Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

*NEW* Ubuntu: Hardy Heron 8.04 Beta

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-26-08, 09:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
nitteo
Member

 
nitteo's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX

 
*NEW* Ubuntu: Hardy Heron 8.04 Beta


Alright Linux-Heads, I am going to try this new Ubuntu with F@H:

http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/hardy/beta

**THIS IS THE BETA** FINAL RELEASE IS IN APRIL 2008 (if you want to wait)

This thread is going to be used for info/problems/rants and raves about our newest Linux.

HOPEFULLY this will solve my NIC/Stuck on Loaded Queue Successfully issue.

__________________
Heatware

Last edited by nitteo; 03-26-08 at 09:14 AM.
nitteo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-08, 09:27 AM   #2
ihrsetrdr
Senior Member

 
ihrsetrdr's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: just on the edge of civilization, in the Mojave Desert

 
I upgraded to 8.04 from 7.10 on my 'crash box', without incident. Re:your Stuck on Loaded Queue incident, what was going on there? Maybe 8.04 was having some heartburn with some chipset component?

__________________
Folding User Stats

ihrsetrdr aka Tim

Be strong when you are weak, brave when you are scared, and humble when you are victorious.
- Unknown
ihrsetrdr is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-08, 02:46 PM   #3
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Having been without Linux since September/October last year* I'm tempted to install Hardy to play with KDE4 ...


* The dreaded case where I need a box that works perfectly with Office '07, Origin, ChemDraw, Crossfire Commander and Scifinder

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-08, 03:06 PM   #4
traldan

 
traldan's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Folding in Maryland!!

 
Boo KDE! Although honestly I haven't really tried it in a while. I <3 Gnome. I'm using 8.04 beta, but it's on my horribly slow old P3 with 256 megs of ram. Visual effects off and I can STILL hardly run firefox and pidgin.

I like it so far, though. The new artwork is great.

__________________
.:Bliss:.
.:Q6600 G0 3.0Ghz - Ultra 120 Extreme/Ultrakaze 120mm (130CFM!) - possibly dead?
.:Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
.:4GB (2x2) G.Skill DDR2-1000
.:Sapphire X1900XT
.:Sparkle FSP550PLG-SLI
.:160GB Hitachi Deathstar, 500GB Maxtor
.:Hyundai L90D+

Folding 24/7 for TEAM 32
traldan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-08, 07:38 PM   #5
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
Downloading the ISO now, I was going to wait for the final in April...but what the heck.

__________________
#1Win7Rosetta2600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2UbuntuSMP BA 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It)GNexus, N4,N7, iphone5
Folding for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
"The day MS stops supporting Gaming is the day we can all switch to Linux"
Folding User Stats
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-08, 08:33 PM   #6
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
7.04 was nicer than the 6.06 & 6.10, but I think I'll wait, as I only Fold on the 'Nix boxes.

__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-08, 08:47 PM   #7
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarriorII View Post
7.04 was nicer than the 6.06 & 6.10, but I think I'll wait, as I only Fold on the 'Nix boxes.
I am anticipating leaving windows behind...so I am attempting to assimilate my wife and kid. I keep telling the wife to start using the web based AOL.

__________________
#1Win7Rosetta2600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2UbuntuSMP BA 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It)GNexus, N4,N7, iphone5
Folding for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
"The day MS stops supporting Gaming is the day we can all switch to Linux"
Folding User Stats
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-08, 09:04 AM Thread Starter   #8
nitteo
Member

 
nitteo's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX

 
Right off the Bat, WU 3062 killed by a error0x1!

I tried installing ia 32 libs, but it says wont install, conflicting packages?

Do I need ia 32libs?I can access the FAH program with no problems:

chmod +x fah6
./fah6 -smp

brings me to the FAH setup. If I remember correctly, I wouldnt even get this far without having to install ia32 libs. I did DL the ia32 libs and used an installer. I am going to try to sudo.

sudo apt-get install ia32libs

Did I spell that right?

__________________
Heatware
nitteo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-08, 09:32 AM   #9
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
No. It's ia32-libs

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-08, 09:40 AM Thread Starter   #10
nitteo
Member

 
nitteo's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasR View Post
No. It's ia32-libs
Got it, but Ubuntu says ia32-libs is already installed.

I tried re-installing FAH, but I was getting a Core Client Error in Communication.

Going back to Fedora 8 in this Borg...

I will try Ubuntu 8.04 on my next rig.

Edit: This is one of my rigs that had the SAME problems as 7.10 Gutsy, what I dont understand is HOW Fedora 8 can work with FAH, but not Ubuntu ON THE SAME RIG?

__________________
Heatware
nitteo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-08, 03:07 PM   #11
Zanson
Member

 
Zanson's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitteo View Post
Got it, but Ubuntu says ia32-libs is already installed.

I tried re-installing FAH, but I was getting a Core Client Error in Communication.

Going back to Fedora 8 in this Borg...

I will try Ubuntu 8.04 on my next rig.

Edit: This is one of my rigs that had the SAME problems as 7.10 Gutsy, what I dont understand is HOW Fedora 8 can work with FAH, but not Ubuntu ON THE SAME RIG?
ubuntu is different then fedora (red hat)

you may need to customize your kernel for your hardware. something may not have been picked up in the auto installer in ubuntu that fedora did.

__________________

-------- New Gaming Rig PC: 3DMark06 Score P15760 | Old Gaming Rig: 3DMark06 Score 12375
CPU---- AMD Phenom II 1090T Thuban OC to 4.05GHz. | Q6600 Kentsfield 2.40Ghz - tr-120ex-- OC 3.2 @1.47V
RAM---- G.Skill Ripjaw (2 x 4GB) DDR4 @ 1600MHz.. | G.SKILL (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800 - tr-HR-07
GPU---- EVGA NVIDIA 460 Superclocked............. | MSI N9600GT 512MB 256-bit
MOB---- ASUS M4A89TD PRO Socket AM3.............. | Gigabyte EP35-DS4 P35
HDD---- Intel 80GB SSD, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 2TB| 2 - Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 1 WD Black 1TB, INTEL X25-M G2
PSU---- Corisaire 540w Modular................... | Corisaire 520w PSU
Zanson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-08, 04:50 PM   #12
traldan

 
traldan's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Folding in Maryland!!

 
You're using the x64 version of Ubuntu, right?

Other than that, I really don't know.

__________________
.:Bliss:.
.:Q6600 G0 3.0Ghz - Ultra 120 Extreme/Ultrakaze 120mm (130CFM!) - possibly dead?
.:Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
.:4GB (2x2) G.Skill DDR2-1000
.:Sapphire X1900XT
.:Sparkle FSP550PLG-SLI
.:160GB Hitachi Deathstar, 500GB Maxtor
.:Hyundai L90D+

Folding 24/7 for TEAM 32
traldan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-08, 10:35 PM   #13
Sleepy_Steve

 
Sleepy_Steve's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: VT... or MD

 
Its like everytime I check my folding stats, there is a new ubuntu version out there.... when will they stop!?!?

__________________
CPU i7-2600 Cooling CM 212+ w/ 2 fans RAM 4x4gb G.Skill DDR3 1333 Video 9800GT & 8600GT Storage 1TB Raid0 system & 2TB storage HEAT
Folding User Stats
Sleepy_Steve is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-08, 08:06 AM   #14
curtis1552
Member

 
curtis1552's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio

 
They put out twice a year, it's not that often. It almost seems like too long to me. I wanted to get the 2.6.24.4 kernel because it has better USB HID support among other things. Now, I'm stuck waiting for April. (I know I could upgrade manually but, jeez, it's only waiting until April.)

__________________
Desk Puter - Foxconn C51GU01; AMD X2 3800+ - Dual 2.0Ghz; 1.5gb RAM; Nvidia 6600GT pcie; Win 7 64 bit / Mint 9
NetBook - Acer Aspire One D250: 160Gb HDD: Win 7 / Backtrack 4 / Mint Debian / MeeGo
Server Puter - Supermicro X5DAE; Dual Processor - E7505 XEON - Dual 2.66Ghz; 2gb RAM: Nvidia 6600GT agp; Win 7 32 bit / Mint 9.
HEAT
Restarting a computer is not how you fix a problem...
I suffer from
Fenestraephobia
I don't think being turned on while turning it on is too high on the creepy list - freakdiablo
curtis1552 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-08, 04:12 PM   #15
Zanson
Member

 
Zanson's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA

 
-_- lovely, i installed this last night. works fine for the exception that it corrupted my 500GB ntfs storage drive... lovely. now i gotta try and recover it. (not it was not the drive i installed linux on.)

this is gonna be a fun weekend.

__________________

-------- New Gaming Rig PC: 3DMark06 Score P15760 | Old Gaming Rig: 3DMark06 Score 12375
CPU---- AMD Phenom II 1090T Thuban OC to 4.05GHz. | Q6600 Kentsfield 2.40Ghz - tr-120ex-- OC 3.2 @1.47V
RAM---- G.Skill Ripjaw (2 x 4GB) DDR4 @ 1600MHz.. | G.SKILL (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800 - tr-HR-07
GPU---- EVGA NVIDIA 460 Superclocked............. | MSI N9600GT 512MB 256-bit
MOB---- ASUS M4A89TD PRO Socket AM3.............. | Gigabyte EP35-DS4 P35
HDD---- Intel 80GB SSD, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 2TB| 2 - Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 1 WD Black 1TB, INTEL X25-M G2
PSU---- Corisaire 540w Modular................... | Corisaire 520w PSU
Zanson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-28-08, 04:40 PM   #16
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepy_Steve View Post
Its like everytime I check my folding stats, there is a new ubuntu version out there.... when will they stop!?!?
Hopefully never I don't see myself buying an OS again...

(Did I mention I have Wine working now?)

__________________
#1Win7Rosetta2600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2UbuntuSMP BA 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It)GNexus, N4,N7, iphone5
Folding for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
"The day MS stops supporting Gaming is the day we can all switch to Linux"
Folding User Stats
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-08, 02:58 PM   #17
belorsch
Folding Monk

 
belorsch's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Maryland

10 Year Badge
 
Mine install of 8.04 with smp has seems to be working. When I say seems to be its because the first install bombed at 21% but this seems to have been because of a faulty hdd. I have another used 10gig I re-installed on and now I'm trying again. Hoping this drive is not a problem.

__________________
Folding User Stats
My Heatware
belorsch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-08, 01:02 AM   #18
ludeboy12

 
ludeboy12's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wheeling, WV

 
Ok got this running tonight along with smp and all seems to be going great....no complaints so far.

__________________
C2Q Rig.... C2Q Q6600 @ 3.6ghz | Abit IP35 Pro | 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 PC6400 | eVGA 8800gts 320 x 2 | Silverstone TJ-09
i7 Rig.... i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | eVGA x58 | 3 x 1gb G.Skill DDR3 1600 | eVGA 8800gts g92 x 2 | Caseless
FAH Quad / GPU Farm....To be continued....
My Folding Stats...
ludeboy12 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-08, 06:00 AM   #19
Jason Kitchens
Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
I installed 8.04 on my new c2d rig nativelym other than trying in vain to get some temp monitoring it installed easily and so did fah. So far I'm content.
Jason Kitchens is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-08, 06:55 AM   #20
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Installed it but wasn't so impressed. Much prefer KDE3 or Gnome.

Going to back to Gentoo... Ubuntu just feels... weird.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?