Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-08, 06:16 AM Thread Starter   #1
DSM4Life
Member

 
DSM4Life's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA

 
Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E


How can i find out what each of these settings mean ? I been googlin like crazy and can't find any answers. I am having a problem with my bittorrents where it seems my ethernet is "shutting down" when i have a bunch of files for download. My eye has been on this "flow control" but i am not sure. Id like to know what these settings do.


__________________
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel i7-930 4Ghz 1.23V / Corsair H-70 push/pull
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0
OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 240GB
Corsair XMS 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20
MSI GTX 580 Lighting 960/1920 @ 1.149v
Corsair-750HX

Last edited by DSM4Life; 03-12-08 at 06:30 AM.
DSM4Life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-08, 06:34 AM   #2
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
Most of the time that tends to be your router, not your NIC. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Router_Slowdown

Flow control allows your computer to ask another computer to "Pause" the data being sent if it's getting overloaded.

__________________
♫♪ ☺ ♫♪
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-08, 03:28 PM Thread Starter   #3
DSM4Life
Member

 
DSM4Life's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCLW View Post
Most of the time that tends to be your router, not your NIC. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Router_Slowdown

Flow control allows your computer to ask another computer to "Pause" the data being sent if it's getting overloaded.
Yes i noticed this only after i hooked up my router, thank you.

__________________
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel i7-930 4Ghz 1.23V / Corsair H-70 push/pull
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0
OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 240GB
Corsair XMS 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20
MSI GTX 580 Lighting 960/1920 @ 1.149v
Corsair-750HX
DSM4Life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-08, 10:34 PM   #4
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
What kind of router is it?

__________________
♫♪ ☺ ♫♪
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-08, 12:11 AM   #5
moocow

 
moocow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas State

 
You don't have to worry about any of that unless you're dealing with an industrial router. Just leave all of those settings on the defaults. It might be your ISP or modem giving you fits instead of the NIC.

__________________
YAY HWBOT!
[heatware]
moocow is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-08, 05:40 AM Thread Starter   #6
DSM4Life
Member

 
DSM4Life's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM4Life View Post
Yes i noticed this only after i hooked up my router, thank you.
D-link wireless N - DIR 615
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/D-Lin...oductDetail.do

__________________
Windows 7 Pro x64
Intel i7-930 4Ghz 1.23V / Corsair H-70 push/pull
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0
OCZ Vertex 2 SSD 240GB
Corsair XMS 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20
MSI GTX 580 Lighting 960/1920 @ 1.149v
Corsair-750HX
DSM4Life is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-08, 06:23 AM   #7
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
Does it work for a short period of time and then slow down?

On the router, have you forwarded a port to your computer and told your P2P software to use that specific port?

__________________
♫♪ ☺ ♫♪
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?