Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

oc p3 650 with M748LMRT???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-08, 10:37 PM Thread Starter   #1
DéJà Vu
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Question (pcChips M748LMRT) - oc p3 E 650???


hi guys,
1st thread here... hope able to get some info...

i have a mobo(M748LMRT) with p3 E 650, is it possible to oc this?? i know this board is OLD..! juz trying my luck...

and erm... is it better to get my BIOS updated?? cuz its a '97 version of American Megatrends...

lots of thanks in advance!!

Last edited by DéJà Vu; 04-26-08 at 10:44 PM.
DéJà Vu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-26-08, 10:51 PM   #2
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
I believe I worked on a system before with that board, and its a cruddy PC Chips board with no oc options, you best bet might be with some sort of software oc in windows.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-08, 11:00 PM Thread Starter   #3
DéJà Vu
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
JDXNC
hmmm... thought so... cuz i've tried changing the multiplier in BIOS, but it wont change... lower or increase... still stand at 650...
and what software do u mean? any specific 1??
DéJà Vu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-08, 11:09 PM   #4
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
Well the multi on P3's(well any Intel cpu newer than the very first P2) is locked anyway, so theres no changing that. You only option is raising the bus. You might try SetFSB or CPUFSB, those are probably your best bets. You still won't have any voltage control and any gains you do get will be very minimal, but its still fun to see what you can get out on old timer like that.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-08, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #5
DéJà Vu
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
ic ic... thanks very much... for the fast reply... will try the software u suggested... just wanna try to overclock... xD
and the BIOS thing... do u think its good to update? or juz leave it..?
DéJà Vu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-08, 11:23 PM   #6
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DéJà Vu View Post
and the BIOS thing... do u think its good to update? or juz leave it..?
It won't really help you any, and could turn the motherboard into a paperweight if it doesn't go right.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-08, 11:29 PM Thread Starter   #7
DéJà Vu
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
ok... lotsa thanks ya... ^^
DéJà Vu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-08, 03:06 PM   #8
DocClock aka MadClocker
Senior Member

 
DocClock aka MadClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Stockton Cal, USA, Earth

10 Year Badge
 
The 650 wasn't a very good clocker either, but with softfsb or other utility, you might get a few more Mflops outa the old rig.

__________________

Cpu----Q6600(slacr)GO stepping @3006,1.310vcore
Cooling----AC Freezer 7 Pro
Mobo----GA-P35C-DS3R
Ram----Kingston HX PC9200 CL5@501mhz 1.9v4-4-4-11
Video card----EVGA 8600GT 604core,803mem
Power----Hipro HP-W700WC3 700w Big and heavy
Generic white case

Frankenputer-- Abit SH6>PIII700E@1136>mushkin PC150>Enermax 431 -450w>SBlive! XGamer> Alpha P3S cooler
DocClock aka MadClocker is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?