• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Raid drivers: Off USB thumb drive? Other Raid Q's

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vagabond102

I don't have a floppy drive. For some reason, for the last couple builds I can't get floppy drives to work. It's an odd thing, I can get them working on any machine but mine.

See sig for current configuration. I am wanting to add 2 500GB disks and setup a raid 0 array. (I don't really have any need for redundancy, though I might give a try at a matrix array) This is my very very first experience with RAID, though I've been a PC Tech for years now.

Question 1: Can I use my USB thumb drive to hold the drivers needed upon windows install? (The F6 option)

Any helpful links on step by step instructions for configuring a P35 DS3R for raid using the ICH9R would be helpful. I've done some reading, including the stickies, but they give general info...I understand the concept but I don't understand the actual process. I know learning by experience is the best, but this is my only PC, if I fail, I can't get online to read.

I think I understand, but not sure:

1: Install (SATA) HD'd on Intel Headers
2: Enable RAID in the BIOS
3: Boot from windows CD
4: F6 durring install
5: Point to raid drivers

At some point it should reboot, I hit ctrl-I or something to get into the raid bios. Tell it the drives and the raid method I want to use. Set up the array using 64k. Finish loading windows and I should have a stripping array.

It sounds pretty straight forward, but I want to cover my basis. Comments?

I don't have a floppy drive. For some reason, for the last couple builds I can't get floppy drives to work. It's an odd thing, I can get them working on any machine but mine.