• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Analog ghosting

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

michaelkahl

I'm new to building my HTPC here the last couple of months. It started with building a video box to hold my
DVD collection as MPEG4 and turned into adding a tuner card recently for a better DVR experience than I was
getting from my local cable company. My htpc specs are listed below
Sempron 2.1GHz
2GB Ram
1 Terabyte HDD space (2x 500gb hdd's and a 40gb hdd for OS install)
LiteOn DL DVD burner
Vista w/MCE
Radeon HD2400 (DVI to HDMI)
Avermedia M780 combo card (ATSC/NTSC)
LG 32" LCD HDTV 720p
I get great results with OTA HD and digital channels, but the analog channels we get from our cable provider look
like theres to much noise reduction and ghosting. I did reduce the noise reduction issue by making sure it was
disabled on my tv. The problem I can't figure out is the ghosting on analog statons, the digital/HD stations look
beautiful. If anyone has any experience with this card or had advice on how I can fine tune/eliminate this please
help me.
Also would I get better results with SageTV or GBPVR with this card or is MCE fine enough?
Thanks

Did you get the ghosting when the TV was connected directly to the cable?
It is a common problem with analog signals being fed into a HD TV.
I have a 50" Sony HD TV that does the ghosting thing with normal Dish network channels and they are supposedly a full digital signal.
HD signals do show excellent though.

Nope, no problem what so ever. Watching older shows that i recorded years ago with an ATI AIW card show no signs of ghosting, just the analog signal being fed into the avermedia card. I even tried plugging the analog signal into the tv directly and there is no sign of ghosting there. I'm assuming that the problem is in the card or software.