Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

My x3350 overclocking experience

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-08, 12:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
My x3350 overclocking experience


Well, my L803B196 batch X3350 finally arrived today! Taking it out of the box I see the PCB numbers show 9A0813, which is according to the E3110 overclocking thread implies that it might be a good overclocker.

I may not be able to get it installed until late tonight, but I should start having some results by tomorrow. Can't wait to try it out.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 12:19 PM   #2
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
Look forward to seeing some results, I had one on order then cancelled it 'cuase I picked up a Q6600 on e-bay (Batch L737...) . This will be my last attempt to OC a Q6600 to 4 GHz, if unsuccessfull I'll turm to the X3350.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 12:59 PM   #3
GTengineer
Member

 
GTengineer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorktown, VA

 
This is the baby I want but I promised myself I would wait for Nehalen after buying my Q6600. Still I am VERY interested in seeing what these can do.
GTengineer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 02:31 PM   #4
NashvilleArena
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2008

 
I got mine rig with this processor up and running with xp pro, need to do some reading on how to overclock I will post my results.
NashvilleArena is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 02:37 PM   #5
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
w00t! In for benchies, thanks for creating this thread and putting up with my pestering

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 02:38 PM   #6
NashvilleArena
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by torin3 View Post
Well, my L803B196 batch X3350 finally arrived today! Taking it out of the box I see the PCB numbers show 9A0813, which is according to the E3110 overclocking thread implies that it might be a good overclocker.

I may not be able to get it installed until late tonight, but I should start having some results by tomorrow. Can't wait to try it out.

Those numbers are on the processor itself? Shute I installed one of those fans that are bolted to MB, I do not want to take everything apart to look for the numbers.
NashvilleArena is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 02:48 PM   #7
GTengineer
Member

 
GTengineer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorktown, VA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashvilleArena View Post
Those numbers are on the processor itself? Shute I installed one of those fans that are bolted to MB, I do not want to take everything apart to look for the numbers.
on the cpu retail box
GTengineer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #8
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTengineer View Post
on the cpu retail box
Actually, the 9A0813 number is only on the PCB layer of the CPU. Let me see if I can find a pic...

Ok, this picture isn't mine, so I'm not hotlinking it, but it is on a photobucket account.

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w...0adam/c2d2.jpg

At the bottom of the picture, there is a gap in the IHS. There are 2 numbers there. The bottom number, if the last 2 digits are 15 from 00, it is *possibly* a better overclocker. As in 85 -> 15 is the range you want to be in.

Now I don't know if this is true, but I'm working my way through overclocking a Q6600 at work where it ends in 02, and so far I'm at 3.42Ghz on Air at 1.26V actual under load. 1.32 idling. I'm running about 68C with a ZEROtherm Nirvana on it.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 04:28 PM   #9
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
Very interested in the FSB results from this.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:24 PM Thread Starter   #10
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Got it installed, and here are some baseline numbers:





Just so you know, I forgot to take the screen shot while Prime was running the first time, but I gave it about 20 minute and the temps were pretty close.

Also, the 601 BIOS on an Asus P5E will not recognize the CPU. It will boot though. 605 recognized the chip.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:25 PM   #11
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
Could you try and max the FSB?

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:32 PM   #12
neonlazer
Member

 
neonlazer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Where you think I am...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by inkfx View Post
Could you try and max the FSB?
lol..thats all we care about really eh?

__________________
Underwater Armor i7-2600k, Asus P8Z68-V Pro, 16gb DDR3-1600, 128gb Crucial M4, 120gb Vertex 2, Sapphire Vapor-X 5870 OC, Thermaltake Armor VA8003SWA, Corsair 750w, Apogee GTX, MCP665, MCR320
HeatWare
[20:21] Bigriglover337: me 2
[20:21] thideras: hi 2, my name is corey
neonlazer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:39 PM   #13
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by torin3 View Post
Actually, the 9A0813 number is only on the PCB layer of the CPU.
At the bottom of the picture, there is a gap in the IHS. There are 2 numbers there. The bottom number, if the last 2 digits are 15 from 00, it is *possibly* a better overclocker. As in 85 -> 15 is the range you want to be in.
Wafer number.

16-99 bad, 0-15 good.

Supposedly.

*Don't know if they changed it to include the lower 15 from 00 though.

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:43 PM   #14
Scar
Member

 
Scar's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Miami

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by torin3 View Post
My x3350 overclocking experience
dOOOOd, you can't say that and then post up a SS of stock freqs., not cool.

__________________
e3110 @ 4.0Ghz 445x9 1.32v// Lapped TRUE 120 // Asus P5Q Deluxe // Lian Li PC-60B plus II // eVGA 8800GTS G92// 4GB Ballistix DDR2-1066 // PCP&C 750w Silencer // Audigy2 ZS // Samsung SyncMaster 204b // 2x WD 320G RE2 RAID-0
RIP evga 780i
_________________________
"It's better to burn out than to fade away" - Neil Young, 1979
My Heatware 32-0-0
Scar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:57 PM   #15
GTengineer
Member

 
GTengineer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorktown, VA

 
Thats a really damn good super pi for only 2.66GHz! Man these are looking real good
GTengineer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 06:58 PM   #16
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonlazer View Post
lol..thats all we care about really eh?
Indeed.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 07:40 PM Thread Starter   #17
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by inkfx View Post
Indeed.
Ok, here you go! Couldn't get it to boot at 450 at any voltage I was willing to go (1.44 set for 1.38/1.39 in BIOS). Got it to boot at 435 at this voltage.

THIS WAS ONLY ADJUSTING VCORE, NO OTHER SETTING OFF OF AUTO


__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 07:43 PM   #18
MikeyLikesItSI
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004

 
This is on water cooling? Seems a bit warm......

Have achieved a great clock speed?

__________________
Main Rig: DFI LANPARTY LT X48-T2R w/Q6600 @ 3.6ghz : EVGA 9800GX2 745/1090/1850 : Swiftech Apogee : Corsair TX750W

Laptop: Gateway MT3705 w/T7200 BSEL modded @ 2.4ghz : Stock cooling : gHey 200M onboard video

2nd Rig: ABIT AI7 w/ Celeron D 310 @ 4.0ghz : EVGA GeForce MX4000 : Ninja scythe w/120mm delta 72CFM : Antec TP550

3rd Rig: ASUS P4S800 w/ Pentium 4 M 2.8 @ 3.4ghz : Zalman 92mm HSF: Rosewill 450w
MikeyLikesItSI is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 07:43 PM   #19
Scar
Member

 
Scar's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Miami

 
How about max oc on 8x

__________________
e3110 @ 4.0Ghz 445x9 1.32v// Lapped TRUE 120 // Asus P5Q Deluxe // Lian Li PC-60B plus II // eVGA 8800GTS G92// 4GB Ballistix DDR2-1066 // PCP&C 750w Silencer // Audigy2 ZS // Samsung SyncMaster 204b // 2x WD 320G RE2 RAID-0
RIP evga 780i
_________________________
"It's better to burn out than to fade away" - Neil Young, 1979
My Heatware 32-0-0
Scar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-08, 07:45 PM Thread Starter   #20
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scar View Post
dOOOOd, you can't say that and then post up a SS of stock freqs., not cool.
Ok, here you go. 375x8 for 3Ghz. Vcore set at 1.25, Actual 1.176 under load.


__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?