• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Server experts please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ps2cho

Hi guys,

I am currently doing some IT work for a business and they want to move their files onto a server so they can all access them and keep the files secure from some people and accessible to others.

Now, I know what to build them hardware wise, but OS-wise, what should I be looking at for stability, options and relatively easy to configure?
I would most likely need a Quad Core, 4GB RAM, RAID1 2x500GB HDD's (they have a total of 100GB data from the past 3 years so 500GB should be plenty) and Gigabit networking.

I have never used any Windows Server's before so I am totally new to this.

What should I be looking at and is it easy to configure everything?

Any possibilities for simultaneous remote desktops on different users? They want to be able to remote desktop at the same time doing different things.

Are the above possible?

Any advice or comments?

Much appreciated,
ps2cho

If this business already uses a Windows network, server 2003 R2 (standard Edition) is what I'd suggest. If they are small then SBS would also be a good choice and cheaper. I would also go RAID 5 over RAID 1.

Its an architecture firm. Family owned and has about 6 computers.

They currently have a basic setup. Everybody has their own computers and does their own backups. They access each other using simple file sharing.

Thanks about RAID5. Could you explain it a little better? I understand it uses 3+ drives, but is backup data stored on (for instance using 4 drives) the 4th drive? Is it reliable? Obviously for a company intending to purchase a server to store ALL their data, reliability of their data is a primary concern.
So RAID5 if using 4x250GB HDD's would be 750GB? Correct me if I am wrong.