Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

E2160@ 3.6Ghz on air...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-08, 07:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
beancooker
Member

 
beancooker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rain City, WA

 
E2160@ 3.6Ghz on air...


So after some tweaking with the bios and getting the best air cooling heatsink I could find, I have her running at 3.6Ghz and stable. Ran Prime95 for 12 hours and haven't had any errors. 30C at idle and 63C at full load.

I did have to up the vCore to 1.625, but she's sitting pretty!

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=331523
beancooker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 07:45 PM   #2
C
Member

 
C's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008

 
wow thats pretty amazing... what heatsink is it, if I may ask.

*EDIT* Sorry, just read your sig

Last edited by C; 03-18-08 at 08:10 PM.
C is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 07:48 PM Thread Starter   #3
beancooker
Member

 
beancooker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rain City, WA

 
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme.
beancooker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 08:43 PM   #4
pejsaboy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nor-cal

 
wow, that's pretty hot on the voltage. You gonna run that as your 24/7 speed?

__________________
Sunbeam Transformer Full Tower
GA-EP45-UD3P, Q9400 R0 -> 3.6ghz
2x2Gb G. Skill 1066, Kingwin RVT 12025
Sapphire HD4870 1Gb, Vista Home Premium x64
Acer AL2216W, Acer X203W

ASUS Eee PC 1001PX-EU17-BK
Xbox 360 60Gb
XBL! Gamertag - pejsaboy
Sanyo 46" 1080p
pejsaboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 08:49 PM   #5
=ACID RAIN=
Member

 
=ACID RAIN='s Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
Good Lord, that vcore is crazy haha....

Nice overclock though!

__________________
MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise
=ACID RAIN= is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 08:58 PM   #6
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Sweet man, I thought mine at 3.2 and 1.5 was all it has, I guess a bit more v-juice will take it all the way.

Nice OC

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 09:58 PM   #7
ChinStrap

 
ChinStrap's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

 
true overclocking. theres an avatar around here somewhere that says my $80 CPU > then your $200 CPU

i think for a project im going to do something like this. good job man!

__________________
Working on a re-build.

** A few of us Benchmark. You Should join us **
ChinStrap is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 10:10 PM   #8
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
63C load is actually pretty damn good for that speed and especially that voltage? Winter ambients helping you out? Otherwise very nice but personally I'd lower the vCore for 24/7, I'd be worried about degrading the chip over time with that much.

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 10:57 PM Thread Starter   #9
beancooker
Member

 
beancooker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rain City, WA

 
With the vCore lower, it's not stable. I won't be running it 24/7, since it will probably crap out in 1/2 the time. I was just really wanting to get a 100% overclock that was stable, and didn't require water. I am still a n00b, and have a fear of watercooling.

Just a personal achievement, that's all.
beancooker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-08, 11:08 AM   #10
RockerGuy
Member



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto

 
Wow, thats amazing man. It makes me feel like if I wasted my money on a e6750

But I guess I have a bigger cache

__________________
Asus P5K |458x8
Intel E6750 | 2.66-->3.66Ghz @ 1.48v (OCZ Vanquisher @ 50*C) | 3.68GHz stable
Sapphire ATI 2600xt (RAM 700MHz-->710 | GPU 800MHz-->820)
Crucial Ballistix DDR2 1066 | 916Mhz @ 4-4-3-12 (fried, they suck)
Antec Sonata III 500w (enuff power??)


Old: P III 933==>1050MHz | Asus 9550 | 512MB RAMs | FSB 150MHz :)
RockerGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-08, 07:57 PM   #11
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
Plus an extra 64 megahurtzzz!!11

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-08, 08:57 PM Thread Starter   #12
beancooker
Member

 
beancooker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rain City, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockerGuy View Post
Wow, thats amazing man. It makes me feel like if I wasted my money on a e6750

I most likely got lucky. The wafer that my proc was made from might have been well above par for the proc. Like I said in a different thread, my buddy's has the same proc and mobo, and couldn't get his passed 3.2, so you didn't waste any money.
beancooker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-08, 02:14 AM   #13
Dermen
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia

10 Year Badge
 
Nice temps, I can run my e2180 at 3.45 with low 1.5v but my temps are at 67 load. I'm going to remount my Thermalright Ultra-120A tomorrow with the correct springs to see if it helps. I got sent short springs and didn't want to wait to install the new stuff so I rigged the mounting temporarily.

Hopefully it helps my temps, if not the IHS isn't soldered so I may try removing it.

__________________
FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | Gb 7950 | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
Heat
Dermen is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-08, 05:55 AM   #14
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChinStrap View Post
true overclocking. theres an avatar around here somewhere that says my $80 CPU > then your $200 CPU

i think for a project im going to do something like this. good job man!
I have also seen that avatar.
Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-08, 06:09 AM   #15
Astur Lavania
New Member

 
Astur Lavania's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Malaysia.johor state

 
hye just join the forums..
beancooker may i ask u what type of power supply that u using for now?
Astur Lavania is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-08, 06:09 AM   #16
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
That's sick, mine could only do 3.4G. Well done.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-08, 01:46 PM   #17
dsb1829
Member

 
dsb1829's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008

 
Highest clock on air that I have seen with this chip. Very nice
dsb1829 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-08, 10:53 PM Thread Starter   #18
beancooker
Member

 
beancooker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rain City, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astur Lavania View Post
hye just join the forums..
beancooker may i ask u what type of power supply that u using for now?

500w. It came in a Raidmax case that I used to have.
beancooker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-08, 05:38 AM   #19
Smitty1258
Member



Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
3.7 on a 2180 I have, Ill post the screens later today. I think I can get 3.8 with it as well, only downside is the 1mb cache

__________________
case :: RocketFish "Lian Li" Rebadge
motherboard :: ABIT IP35 PRO
cpu :: Core 2 Duo E8600 3.23GHz OC @ 4.7 and moving up *WATER*
power supply :: Tagan BZ 900 Sexy Watts
os :: Windows Vista Ultimate
ram :: G.Skill 2x2 4GB DDR2 1000 5-5-5-15
video :: 4870 1GB *WATER* OC RESULTS SOON
storage :: 2x74GB WD Raptor Raid 0 & 1+ TB Storage
sound :: Creative Audigy2 ZS
speakers :: Logitech THX Z-5300e & Turtle Beach X-52 5.1 headphones
monitor :: SOYO Topaz S 24" WS 6ms
WC setup :: Apogee Block, MCP-350 Pump, 120x3 Radiator
Smitty1258 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-08, 11:40 PM   #20
cabose1227
Member

 
cabose1227's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: California 805 ftw

 
Nice oc man, I have a 100% oc on my e2140.

__________________
\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/
New Rig : D, thanks to all the people in the classifieds hooking it up with the good parts!
Silverstone FT03 Titanium
ASUS Maximus V Gene
Intel i5 3570k @4.8 ghz/ s1283
ATI HD 5970
Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8 1600
Antec 650W 80 plus Platinum
OCZ Vertex 4 120gb
WD Re4 500gig
WD Veloci Raptor 300gb
HEAT : caboose1227
cabose1227 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?