Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Step-by-step instruction on how to install SMP Folding into Windows Vista

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-08, 11:24 PM   #21
Adak
Senior Member

 
Adak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfking222 View Post
It's a console application and I'm able to bring up the console with the unhide.bat provided by LandShark. To stop the application should I just close the console?
Yes, but use Ctrl+c, *NOT* just clicking on the red X in the upper right hand corner. FAH clients are NOT windows programs, and they will throw up right on your clean clothes, if you treat them like they are a windows program.


(The 5.03 graphical client is an actual Windows program, but it's the only one, so far.)
Adak is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-08, 02:39 PM   #22
golfking222
Member

 
golfking222's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York

 
Ah okay I see, thank you very much
golfking222 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-08, 05:24 PM Thread Starter   #23
TommyHolly
Member

 
TommyHolly's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

 
I gotta add some new sections on Running two instances with a Quad, and maybe starting and stopping FAH SMP for playing games. Also something about version 5.92... I can't imagine how much time it took Wedo to do all this stuff a few years back when I was reading all the different versions of his guides.

__________________
sig deleted by muddocktor-take it up with the Admins
TommyHolly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-08, 11:53 AM   #24
wildmanjack
New Member



Join Date: May 2008

 
I am haveing a problem with with the unhide.bat keeping the window open it will only flash open and closed.

Last edited by wildmanjack; 06-27-08 at 03:33 PM.
wildmanjack is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-08, 04:38 PM   #25
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildmanjack View Post
I am haveing a problem with with the unhide.bat keeping the window open it will only flash open and closed.
I sometimes have that happen. It has happend for no reason, and I've had to kill the F@H processes and start over. I've occasionally had to reboot.

Sometimes it won't run if you have a typo in the batch file. Some times the original process hasn't actually started, so you have nothing to unhide.

Is it happening all the time, or just some of the time?

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-29-08, 08:56 AM   #26
wildmanjack
New Member



Join Date: May 2008

 
well i got it working now i copied all of the files into the folder that folding is in ans then i had to change the path in the hide and unhide bat files to match the the install location.
wildmanjack is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-08, 06:29 AM   #27
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Whoo-hoo! Glad you got it working!

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-30-08, 09:35 AM   #28
RickShelton
Registered

 
RickShelton's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wilkesboro, NC

 
Nice guide, but you may want to add one thing and it may help others.
When the install.bat runs and it executes the "create_credential_store true" part Do Not put in a password there.
That was keeping me from getting it to run for several days cause I was putting in a password on the credentials store.

I looked over the guide and couldnt find that part anywhere
RickShelton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-08, 11:41 PM   #29
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
what are the benefits of running an smp vs. a normal console client?

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-03-08, 07:15 AM   #30
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark bishop View Post
what are the benefits of running an smp vs. a normal console client?
Significantly more PPD than the console client, though less than you would get from a good card running the GPU2 client. More utilization of your CPU for folding.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-08, 08:29 AM Thread Starter   #31
TommyHolly
Member

 
TommyHolly's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickShelton View Post
Nice guide, but you may want to add one thing and it may help others.
When the install.bat runs and it executes the "create_credential_store true" part Do Not put in a password there.
That was keeping me from getting it to run for several days cause I was putting in a password on the credentials store.

I looked over the guide and couldnt find that part anywhere

What part is that in? I never even seen the words "create_credential_store true" ? Are you talking about the part when you click on the install.bat and it asks you for your name and then tells you to type in your screen log-in password twice? (As far as I know that is normal and is supposed to be there.)

__________________
sig deleted by muddocktor-take it up with the Admins
TommyHolly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-08, 09:01 AM   #32
torin3
Member


 
torin3's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seeing how many GPUs I can cram in one box

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyHolly View Post
What part is that in? I never even seen the words "create_credential_store true" ? Are you talking about the part when you click on the install.bat and it asks you for your name and then tells you to type in your screen log-in password twice? (As far as I know that is normal and is supposed to be there.)
You only get "create_credential_store" when you are setting up the 5.92 client.

__________________
Please fold for Team 32!
System to be updated soon
My Heat
Folding User Stats
BTC: 12CMeZKPnCg7nV5vgP57vSjSyshrMm67Tk
torin3 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-08, 04:43 PM   #33
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?