Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Stress Test: ATI Tool vs. 3DMark06

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-08, 10:59 AM Thread Starter   #1
golfking222
Member

 
golfking222's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York

 
Stress Test: ATI Tool vs. 3DMark06


What stresses a video card more, ATI Tool's little square or 3DMark06? My buddy here with his Crossfire 3870's is telling me 3DMark06, but I don't think it's worth the effort of watching 3DMark for 20 minutes as opposed to being able to tweak clocks with ATI Tool and watching for artifacts and such at the same time. I'm guessing they both probably eventually will put the video card to full load, but my friend doesn't think ATI Tool is capable of creating artifacts and a load temp.

Thoughts?
golfking222 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-08, 11:11 AM   #2
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
I have found that the ATI tool tends to be better to test OC's as it heats the gpu up a lot more than 3dmark does.

3dmark has the temp going up and down as its not always using 100% of the gpu, whereas the ati tool definitely maxes the gpu to 100% from what I have seen from temperatures.

With my X1900 I would use the ati tool to find my maximum OC with using the rotating image to heat up the gpu. Once I found a stable artifact free OC I would then loop 3dmark06 for a while.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-08, 11:51 AM   #3
aja
Member

 
aja's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets

 
How does rthdribl compare?
aja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-20-08, 12:31 PM   #4
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
How does rthdribl compare?
Never used it, so not sure. Guess I should give it a try sometime as I have seen it mentioned before as pretty good for maxing the gpu.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-08, 11:24 AM   #5
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja View Post
How does rthdribl compare?
Ive used it and it gets the temps pretty close to those of ATI tool.

Between ati tool and 3dmark I would say ATI tool has the advantage of being highly GPU dependent, while 3dmark also stress tests the cpu which could take stress time away from the graphics card.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-08, 06:42 PM   #6
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
What about fur? It's the same concept with ATI tool, both rotating fur things but it's full screen. I got a few degreess higher on it than ATI tool, what about you?
Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-08, 08:58 PM   #7
Diddyu
Member

 
Diddyu's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007

 
For me, ATITool shows errors and artifacts before 3dmark does, so I end up with a more stable clock. Ill test out rthdribl and fur, and see what I think of them.
Diddyu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-08, 09:16 PM   #8
Roofles
Member

 
Roofles's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brew City

 
Fur has the ability to be both more intensive and less intensive than ATI tool I believe. Crank up the AA and res and watch your card chug along. But if you are strictly looking for artifacts I would say stick with ATI tool for the short run as it seems to do a better job imho.

That being said, running all three is never bad. ATItool for the short term, FUR for longer runs and 3Dmark for gaming stability and e-peen scores.

__________________
Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

"If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics
Roofles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-08, 07:57 AM   #9
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Yeah! That renders all these "which is better" threads usless. Run all 3 and have no worries!
Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-08, 09:16 AM   #10
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazing fire View Post
Yeah! That renders all these "which is better" threads usless. Run all 3 and have no worries!
Heh, set your screen to its highest rez and give each program its own corner, let them fight it out for resources.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-08, 07:40 PM   #11
necrokiller
Member

 
necrokiller's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
my 3dmark06 run at 1680x1050 with 8xAA runs perfectly alright (except a low score) but ATi Tool shows artifacts within the first few minutes. Is my OC stable/safe for gaming?

__________________
Processor | Intel C2D E8400 C0 @ 4GHz Xigmatek Dark Knight
Motherboard | eVGA 680i SLI
RAM | OCZ XTC Platinum 2x1GB DDR2 1066MHz PC-8500
Graphics | EVGA GTX 260 (192sp)
Storage | Western Digital 320GB SATA
Case - Power Supply |CM 690 - Corsair TX750
Operating System | Windows 7 (32-bit)

Last edited by necrokiller; 08-24-08 at 08:14 PM.
necrokiller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-08, 02:54 AM   #12
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
You could try assassin's creed, which locks up while 3dmark06 and fur could pass (both for 4 hours).

Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-08, 10:36 AM   #13
korruptedONE
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN

 
Don't ask me why, but ATI Tool artifacts at stock settings on my 4870/Vista x64. I see the artifacts, but the tool continues on and says "0 artifacts found." Not sure what that's all about.

I like to run Crysis in DX10 mode for a few hours to beat the hell out of my card, personally. It's definately game/bench stable. rthdribl has always been a good alternative, imo, but you have to watch it for artifacts, although the same can be said for other visual programs that don't detect them for you.
korruptedONE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-08, 02:20 AM   #14
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Definitely trust your eyes. The only time I use these "stability test" is to leave it on overnight or when I am busy.

Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-08, 10:03 AM   #15
chewbears
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2008

 
I have some basic questions as I am now stress testing my overclock.

What is "true stablity" for a gfx card. Prime95 I like to run 24 hours but what tool and for how long? I ran the ATitool last night for 60 minutes on the test mode without it just saying no error for 60.00 minutes. Does this mean I am stable? I swear in 3dmarks i got a strange flash in the screen once or twice.

With less clocks and combos I wasn't able to get 3Dmark06 without crashing finally I got a stable mark06 and tested the ATitool. Previously with a less close I was getting missing pixels at this and that delta every 10-30 seconds, is that an artifact?

So how long should I run the test mode in ATitools to determine stablity?

If the 3Dmarks has screen pops (when something flashes out of synch with the picture) does this mean "unstable"?


Below are my scores from last nights testing with a headline of the setup. The basic really seems more dependent on CPU clock then anything else

9800Gx2
Q6600
790i Ultra
Kingston HyperX 9-9-9-27 1.9 (2x2gb)

UNclocked CPU / 177.19 drivers
3DMark Score 13663
SM 2.0 Score 5060
SM 3.0 Score 6742
CPU Score 3853

STOCK DRIVERS / 177.19 drivers / Q6600 clocked to 3.2
3DMark Score 17461
SM 2.0 Score 6851
SM 3.0 Score 8085
CPU Score 5110

GeForce ForceWare 177.89 XP 32-bit drivers / Q6600 clocked to 3.2

3DMark Score 17557
SM 2.0 Score 6860
SM 3.0 Score 8184
CPU Score 5104

Same as above with Oc'd gfx card
core/shader/mem
700/1750/1049

3DMark Score 17751
SM 2.0 Score 6716
SM 3.0 Score 8522
CPU Score 5123

750/1875/1075

3DMark Score 18047
SM 2.0 Score 6847
SM 3.0 Score 8716
CPU Score 5121

CPU oc'd to 3.375
700/1750/1053

3DMark Score 18549
SM 2.0 Score 7137
SM 3.0 Score 8767
CPU Score 5378

CPU oc'd to 3.375
750/1875/1110

3DMark Score 18604
SM 2.0 Score 7015
SM 3.0 Score 8973
CPU Score 5347

CPU oc'd to 3.4
726/1815/1145

3DMark Score 18851
SM 2.0 Score 7202
SM 3.0 Score 9007
CPU Score 5407
chewbears is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?