Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

New cpu for Dapman

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-08, 08:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
New cpu for Dapman


Well, I just made peace with the fact that my G1 brisbane cannot hit 3.0 Ghz so it's time to get a new cpu. Which one should I get
Opteron
or
4200+

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-08, 08:08 PM   #2
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
If the opteron is a an F3 go for that or the 4200+, i'd go the 4200+ as it's getting 3g+ at stock volts.

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-08, 08:08 PM   #3
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Well, I would recommend the Opteron. I could never hit 3.0GHz with my 4000+ Brisbane, but I can with stock voltage on my Opteron 1212. I would actually recommend the 1210HE though, since its 65W vs. the 103W of the regular 1210. It should save some power and maybe be a bit cooler.

Also note that the Opteron has more L2 Cache.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-08, 08:17 PM Thread Starter   #4
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
anyway of telling if the opterons are F3

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-08, 09:33 PM Thread Starter   #5
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
sorry about those other stupid posts, I accidentally left my webpage up while I went somewhere and my stupid roommates messed with my computer

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 12:57 AM   #6
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Check the optys on amdcompare, BTW I would go with G2 4200+ 3G on stock V for 60$ should last till we see something new from AMD.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 10:40 AM   #7
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
The Opty's should do 3.0GHz on stock voltage as well. It depends on if you want a cpu with more cache or cooler operating temperature.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 11:16 AM Thread Starter   #8
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by juane414 View Post
The Opty's should do 3.0GHz on stock voltage as well. It depends on if you want a cpu with more cache or cooler operating temperature.
Doesn't it take like a 3.2 Ghz brisbane to match a 3.0 windsor with 1 x 2 mb cashe

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 10:36 PM   #9
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
I don't know the exact ratio, but yes, the extra cache does help a bit. I used to have a 3600+ Brisbane that I had stable at 2.8GHz. When I got my Opty, I ran Superpi at 2.8GHz and it had the Brisbane beat by a second or two. I haven't been able to get my Opty past 3.0GHz, but it is an older revision. The new revisions should be able to hit 3.1 or 3.2.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 11:15 PM   #10
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
I tried both in sandra was no difference but when I tested them in games the 10X270 windsor with rams running at 540 was about equal to the 11X270 (3G) Brisbane rams at 500.
The windsor had ram advantage in minimum and avarage FPS the two equaled but in max the winsor was still faster, which doesn't matter at all whether Company of heroes does 220 or 250 as max FPS.
G2 brisbane and F3 windsors Oc to about the same so the rest is up to you whether that 10% worth the difference in price, in my opinion if it matters you should rather go with Intel.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 11:22 PM Thread Starter   #11
Dapman02
Member

 
Dapman02's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Overland Park, KS

 
I'm going to change my choice
Should I go with the 9550 for $195
or a 9500 for $170

__________________
Desktop: Return of Deneb
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.2Ghz
Cooling: TRUE Push/Pull
GPU: Visiontek 5850 Core 875Mhz/1175mhz memory
Motherboard: MSI 880G-E45
Case: CM Storm Enforcer
RAM: 2x2gb Samsung generic
HDD: Samsung 500GB 5400RPM
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
Christian Overclocker
Dapman02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 11:36 PM   #12
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
The B3 stepping definitely worth 25$ extra, at least those procs can be OCd.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-08, 11:37 PM   #13
juane414

 
juane414's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

 
If you get the 9500 you will have to worry about the TLB erratum that will affect stability and/or performance. I would go with the 9550, or the 9750/9850 if you can fork out the cash for it.

__________________

CPU AMD FX-8320 @ 4.2GHz/240x17.5/1.4v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
RAM 16GB (2x8GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 @ 800MHz
GPU Asus Radeon HD 6850
SSD Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB
PSU NZXT Hale82 750W
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
Case Cooler Master RC-690 II Advanced
Folding User Stats
juane414 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?