Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Minor instabilities oc'ed Q6600?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-08, 05:04 AM Thread Starter   #1
troopertroop
Registered

 
troopertroop's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Minor instabilities oc'ed Q6600?


Heey guys, like earlier posted, I managed only to oc my Q6600 to 3.0GHz due to my mobo! Here are the specs:

MSI P6N nForce 650i SLI V2
Q6600 C2Q @ 3.0 GHz G0-stepping
Tuniq Tower 120 CPU cooler
TakeMS 2 GB DDR2 RAM PC6400
2 x MSI NX8800GT 512mb OC (660/1950)
450GB HD
FSB: 1333 MHz
Multplier: 9x
Memory clock: 667 MHz
CPU VCore: +0,0250v
vram: 1,9v
NB: 1,275v
SB: 1,5v
FSB VTT core: 16%
PCI-e bus: 100

Any higher the system will randomly reboot...
But the problem now is some signs of still minor instabilities! I managed to pass prime95 for like 9 hours without error. But when I install programs I often got some copying/CRC errors. Also, when I play games, there are often sound issues + error's in the consoles. Especially playing Bioshock is a real pain, because the sound is all messed up when oc'ing. If I jump back to stock, all error's/issues disappear. Tried upping the VCore, NB + VRam variously with no difference. Also tried to run memtest with 100% passed.
Maybe I am not the only one?! Anyone can help?
troopertroop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-08, 05:53 AM   #2
jordon
Member

 
jordon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Watertown, Mn

 
crc errors = bad news.. you probably have some corrupted stuff laying around from failed oc's.. better start doing allot of scandisking , or possibly settle on a overclock you deem stable, then start with a fresh install of windows etc..

__________________
L737B286 1.225VID Q6600@3.6ghz 1.400v bios
gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R vdroop mod
g.skill hk's @ 800 4-4-3-5 24 2.2v
GTX 260 stock
Folding for OCF "March Madness" Folding Contest
jordon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-08, 06:17 AM Thread Starter   #3
troopertroop
Registered

 
troopertroop's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordon View Post
crc errors = bad news.. you probably have some corrupted stuff laying around from failed oc's.. better start doing allot of scandisking , or possibly settle on a overclock you deem stable, then start with a fresh install of windows etc..
The CRC errors are gone now, even on 3.0GHz but gaming is still not perfect... like sound issues I talked about!
troopertroop is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?