) without a problem.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...=Story&reid=21

High-wattage PSU's have very little practical application.

__________________
Not very active these days. PMs are the best way to reach me.

heatware

aaronjb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-08, 09:49 AM Thread Starter   #20
tunnel
Member



Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Newcastle

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCheat View Post
Okay, just a quick question to the OP:

What monitor are you running this SLI setup on?

Depends really. When i can be bothered i will run it on me 28 inch HDTV.

If not that then on my 19 inch.

__________________
Gaming Rig
| E6600 @ 3.21Ghz | eVGA 680i-SLi | 2 ASUS 8800GTX SLi | 2 x WD 250GB RAID 0 | 4GB Corsair - TWINXMS 800Mhz |

Media Server
| D-Link DNS 323 | 2 x WD 1TB RAID 1 |
tunnel is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?