Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Any one played kanes wrath yet?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-08, 12:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
mrbobc
Member

 
mrbobc's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007

 
Any one played kanes wrath yet?


is it worth getting? how many mission etc...??

__________________
amd phenom 2 x3 720be @ 3.4ghz 1.375v
asus m3a-79t
4x1024 corsair 5400 @ 800mhz 5.5.5.15
160GB WD caviar 16mb cache vista premium 32bit
320GB WD HDD 16mb cache windows 7 64bit
ati hd4890
samsung 206bw syncmaster/lg7000 32in lcd @1920/1080
corsair 620w modular psu
logitech mx518 mouse
coolermaster haf 932 :)
mrbobc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 02:09 PM   #2
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
I'm still stuck on the last GDI mission in C&C3

Won't be getting the expansion till I finish the original

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 08:00 PM   #3
Red_LightRanger
Member

 
Red_LightRanger's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
eh its pretty cool. The new units and races are fun to play with, but it seems the scrin is way overpowered still.
I do like the new game that you play kinda like a game of risk, and you can either play the battles in real time or just let the game decide who will win. Havent done too much of the single player missions though. So far its decent. I wouldnt recommend buying unless you really enjoyed the first

__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------
Desktop
Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
Corsair H70
Asus P8P67
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage
Red_LightRanger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 08:42 PM   #4
Diddyu
Member

 
Diddyu's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007

 
I havent played the C&C3, is it any good? I didnt care for Generals, and never bought it. Personally, my favorites are Tiberian dawn, Tiberian sun, and RA1, with great gameplay, even though the graphics are 12 years old.

__________________
Mobo: XFX 680i LT
CPU: Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.8 ghz
Cooling: Apogee GT + MCW60
RAM: OCZ SLI Ready 6400 @ 1000mhz 2 x 1gb
Vid: 2x EVGA 8800GTS 512 (g92) @ 812/1035/2020
Case: NZXT Lexa Black
PSU: Ultra Xfinity 600W
3dMark06:18356 marks
Diddyu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 09:22 PM Thread Starter   #5
mrbobc
Member

 
mrbobc's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
I'm still stuck on the last GDI mission in C&C3

Won't be getting the expansion till I finish the original
i havent finished it either! i had to reinstall windows because of corruption and forgot to back up my save so ive got to start again, but i'm looking forward to it! i was stuck on the last mission for the gdi aswell! its solid aint it?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diddyu View Post
I havent played the C&C3, is it any good? I didnt care for Generals, and never bought it. Personally, my favorites are Tiberian dawn, Tiberian sun, and RA1, with great gameplay, even though the graphics are 12 years old.
i preferred red alert 1 the most! cnc3 is much improved over tiberian sun! i liked it at first (ts) but now it sucks! especially when its compared to cnc3! your bound to recognise most of the cast aswell which is quite fun!!

__________________
amd phenom 2 x3 720be @ 3.4ghz 1.375v
asus m3a-79t
4x1024 corsair 5400 @ 800mhz 5.5.5.15
160GB WD caviar 16mb cache vista premium 32bit
320GB WD HDD 16mb cache windows 7 64bit
ati hd4890
samsung 206bw syncmaster/lg7000 32in lcd @1920/1080
corsair 620w modular psu
logitech mx518 mouse
coolermaster haf 932 :)
mrbobc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 09:24 PM Thread Starter   #6
mrbobc
Member

 
mrbobc's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_LightRanger View Post
eh its pretty cool. The new units and races are fun to play with, but it seems the scrin is way overpowered still.
I do like the new game that you play kinda like a game of risk, and you can either play the battles in real time or just let the game decide who will win. Havent done too much of the single player missions though. So far its decent. I wouldnt recommend buying unless you really enjoyed the first
damn i forgot to multi quote you!

what new races?

new units too eh?

is it big enough to buy now or wait for a price drop??

__________________
amd phenom 2 x3 720be @ 3.4ghz 1.375v
asus m3a-79t
4x1024 corsair 5400 @ 800mhz 5.5.5.15
160GB WD caviar 16mb cache vista premium 32bit
320GB WD HDD 16mb cache windows 7 64bit
ati hd4890
samsung 206bw syncmaster/lg7000 32in lcd @1920/1080
corsair 620w modular psu
logitech mx518 mouse
coolermaster haf 932 :)
mrbobc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 09:39 PM   #7
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbobc View Post
i havent finished it either! i had to reinstall windows because of corruption and forgot to back up my save so ive got to start again, but i'm looking forward to it! i was stuck on the last mission for the gdi aswell! its solid aint it?!
I can handle the NOD coming from the upper right, and sometimes hold my own against the Scrin coming from the left, but after like 10 minutes, I get hit with the rift generator thing and it hoses my whole base. If I go take the Scrin minibase just to the west, they send in a bunch of air units and gank me.. Can't wait till my new video card comes and I can keep trying

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 09:49 PM Thread Starter   #8
mrbobc
Member

 
mrbobc's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
I can handle the NOD coming from the upper right, and sometimes hold my own against the Scrin coming from the left, but after like 10 minutes, I get hit with the rift generator thing and it hoses my whole base. If I go take the Scrin minibase just to the west, they send in a bunch of air units and gank me.. Can't wait till my new video card comes and I can keep trying
there just too much stuff coming at once!

did you get the kane edition? i didnt watch the strategy videos until i was well into the game, but theres a great tip where you put rocket men in apc's!

a whole load of them and youve got a formidable all round force good against both men and air assaults! i never used to use apc's unless i was transporting engineers or commando's but if you havent tried it yet trust me rocket men in apc's kick ass!!

__________________
amd phenom 2 x3 720be @ 3.4ghz 1.375v
asus m3a-79t
4x1024 corsair 5400 @ 800mhz 5.5.5.15
160GB WD caviar 16mb cache vista premium 32bit
320GB WD HDD 16mb cache windows 7 64bit
ati hd4890
samsung 206bw syncmaster/lg7000 32in lcd @1920/1080
corsair 620w modular psu
logitech mx518 mouse
coolermaster haf 932 :)
mrbobc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 10:33 PM   #9
Roofles
Member

 
Roofles's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brew City

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_LightRanger View Post
eh its pretty cool. The new units and races are fun to play with, but it seems the scrin is way overpowered still.
I do like the new game that you play kinda like a game of risk, and you can either play the battles in real time or just let the game decide who will win. Havent done too much of the single player missions though. So far its decent. I wouldnt recommend buying unless you really enjoyed the first
So you can play through the single player in a Risk-esque style where it just runs a prediction, is this so that you can see the story or what?

Also, approximately how many new units? and are they cool?

__________________
Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

"If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics
Roofles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-08, 10:55 PM   #10
lordkosc
Member

 
lordkosc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northampton,Pa

 
I want walls... were they ever put back into CnC3?

__________________
CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
SSD's ------------------ 2x Intel Maple Crest 330 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs and Games)
Game Backup HDD ----- 1TB Samsung F3 7200RPM 32MB
Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
Video Card ------------- Gigabyte GTX 670 OC
Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 7 Ultimate x64

3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.
lordkosc is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-08, 01:27 AM   #11
Red_LightRanger
Member

 
Red_LightRanger's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
so there are two new races for each faction. Both have a few differences in there gameplay style. Lots of new units to build and every race has its own super tank/bug/machine that you can build that is kinda like a hero, but doesnt have powers. You can upgrade each by garrisoning different types of units in them.

the risk style part isnt in the story mode. Theres a huge map and you can see the different races scattered around. Each turn you can upgrade your base/units etc or decide to attack another players land. During the attack you can either play it in real time or you can let the computer decide who wins based on your # of units and what you have upgraded. I havent won a game like that yet! i always just play it in real time and woop some butt. The expansion is like 6 gigs but of course its full of classic cnc videos etc.

@mrbobc- I used that same technique in generals. Put a bunch of rocketeers and 1 sniper in a humvee and its unstoppable!

__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------
Desktop
Intel i5 2500K @ 4.8ghz
Corsair H70
Asus P8P67
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
EVGA GTX 570, Dell 2005 fpw and Dell 2007 fpw
Intel X25-M 80GB, 500gb WD Storage
Red_LightRanger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-08, 05:00 PM   #12
Route44
Member

 
Route44's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey

 
There are new units and new subfactions but I find myself, for the most part, still relying on what I know and I don't think any of the subfactions add a lot to the game play. However, the upgrades are a nice addition and the super mech machines are cool especially the Redeemer (NOD) and the Eradicator Hexapod (Scrin). The GDI M.A.R.V., IMO, looks like a bloated Tonka Truck.

From my experience I think NOD is definitely improved and thus more formiable, though I still prefer GDI.

__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H > i5 3570K
Crucial Ballistix Sport (8 gigs)
Sapphire 6950 > Samsung 830 SSD > Seagate 1TB
Corsair TX 750 > Asus DVD drive
Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
Windows 7 64
Route44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-08, 08:34 PM Thread Starter   #13
mrbobc
Member

 
mrbobc's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2007

 
sounding good! i may have to invest

__________________
amd phenom 2 x3 720be @ 3.4ghz 1.375v
asus m3a-79t
4x1024 corsair 5400 @ 800mhz 5.5.5.15
160GB WD caviar 16mb cache vista premium 32bit
320GB WD HDD 16mb cache windows 7 64bit
ati hd4890
samsung 206bw syncmaster/lg7000 32in lcd @1920/1080
corsair 620w modular psu
logitech mx518 mouse
coolermaster haf 932 :)
mrbobc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-08, 09:25 PM   #14
SteveLord
Member

 
SteveLord's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Iowa

 
I didn't like CC3 and thought it was very overrated. Won't even come close to this. =\

__________________
"There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
patience for useless things."

__________________
SteveLord is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?