• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Switch from JMicron RAID to Intel RAID - Transparent?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BigBlake

Greetings,

I've built a RAID1 array using Gigabyte RAID (JMicron JMB36X). It's working great, except for one thing ("random" BSOD while formatting large partitions), so I'd like to try using the on-board Intel RAID (ICH9) to see if that helps.

I'm a RAID newbie. Does anyone happen to know--If I simply plug my two JMicron-created HDDs into the Intel RAID SATA ports, will the Intel RAID controller recognize them? I.e., is RAID disk layout (headers and such) a standard across vendors, or does each vendor implement their own (incompatible) layout?

Thanks for any insight you can provide!

System:
Gigabyte P35-DS4 rev2.1
Q6600 2.4GHz, 4GB G.Skill DDR2
2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB as RAID1
Asus GeForce 8500GT 512MB GDDR3 PCIe
Antec Solo case, Nexus NX-8040 400W Silent PSU

You will most likely have to setup the RAID config again on the ICH9. Besides that, you will get better performance on the ICH9 over the Jmicron controller.

You will most likely have to setup the RAID config again on the ICH9.

Thanks bchur, that's what I was afraid of, but it's certainly good to know.

(The problem is that I've already installed the OS and apps on the JMicron volume. Ugh.)

Thanks again. I'll keep this thread updated with my progress. If anyone else knows of a way to interchange JMicron and Intel, please let me know. (Or, if you know of an easy way to preserve the HDD image I've already spent time preparing, so that I can recreate the drive on ICH9 and then restore directly to where I am now....)

Thanks bchur, that's what I was afraid of, but it's certainly good to know.

(The problem is that I've already installed the OS and apps on the JMicron volume. Ugh.)