Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Froth

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-08, 08:51 AM Thread Starter   #1
Hillsdale
Member

 
Hillsdale's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Regina, Canada

 
Froth


How do i get rid of froth in my loop?

And also, how full should my res. be at all times?

__________________
Cburns_8 - Follow me on Twitter!!

=Rig=-[Fractal R3 Black] [EVGA GTX 580] [Intel Core i7 2600K] [Asus P8P67 Pro] [Kingston 64GB SSD, Barracuda (x4) 2TB] [Mushkin 8GB DDR3] [Corsair 1000w] [LG 23.5", Samsung 24"]-
Hillsdale is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-08, 09:17 AM   #2
billb
Member

 
billb's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillsdale View Post
How do i get rid of froth in my loop?

And also, how full should my res. be at all times?
Rez should be full enough so that air in the headspace isn't sucked back into the loop.

Froth takes time. You could shut down for a while to let the tiny froth bubbles coalesce into larger bubbles that come out better in the rez. Start up again for just a minute or so to keep what air there is in the system from getting churned up again by the pump. repeat......

__________________
AMD FX6300, ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0, Samsung 840 Pro, Seagate 1 TB, Asus GTS450, Samsung N915 (two), PCP&C 1kw
billb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-08, 09:17 AM   #3
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
how long has the loop been running? froth as you put it usually gets cleared after a few days of running the loop.

As far as your res, it depends on what kind it is. If its a 5.25 bay res then it should be full at all times. If its a tall res then it should have a couple inches over the barbs at all times.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-08, 04:26 PM Thread Starter   #4
Hillsdale
Member

 
Hillsdale's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Regina, Canada

 
I turned off my pump and added more coolant, its right close to the top now, and what do you know, after about 15 min of running it the loop started to clear, its now fully clear and running. Its coming up on the 24hour leak test mark, im going to put everything in @ 20hours (which is in 45 min)

__________________
Cburns_8 - Follow me on Twitter!!

=Rig=-[Fractal R3 Black] [EVGA GTX 580] [Intel Core i7 2600K] [Asus P8P67 Pro] [Kingston 64GB SSD, Barracuda (x4) 2TB] [Mushkin 8GB DDR3] [Corsair 1000w] [LG 23.5", Samsung 24"]-
Hillsdale is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?