Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

WRT54GL vs WRT54G

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-08, 10:28 AM Thread Starter   #1
majinwar
Member

 
majinwar's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
WRT54GL vs WRT54G


Hey guys, the place where I usually buy stuff hasn't had the GL for quite some time, so I am wondering if the WRT54G with DD-WRT firmware will do just as good as the GL??

If there's a really good reason I should wait for the GL, please let me know.

__________________
CPU: Intel E8400 @ 4.0Ghz
Cooling: Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme
MB: Asus Maximus Formula
GPU: ATI Sapphire 4870 1GB
PSU: Corsair HX750W
RAM: 2x1 Gb OCZ DDR2 PC8500 1066Mhz
HD: OCZ Vertex 60Gb SSD
Case: Slightly Modified Antec 900
majinwar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 10:40 AM   #2
Trap05
Member

 
Trap05's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Get the GL someplace else it's worth it.

__________________
CoolerMaster 690
Antec HCG 620w
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
G.Skill 8GB 1600
MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
SteamID trm2006
Trap05 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 10:57 AM   #3
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
I do beleive the GL does run linux, but the G might not, I do beleive the GLs are more supported via WRT firmwares.

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 11:06 AM   #4
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
the WRT54GL has the hardware of the original WRT54G v4, the GL runs linux stock, and is very easy to put other firmware on it.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 12:44 PM   #5
Dermen
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia

10 Year Badge
 
There are other routers that can use DD-WRT. Asus wl-520gu is the only one I know off the top of my head that is widely available, it also has a newer, higher clocked chip in it than the WRT54GL. Most Buffalo routers work as well, but they are hard to find.

__________________
FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
Heat
Dermen is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 03:12 PM   #6
JamesXP
Epic Fail Guy

 
JamesXP's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England

 
^


Yeah I beleive buffalo routers are banned in the USA, not sure why.

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
Thermalright Macho 120
ASRock Z77 Pro4
8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
128GB Samsung 830 SSD
EVGA GTX770 ACX
EVGA Supernova 750G2
Corsair 650D
JamesXP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 03:15 PM   #7
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
ya i love my wrt54gl never had to restart it once in the 2 yrs i have had it.

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 07:35 PM   #8
Madwand
Member



Join Date: Dec 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by majinwar View Post
Hey guys, the place where I usually buy stuff hasn't had the GL for quite some time, so I am wondering if the WRT54G with DD-WRT firmware will do just as good as the GL?
No, the GL has twice the RAM and flash RAM as the current non-GL versions. You can't even run the full version of DD-WRT on the non-GL version because of the lack of flash RAM, and the non-GL version is often less stable under load / over time because of the shortage of RAM. There's no way around these problems with firmware; they're cost-cutting measures at the hardware level.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linksys_WRT54G_series

So I suggest having it ordered into the store or getting it elsewhere or online.
Madwand is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-08, 11:28 PM   #9
Mooyo
Member

 
Mooyo's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesXP View Post
^


Yeah I beleive buffalo routers are banned in the USA, not sure why.
Must have been recent, I quit Worst Buy in January and we sold them then.

__________________

Several PC's, ranging from my original 3800x2 to my current Q6700. I'll update this eventually.
Mooyo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-08, 02:11 AM   #10
DirtSandwich
Member

 
DirtSandwich's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boise, Idaho

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesXP View Post
^


Yeah I beleive buffalo routers are banned in the USA, not sure why.
here's the readers digest version...
CSIRO (patent troll company that doesn't actually sell any product... just collects patents) thinks they own wireless through some patent. lawsuits ensue. judge (who thought the movie Idiocracy was a documentary) says that above patent troll owns an IEEE standard that infringes on their product that... doesn't exist because they don't make a product but they.... own the idea of... no wires. Here's their patent. If they win it will be a sad day IMHO.
DirtSandwich is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-08, 03:40 AM   #11
Dale407

 
Dale407's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL.

 
Unhappy


Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtSandwich View Post
here's the readers digest version...
CSIRO (patent troll company that doesn't actually sell any product... just collects patents) thinks they own wireless through some patent. lawsuits ensue. judge (who thought the movie Idiocracy was a documentary) says that above patent troll owns an IEEE standard that infringes on their product that... doesn't exist because they don't make a product but they.... own the idea of... no wires. Here's their patent. If they win it will be a sad day IMHO.
OMG! They can't be serious! Sad day indeed!

__________________


My Rig
CPU: Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz | OC: 3.0Ghz 9*C/41*C
RAM: 2x1Gig G.SKill DDR2 PC6400 + 2x1Gig OCZ DDR2 PC6400 | OC: DDR 800 2.0V
MOBO: Gigabyte EP35-DS4
VID: Evga GeForce 7950 KO Super Clocked PIC-e 2.0 512MB
COOLing: Chiller Zone

My Heat
Dale407 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-08, 01:42 AM   #12
grumperfish
Member

 
grumperfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: South Florida

 
If they win and I have to import my next WHR-HP-G54 from Taiwan I will be very disappointed.





But yeah, jumping on the get-the-L-bandwagon. DD-WRT Micro firmware and the lacking RAM is a pain. Just finished configuring a friend's -G the other day and it's showing nowhere near the stability of my other friend's -L.


Here's the GL on Newegg.


$60bux. Get it or you'll end up kicking yourself for buying a -G or -GS.

__________________
Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // MSI R9 280X 3GB
16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // Corsair TX750
Server: Q6600 G0 // EP35-DS3R // 4GB DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 840Pro 128GB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
I like HEAT
grumperfish is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-08, 11:11 AM   #13
SniperXX
Member

 
SniperXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folding in Diamond Bar

 
Im running a GL and also a G. No problems with either one, they both run solid.

The only bug I hate with the G is that it seems like the settings get lost when I unplug it and replug it in... So just save yourself the annoyances of the G and get the GL.

__________________
i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz
Asus Rampage II GENE
2x BFG GTX285
6GB Crucial Dominator 1600
Crucial 750TX

Help find cures for cancer by running Folding @ Home.

HEATWARE
SniperXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-08, 12:03 PM   #14
Oroka Sempai
Member

 
Oroka Sempai's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Elgin, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperXX View Post
The only bug I hate with the G is that it seems like the settings get lost when I unplug it and replug it in... So just save yourself the annoyances of the G and get the GL.
I had that problem with a v8 and DD-WRT micro. For that router I just put the stock firmware back on it, and it is fine now. I scored a lightly used v1.1 on ebay with some aftermarket antennas and a matching network card, and it works great with DD-WRT.

__________________
[Primary][Cooler Master Elite 430 Black][ASUS M4A88TD-M][Phenom II X6 1100T BE][Xigmatek HDT-S1283][4GB Corsair Vengeance LP1600][ASUS 6850 1GB][LG BH10LS30 10X][OCZ Agility 3 90GB & Segate 1TB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
[Server][Thermaltake Armour Jr][ASUS M2A-VA][Athlon X2 7750 BE][POS HSF][4GB Buffalo Select][HIS Radeon X1950 XT 256MB][LG DVD-RW][WD 160GB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
Oroka Sempai is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-08, 12:09 PM   #15
mepis
Member

 
mepis's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oroka Sempai View Post
I had that problem with a v8 and DD-WRT micro. For that router I just put the stock firmware back on it, and it is fine now. I scored a lightly used v1.1 on ebay with some aftermarket antennas and a matching network card, and it works great with DD-WRT.
I personally havnt had this problem. It works fine for me. Personally I hvae had the wrt54g for about a month and a half now with the dd-wrt micro firmware flashed on it and it's had uptime and complete stability since I put ddwrt on it. Now as mentioned the GL does have its improvements but if you dont have tha ability to get one a G with the ddwrt will work too.

__________________

Laptop
HP Pavillion DV41440us| AMD Turion Tl-60 1.6ghz Dual Core | 250 gig Sata Drive | 4 Gig ram | Radeon 3200

mepis is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-08, 11:56 AM   #16
Oroka Sempai
Member

 
Oroka Sempai's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Elgin, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mepis View Post
I personally havnt had this problem. It works fine for me. Personally I hvae had the wrt54g for about a month and a half now with the dd-wrt micro firmware flashed on it and it's had uptime and complete stability since I put ddwrt on it. Now as mentioned the GL does have its improvements but if you dont have tha ability to get one a G with the ddwrt will work too.
With a Version 8? The v8 has non-removeable antenna, and less RAM than other models.

__________________
[Primary][Cooler Master Elite 430 Black][ASUS M4A88TD-M][Phenom II X6 1100T BE][Xigmatek HDT-S1283][4GB Corsair Vengeance LP1600][ASUS 6850 1GB][LG BH10LS30 10X][OCZ Agility 3 90GB & Segate 1TB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
[Server][Thermaltake Armour Jr][ASUS M2A-VA][Athlon X2 7750 BE][POS HSF][4GB Buffalo Select][HIS Radeon X1950 XT 256MB][LG DVD-RW][WD 160GB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
Oroka Sempai is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-08, 05:06 PM   #17
mepis
Member

 
mepis's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oroka Sempai View Post
With a Version 8? The v8 has non-removeable antenna, and less RAM than other models.
Yes it is a version 8. As I said I have had no problem with it and the flashed ddwrt micro package on it. I am aware of the limitations of the router with the non removable antennas and the limited ram. But I still have had no problem with it what so ever. It has been running 24/7 for a long time now without reset or drop out. Also the stock antennas that come with it still give me a full signal anywhere on my property or house which is roughly about 1 acre in size in downtown Lancaster, PA with concrete, interference and all.

Dont get me wrong. I did not say this was a better router then the GL version. Just for clarification I said if you do not have the means or ability to order a GL version online the normal v8 G version with the DDwrt firmware does an excellent job. Some people do not have the ability to order online. And if that is the case the GL version found brick and mortar is going to be much more expensive. So if this is the case for you as I mentioned, if not by all means order the GL version online.

__________________

Laptop
HP Pavillion DV41440us| AMD Turion Tl-60 1.6ghz Dual Core | 250 gig Sata Drive | 4 Gig ram | Radeon 3200

mepis is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?