Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Opteron 180 overclock?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-08, 06:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
geobronc1
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Question Opteron 180 overclock?


I have an Opteron 180 overclocked to 2780. Load temps get as high as 55C, Idle as low as 26c. Am I safe? Anyway to get to 3ghz?

My System:

Asus a8n-E Motherboard (socket 939)
Patriot Memory Cas 2 4x512 (2gig)
Amd Opteron 180 Dual Core (2.4) at 2780
Bios Settings: 333 memory speed, HT= 4x, DRAM 2.5, 3, 3, 6, FBS 252 x 11, Vcore 1.425, DRAM Votage= 2.7

CPU cooling: Thermaltake V-1 running at high speed
Thermaltake PSU 500watt
ATI Radeon HD 3870 at 820 core and 2300 memory (1150x2)
Attached Images
 
geobronc1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-23-08, 08:31 AM   #2
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Welcome to O/C Forums!


Drop your HT Link to 3X. You have to keep your HT Link speed to1k or under otherwise you'll get unstable and it could corrupt the OS.

Another thing to be aware is running 4 sticks of ram will hinder performance/overclock as opposed to just 2 sticks. Be advised that 4 sticks of ram will force the command rate to 2T instead of 1T.

You might be able to squeeze 275 from the ram, thus giving you the 3.0Ghz (11x275=3025Mhz).

The HT Link @ 3X will keep you HT speed @ 825MHz, well under the 1K mark, thus possibly giving you the 3.0GHz Cpu speed

The Asus A8N-E mobo isn't the best overclocking board, but it might let you get that 3.0Ghz, depending of course if the ram and the cpu will cooperate.

Good Luck

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-11, 04:13 AM   #3
perucho07
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
Welcome to O/C Forums!


Drop your HT Link to 3X. You have to keep your HT Link speed to1k or under otherwise you'll get unstable and it could corrupt the OS.

Another thing to be aware is running 4 sticks of ram will hinder performance/overclock as opposed to just 2 sticks. Be advised that 4 sticks of ram will force the command rate to 2T instead of 1T.

You might be able to squeeze 275 from the ram, thus giving you the 3.0Ghz (11x275=3025Mhz).

The HT Link @ 3X will keep you HT speed @ 825MHz, well under the 1K mark, thus possibly giving you the 3.0GHz Cpu speed

The Asus A8N-E mobo isn't the best overclocking board, but it might let you get that 3.0Ghz, depending of course if the ram and the cpu will cooperate.

Good Luck
Hi Nebulous,
hope you read this post as we are on April 15, 2011. Well sir, I need your help, but first I give you the specifications of my PC.
CPU: Opteron 180 dual core (Denmark), native 2.4GHz.
CPU Cooler: Zalman pure copper six pipes and fan.
Mobo: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, northbridge chipset Nvidia nForce3 Ultra 250.
GPU: Sapphire HD 3850 AGP 512MB 256bits
RAM: 2x G.Skill 1GB(each) PC DDR 400 double channel (3200) 2.5-6-3-3-1T.
HDDs: 2x WD Raptor 10K RPM 74.3GB SATA
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620w 2rails +12v total 42Amp.
DVD: LG IDE Double Layer.
Case: Thermaltake Shark Full Tower pure aluminum
OS: WinXP Pro-SP3.
I want to overclocking this thing. May you help me?
Many thanks in advance.
perucho07 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-11, 08:26 PM   #4
Wayward_Son



Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast Texas

 
To the OP: You already have a damn-nice overclock and you aren't likely to get much more out of it, depending on your CPU stepping. At 55C loaded you're already on the ragged edge for Socket 939 processors. And with a 4x512mb kit of RAM, you're limiting both your overclock and your RAM speed. You'd do better with either 2x512mb (least favorable) or jumping up to 2x1gb (most favorable). Doing either would allow you to run your RAM at 1T instead of 2T. It should also take a little bit of stress off of your processor's integrated memory controller running two sticks instead of four. It is my opinion that a socket 939 system is best-served by a 2x1gb kit of matched dual-channel RAM.

Beyond your RAM, you're really at your heat wall already. If it were my computer, I'd upgrade to a beefier heatsink. The 939 dualies were known for being nuclear reactors of heat, and the Zalman coolers just can't compete with other air coolers in today's level of technology.

If you bump your system up to a 2x1gb kit of nice DDR and also upgrade your cooling to a TRUE-120 modified for 939 or something similar, then you have a good chance of getting your overclock up to 2.8-3.0, depending you the stepping of your processor. Worst case, you just lowered your load temps by several degrees and you end up with some faster RAM. You might get a little more out of your processor and overall the system will be faster, but the big bonus here is the peace of mind of a cooler processor due to the better heatsink. Zalman just doesn't cut it anymore.

__________________
\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/

MOBO....Gigabyte....GA-MA785GPMT-UD2H
.............................HT Link : 222 x 11 = 2442
CPU.......AMD..........1090T : 222 x 18.5 = 4107 @ 1.475v, 46*C
.............................CPU-NB : 222 x 12 = 2664 @ 1.225v
RAM.......GSkill........2x4gb Ripjaws DDR3 : 222 x 6.67 = 1480 @ 1.6v
GPU.......XFX...........5870 1gb : 938/1325 @ 1.2v, 70*C
SSD.......OCZ..........Vertex II 120gb
HDD.......WD...........Caviar Blue 320gb
CASE......Antec........P180 Mini
PSU.......Corsair.......HX650
Wayward_Son is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-11, 07:48 PM   #5
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
to OCF!


Quote:
Originally Posted by perucho07 View Post
Hi Nebulous,
hope you read this post as we are on April 15, 2011. Well sir, I need your help, but first I give you the specifications of my PC.
CPU: Opteron 180 dual core (Denmark), native 2.4GHz.
CPU Cooler: Zalman pure copper six pipes and fan.
Mobo: MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum, northbridge chipset Nvidia nForce3 Ultra 250.
GPU: Sapphire HD 3850 AGP 512MB 256bits
RAM: 2x G.Skill 1GB(each) PC DDR 400 double channel (3200) 2.5-6-3-3-1T.
HDDs: 2x WD Raptor 10K RPM 74.3GB SATA
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620w 2rails +12v total 42Amp.
DVD: LG IDE Double Layer.
Case: Thermaltake Shark Full Tower pure aluminum
OS: WinXP Pro-SP3.
I want to overclocking this thing. May you help me?
Many thanks in advance.
This is how I started my first overclock so long ago and it's still one of the best guides I've seen. Take a read through it, run some of the tests, and post back with any questions or results you may have.

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=391768
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-11, 01:01 AM   #6
perucho07
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
to OCF!


This is how I started my first overclock so long ago and it's still one of the best guides I've seen. Take a read through it, run some of the tests, and post back with any questions or results you may have.

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=391768
I appreciate a lot you reply. I know about all these programs you suggested me and even more useful programs. I don't pretend you be the panacea to my questions. So I think I must be more specific. Of course I already have tried to overclocking my PC, but until know I didn't get stable solutions. However SuperPi and Memtest 86 pass, I my Bios says me update success, but that's no true. Okay, I down from 200MHz to 166 MHz (I have also proved with 183MHz) and from 5x to 4x, so I up the bus until 234MHz say (234x4<1000Mhz, no problem!). 12x is the multiplier, so that I get 234x12=2808MHz (native 2400MHz); I have disabled all the recommended for my mobo i.e. Cool and Quiet, Speed Spectrum, Fast Write Cache, etc.; you know very well this. Further I put CPU voltage in 1.55v+8.3% (this is in red zone), GPU voltage in 1.60-1.65v ( I know doesn't help much, but anyway), RAM voltage in 2.75-2.80v (also in the red zone). Default timings: 2.5-6-3-3-1T (I never have proved with 2T, but I think that's not the problem). But with this parameters my PC hangs playing e.g. Crysis2 or Metro2033. However, if I put in default everything (of course, antialiasing and V-Sinc off) my PC runs like a champ. Paradoxical, don't you? But let me tell you 3 important things (maybe you know these one).
1.- My VC is Sapphire but HIS also released the HD 3850 AGP, so I went to HIS site and I was surprised about its driver (old version and no WHQL) is 183MB, whereas the official ATI driver is 50MB until now, all whql versions; I have no proved the last version 11.3, but I'm almost sure this driver will not work too. I always get a BSOD with these official whql drivers but with the HIS old driver 6.14 (2009) I have not any problem. And this fact is connected with
2.- I know nForce3 ultra 250 doesn't like ATI drivers (ATI2dvag.dll is the main one), so I suspect HIS solved the problem because the size of its driver but, honestly, I don't know.
3.- I also suspect that the main problem overclocking my PC is precisely the old chipset nForce3, a 2004 technology but, again, I'm not sure.
Now you have a wide knowledge about the issue, so I think you can have some good opinions at respect.
A warm greetings for you,
Pedro
perucho07 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-11, 03:39 AM   #7
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
I think the chipset is good but I don't know about video driver conflicts. With those systems I use nVidia cards, not ATi.

Your RAM and HT Link speeds look good. My Opty 180 would clock 2805 (255x11) @ 1.52 vCore but wouldn't pass a 3DMark05 test at that speed. However, it would run SETI 24/7 for weeks - so, in my experience, video stability was first thing to go.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-11, 12:04 PM   #8
perucho07
New Member



Join Date: Feb 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietIce View Post
I think the chipset is good but I don't know about video driver conflicts. With those systems I use nVidia cards, not ATi.

Your RAM and HT Link speeds look good. My Opty 180 would clock 2805 (255x11) @ 1.52 vCore but wouldn't pass a 3DMark05 test at that speed. However, it would run SETI 24/7 for weeks - so, in my experience, video stability was first thing to go.
Many thanks by your well aimed opinions. You're right about using Nvidia VC for the nForce3 Ultra chipset. In fact when I built my PC (end of 2004) I bought the Geforce 6800GT which possesses the same features as the ATI HD3850, but with 256MB memory instead of 512MB and, of course, a 2007 technology. Lamentably Nvidia was not interested in manufacturing more powerful AGP cards. By using Catalyst Control Center Ato-Tune and Test Custom Clocks I have overclocked my HD3850 from 669/829 (default) to 709/939 passing both tests and also nTune.
As far as our Opty 180 specifications, CPU voltage is 1.30-1.35v, but like you I always have used high voltages: 1.47-1.57v. I don't know if these high voltages are causing instability in my system.
Greetings,
Pedro
perucho07 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-11, 04:03 PM   #9
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

 
Looks like the OP left! That appears to be from 2008, guys.

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Duo E8600 @ 3.900 Ghz (390x10.0)

-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce 9500 GT-Fortron FSP500-60GLN(80) 500W PSU


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-11, 06:07 PM   #10
OptyTrooper
Member


 
OptyTrooper's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Missouri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by perucho07 View Post
Many thanks by your well aimed opinions. You're right about using Nvidia VC for the nForce3 Ultra chipset. In fact when I built my PC (end of 2004) I bought the Geforce 6800GT which possesses the same features as the ATI HD3850, but with 256MB memory instead of 512MB and, of course, a 2007 technology. Lamentably Nvidia was not interested in manufacturing more powerful AGP cards. By using Catalyst Control Center Ato-Tune and Test Custom Clocks I have overclocked my HD3850 from 669/829 (default) to 709/939 passing both tests and also nTune.
As far as our Opty 180 specifications, CPU voltage is 1.30-1.35v, but like you I always have used high voltages: 1.47-1.57v. I don't know if these high voltages are causing instability in my system.
Greetings,
Pedro
NONSENSE! 7800/7900 GS and the 7950 GT AGP are all still available new and tweaked right a 7900 GS or 7950 GT AGP will stomp the proverbial mud hole in the 3850 and most definitely overclock higher themselves. That 3850 is almost certainly holding you back. I have A LOT of experience benching AGP cards and nForce2/3/4 boards and ATI cards WILL hamper your reaching the potential that CPU/NB combo has. That and the 4 sticks already mentioned.

IMHO the 3850 AGP is overrated and overpriced. I have a 7950 GT AGP that eats them for light snacks.

__________________
If it ain't broke let me take a crack at it.

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain."


Bobnova: "I suspect OptyTrooper of being a masochist."

Dual Opteron 4334s @ 3.4GHz/Asus KCMA-D8/12GB DDR3 G.Skill ECC 1333/WD Black 500GB/X2 A-DATA Premier Pro SP900 in RAID 0.
OptyTrooper is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?