Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Please help: X48 or 790i Ultra

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-08, 05:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
gcardinal
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Please help: X48 or 790i Ultra


Hi ppl,
I am so confused... I am stuck! I have tried to read and read again all kinds of reviews, but I just can't decide: X48 or 790i Ultra.

In Norway at this momment I can get following boards:

X48 boards:
  • Asus P5E3 Premium/WIFI-AP@N
  • Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6
  • MSI X48 Platinum

790i ultra boards:
  • XFX nForce 790i Ultra
  • EVGA nForce 790i Ultra
  • Asus Striker II Extreme nForce-790i Ultra

Price are more or less the same on all of them.

I want to have a motherboard that will stable and easy clock E8500 @ 4ghz. I will go with CORSAIR TWIN3X 1600MHz DDR3, 2GB, DHX, XMS3 modules, CL7-7-7-20. I have yeat to decide on the GFX side, but overall CPU/RAM performance are more important then GFX as I mainly work in Photoshop and with all kinds of file encoding/decoding.

At the same time I wont this system to last for at least a year without any upgrade on motherboarb. Maybe new cpu or more ram, but not motherboard.

Please help me - I am as stuck as I can be...
gcardinal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-27-08, 07:52 AM   #2
zollen
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Are you planning on SLI or Crossfire?
zollen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 08:10 AM Thread Starter   #3
gcardinal
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zollen View Post
Are you planning on SLI or Crossfire?
At this momment I only care about CPU/RAM/Mobo. I want the most kick from CPU since I use it a lot. I will take SLI or Crossfire based on the mobo pick
gcardinal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 08:10 AM   #4
Anubis_386

 
Anubis_386's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: England - Where VAT hurts my pocket :(

 
If your planning on SLI then go with the 790i .. If not then X48 .. However if you want a slightly easier OCing experience then I'd get 790i, being able to unlink your FSB and RAM makes stuff pretty dam easy

__________________
|| i3-2120 :( || H77 Mobo || GTX 670 2GB @ 1200 || 16GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz || OCZ Vertex 4 128GB (OS) || 3TB Storage Drive || Samsung 245B 24" LCD || Logitech Z-5400 5.1 Digital Speakers || Razer Imperator Mouse & Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard ||
Anubis_386 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 10:19 AM Thread Starter   #5
gcardinal
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis_386 View Post
If your planning on SLI then go with the 790i .. If not then X48 .. However if you want a slightly easier OCing experience then I'd get 790i, being able to unlink your FSB and RAM makes stuff pretty dam easy
thx! But witch brand/version to pick?
gcardinal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 12:47 PM   #6
TombKeeper
Member

 
TombKeeper's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Have they fixed the corruption issued yet though on 790i?

Make sure you read up on 790i before jumping for that.... I removed the 790i chipset from my available options due to corruption issues and also based on nVidia not being as stable as Intel chipset....

Trying to decide between P35 or X48.

From your list though... I'd pick Asus P5e3 Prem or the Gigabyte from X48 list (don't bother with MSI - supposedly not that great of quality...??). From the 790i list: eVga first, then Asus, and lastly XFX.

__________________
MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
PS:............Corsair 750TX
CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
OS:............Windows 7 Pro
Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups
TombKeeper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 12:58 PM   #7
Nebulous
Seor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcardinal View Post
thx! But witch brand/version to pick?
All depends on price. All the 790i's all use the same reference design/board and the bioses are pretty much identical.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 02:01 PM   #8
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
If you can wait a few days until myself and Anubis_386 have done some more testing we would be able to advise you better on the 790i.

I had the 780i before the 790i and I must say that board clocked the best of all nvidia boards I had, it even clocks better than the IP35-Pro I have. With the simple v-droop pencil mod the v-droop on my 780i board was 0.001 v, unfortunately there is no simple v-droop mod for the 790i and it has the DDR3 OC corruption issue which is reported by some.

I can say that the 790i clocks my QX9650 with lower voltage to the same OC i.e 4 Hhz at 1.36 v vs 1.41 v with the Abit IP35-Pro.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 02:58 PM Thread Starter   #9
gcardinal
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
gcardinal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 04:27 PM   #10
Anubis_386

 
Anubis_386's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: England - Where VAT hurts my pocket :(

 
Yeh they admitted to the problem and say they're working on it .. Its only a small minority of people who are having problems so I wouldn't really worry .. As for which brand .. it doesn't matter, Evga's and XFX's boards are identical because they follow the reference design. Evga seems to get new BIOS updates out quicker the XFX but that doesn't matter either because you can still flash an Evga one if you have an XFX board, that's what I did ..

As for nVidia chipsets not clocking as good as Intel .. That isn't really the case with the 790i I don't think .. My board clocked extreamly well with the E8400 I had in it before my quad arrived .. All the problems people are having getting the new quads to clock isn't because of the motherboard, its the chips themselves .. They simply don't like high FSBs (apart from a few goldern ones), fine won't post after ~475 (although I'm still testing this). Also I've found overclocking on my 790i much easier then I did on my X38 board, and the X48 is simply a higher binned X38.

__________________
|| i3-2120 :( || H77 Mobo || GTX 670 2GB @ 1200 || 16GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz || OCZ Vertex 4 128GB (OS) || 3TB Storage Drive || Samsung 245B 24" LCD || Logitech Z-5400 5.1 Digital Speakers || Razer Imperator Mouse & Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard ||
Anubis_386 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-27-08, 10:18 PM   #11
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
It's simple imo:
SLI - nVidia
Not SLI - Intel chipset.

Yes, basically the only reason to go with an NV chipset imo is SLI. Unlinked FSB:memory ratio is nice but an e8500 has a 9.5x multiplier and a 'mere' 425MHz FSB is over 4GHz, with that Ram you shouldn't have any problem maxing out the CPU. Given that you aren't bothered about graphics performance much you shouldn't be bothered enough to go SLI so I vote for an Intel chipset. Throw in possible data corruption on NV chipsets and that makes the choice even easier. x48 might be overkill but if you want to spend the money go ahead.

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-08, 07:04 AM   #12
heliox
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Hi guys,
I'm new to this forum and a newbie to OC.
Can anyone confirm if 790i can let you use dual channel with DDR3 PC3 12800 1600Mhz.
I'm asking this because Gigabyte GA-X48T DQ6 won't let you do that : only single channel . Is it Gigabyte's or X48's fault?
Thanks for your reply.
heliox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-08, 02:39 PM   #13
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliox View Post
Hi guys,
I'm new to this forum and a newbie to OC.
Can anyone confirm if 790i can let you use dual channel with DDR3 PC3 12800 1600Mhz.
I'm asking this because Gigabyte GA-X48T DQ6 won't let you do that : only single channel . Is it Gigabyte's or X48's fault?
Thanks for your reply.
What's your source? All X48 boards should be able to do dual-channel. In fact, every enthusiast board I've read about in the past several years runs dual-channel.

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-08, 02:58 PM   #14
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
isnt the 790 corrupting data now apprently?

all intel boards as said, run dual channel, for the last several years, since socket 478 i recall..

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-08, 03:06 PM   #15
Ghostleader
Registered

 
Ghostleader's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcardinal View Post
performance are more important then GFX as I mainly work in Photoshop and with all kinds of file encoding/decoding.
Go with Asus P5E3 Premium but shift that dualcore for a 45nm quad if you mainly work in Photoshop and do encoding/decoding.

I also have a Q6600@3,6 and ASUS P5K Premium just for videoediting, rendering, encoding, decoding and its faster then E8400@4,05.
Ghostleader is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-28-08, 03:32 PM   #16
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Foxconn has released the X48 Black OPs, and it should show up in the retail channel any day now. From a performance stand-point it looks to be king, but it is also very pricey!

__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-08, 02:00 AM   #17
heliox
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
What's your source? All X48 boards should be able to do dual-channel. In fact, every enthusiast board I've read about in the past several years runs dual-channel.
Thanks jason4207,
Of course they do dual channel, but check the bottom note on page 17:
"Each channel can only fit one memory module when using DD3 1900/1600 Mhz memory module"
http://Europe.giga-byte.com/FileList...x48t-dq6_e.pdf
heliox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-08, 02:15 AM   #18
stdu007
Member

 
stdu007's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 46 21' N 72 35' W

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
Foxconn has released the X48 Black OPs, and it should show up in the retail channel any day now. From a performance stand-point it looks to be king, but it is also very pricey!
and very hard to find ... remember the p35 mars ...
stdu007 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-08, 08:44 AM   #19
jason4207
Senior Member

 
jason4207's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Concord, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliox View Post
Thanks jason4207,
Of course they do dual channel, but check the bottom note on page 17:
"Each channel can only fit one memory module when using DD3 1900/1600 Mhz memory module"
http://Europe.giga-byte.com/FileList...x48t-dq6_e.pdf
I can't get the PDF to load...it keeps trying, though. At any rate i just can't see Gigabyte crippling their flagship MoBo like that. To not include dual-channel support on their DDR3 X48 board is suicide.




Quote:
Originally Posted by stdu007 View Post
and very hard to find ... remember the p35 mars ...
The MARS was available on Newegg for a while, and I even saw the price get down to $170 at one point. Then it disappeared, and the price shot up to $250+...if you can even find it!

Hopefully, the Black OPs will show up on Newegg soon...at least for a while!

Throw a quad on the Black OPs w/ a couple of ATI 4870's in crossfire...


__________________
MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB

jason4207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-08, 01:00 PM   #20
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
"Each channel can only fit one memory module when using DD3 1900/1600 Mhz memory module"
What i beleive that means, most board's have 4 slots, each 2 being a channel so you have channel 1 and channel 2 (one is one color the other another on many boards)

you can run dual channel, you just can not populate all 4 memory slots with ram when using ddr3 1900/1600 ram, you can likely only use 2 sticks at a time.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?