Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Intel to drop overclocking for mainstream Nehalems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-08, 03:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Intel to drop overclocking for mainstream Nehalems


Quote:
Only Bloomfield based CPUs will overclock

We've learned that Intel is going change its policy on overclocking once it moves away from the LGA775 platform onto the desktop Nehalem platform which is currently known as Bloomfield which uses the LGA1366 socket. This will be the only platform from Intel which will overclock in the future, as the company is not going to support overclocking on other platforms.

Below the Bloomfield is the Lynnfield and Havendale processors, both using the LGA1160 socket. Neither of these are likely to get any overclocking abilities, although we're not sure how Intel can prevent third party motherboard manufacturers from adding overclocking features to their boards.

However, with most of the northbridge being located inside the CPU of these models, it might be possible for Intel to make some changes as to what the BIOS can access and how the bus speed is controlled. If this is indeed the case, then this is very sad news for all enthusiasts, as it means that a huge group of users will never be able to afford to buy an overclockable platform, from Intel that is.

It's early days as yet and Intel might change its stance on this, but we find it peculiar that they've decided on this move, but it's never easy to figure out the reason why Intel does something. Source
I know for many on this forum this isn't an issue they would go for the 1300 socket anyway but for budget gaming rigs this is bad news.
This might mean an era to the legendary celeron OCs, the 300A@504 and Tuas going over 1.2G, or the recent E1200 doing 3G.
It is a good time for Intel to pull this off during the socket change and protect their higher end chips from the OCd mainstream.

Competition for their high end processors is coming from within intel and not outside recently this might move some people to the high end socket, or pay more for higher clocked mainstream parts.

I can see this happen.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:04 AM   #2
ZircularLogic
Registered

 
ZircularLogic's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Looks like we're completely dependent on AMD making a stand against Intel.

__________________
E8400 C0 @ 3.75GHz | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | 4GB G. Skill PC2-6400 | Biostar 8400GS | Samsung HD250HJ | Scythe Ninja Rev. B | Basic Black Rosewill case
ZircularLogic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:09 AM   #3
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZircularLogic View Post
Looks like we're completely dependent on AMD making a stand against Intel.
Agreed!

__________________

<MEGA-O>
ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 /i7 4790K De-Lid @ 4.7GHz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR @ 2400
H2O=XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD WF3 @ 1100/1500 w/ModBios
Sony AD-7220S / Seagate 500GB / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus SST-ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:18 AM   #4
satandole666
Member

 
satandole666's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, OH

 
Enthusiasts will find a way. That is a great thing about our community. The mods/hacks required to OC this socket might not be pretty or easy but it will happen eventually.

Still, this is a perfect time for AMD to step in and give us an alternative.

__________________
i7 920
Gigabyte X58 Extreme
6gb OCZ DDR3 2000
7970
Fuzion/MCP655/3x120 rad
satandole666 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:26 AM   #5
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Wait, what? Intel never "supported" overclocking except on their Extreme-branded CPU's to begin with, and that's only a very recent development (in terms of the entire timespan of Intel selling CPU's to the masses)

And then this:
Quote:
although we're not sure how Intel can prevent third party motherboard manufacturers from adding overclocking features to their boards.
Like, duh. Here's a hint: the CPU isn't going to include it's own clock generator. Why? Because it doesn't make sense -- you need that clock generator external to the CPU for all the other interconnects that depend on it, such as PCI-E, external memory interfaces, et al.

FUD (fear, uncertainty, disinformation) is FUDZilla's purpose in life. Don't buy into the hype...

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:29 AM   #6
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Go DFI go go

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:46 AM Thread Starter   #7
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albuquerque View Post
Wait, what? Intel never "supported" overclocking except on their Extreme-branded CPU's to begin with, and that's only a very recent development (in terms of the entire timespan of Intel selling CPU's to the masses)

And then this:

Like, duh. Here's a hint: the CPU isn't going to include it's own clock generator. Why? Because it doesn't make sense -- you need that clock generator external to the CPU for all the other interconnects that depend on it, such as PCI-E, external memory interfaces, et al.

FUD (fear, uncertainty, disinformation) is FUDZilla's purpose in life. Don't buy into the hype...
Intel could restrict future licenses from other chipset makers if they make a workaround and hold back/deny shipments to mobo makers.

With people having few TB on HDDS I am not sure how willing they will be to play with the clockgen.

Could be that the 1300 platform does not worth the cash (at least with first gen neha) so they have to hold back mainstream OC.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:50 AM   #8
satandole666
Member

 
satandole666's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, OH

 
It is completely possible for Intel to limit clockspeeds to their stock frequencies, even if you have the clock generator on the motherboard.

The question is how could they do it and would it be worth the cost/time investment.

Who knows at this point.

__________________
i7 920
Gigabyte X58 Extreme
6gb OCZ DDR3 2000
7970
Fuzion/MCP655/3x120 rad
satandole666 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 07:51 AM   #9
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroimaho View Post
Intel could restrict future licenses from other chipset makers if they make a workaround and hold back/deny shipments to mobo makers.
Well, since they're licensing what little "chipset" IP is left to NVIDIA for creating NV-based Nehalem boards, I'm seriously doubting this will be the case.

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:11 AM   #10
ghost_recon88
Senior Jedi Master
Premium Member #9


 
ghost_recon88's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan

 
Its just like Intel locking their current C2D mobile chips from being overclocked. There's no way any SetFSB of clockgen programs work on increasing the FSB. Also even if someone could hack a laptop BIOS, they still wouldn't be able to overclock it. to AMD if they can come out with a competitive chip.

__________________
The will to live will always outweigh the ability to die
ghost_recon88 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:14 AM   #11
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghost_recon88 View Post
Its just like Intel locking their current C2D mobile chips from being overclocked. There's no way any SetFSB of clockgen programs work on increasing the FSB. Also even if someone could hack a laptop BIOS, they still wouldn't be able to overclock it. to AMD if they can come out with a competitive chip.
I'm QUITE certain that this is a bad example -- that isn't Intel locking the speeds, that's the laptop manufacturers ensuring they don't use a programmable clock generator so that people can't overclock a laptop and then send it back when they toast it.

Again, that has no bearing on Intel or the chips inside; as evidence of this, you can still "pinmod" a 666FSB mobile CPU to 800FSB if your laptop chipset supports it (Santa Rosa or later).

Geez people, is the sky REALLY falling where you all live?

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:20 AM Thread Starter   #12
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albuquerque View Post
Well, since they're licensing what little "chipset" IP is left to NVIDIA for creating NV-based Nehalem boards, I'm seriously doubting this will be the case.
Which they won't be really needing after larrabee is out, or might even say good riddance.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:24 AM   #13
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuroimaho View Post
Which they won't be really needing after larrabee is out, or might even say good riddance.
Again, the deal has already happened -- NV will be making Nehalem boards. So again, I very much doubt ALL of this.

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:31 AM   #14
EmAn
Member

 
EmAn's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ft. Hood Texas

 
So intel is now hammering the nails in their coffin at least for the overclocking section

GO AMD GO!

__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles
EmAn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:39 AM   #15
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmAn View Post
So intel is now hammering the nails in their coffin at least for the overclocking section

GO AMD GO!
Here's my last statement in this thread: If FUDzirra is right and Intel is going to somehow completely castrate all overclocking abilities on the "middle and low" Nehalems, then AMD deserves every bit of the business they're gonna get.

I seriously doubt it's going to happen that way though.

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:51 AM Thread Starter   #16
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albuquerque View Post
Again, the deal has already happened -- NV will be making Nehalem boards. So again, I very much doubt ALL of this.
Indeed the deal has happened, but what do we know about the details ?
This info might even be leaked by NV from their restrictions...

I know this OC ban came up several times since we OC procs, but this time Intel has reasons why to do it.
They are already making it harder for mainstream by higher than necessary FSB this could be a next step in their execution.

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 08:51 AM   #17
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
How do GPU's send to the data to the CPU? What I'm worried about is that if you OC a GPU and you can't OC the cpu, you'd get bottlenecked. I also think the huge amount of cores/threads we are going to be getting does not play nice with overclocking, but who knows why they would make this choice.

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W


Last edited by Shiggity; 04-22-08 at 09:01 AM.
Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 09:02 AM Thread Starter   #18
Kuroimaho
Member

 
Kuroimaho's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.

 
Bloomfield starts from 300$ according to this roadmap. LINK

__________________
Zalman Zmachine GT1000
I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


Zalman TNN300
Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


Zalman TNN500
Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".
Kuroimaho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 09:03 AM   #19
Shiggity
Member

 
Shiggity's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Thanks Kuroimaho, I ninja edited my post though =D

300$ ain't too shabby for an opening cpu

__________________
CPU - E6750 @ 3.4GHz | 425x8 | 1.41V | Zalman CNPS9500 | Lapped
Mobo - Abit P35 Pro | Bios v14
Ram - 2x1GB G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ | 850 | 5-5-5-15 | 1.85V
GPU - PNY 8800GT | 700c, 1850s, 900m | HR-03GT
HD - 150GB raptor ADFD | Seagate 7200.7 160GB | 2x WD 640GB
PSU - OCZ GameXSteam 700W

Shiggity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-08, 09:28 AM   #20
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
This is a potential gap for AMD, if I was them I would unlock all their future CPU multi's....on the flip side this could spell a dark future for the OC community.

Maybe the start of this is the FSB wall we see in th Q9450/X3350 and the recent Q6600 batches that OC like crap.

Call on AMD...save the OC community from Intel's hang mans noose

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?